So I built a computer...

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by kevan, Aug 20, 2012.

Aug 20, 2012

So I built a computer... by kevan at 11:54 PM (703 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. kevan
    OP

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    In the end I got...
    i5 3750k
    ATI 7850 OC Edition
    8GB Ram
    2TB Caviar Black
    And some motherboard I can't remember >_>

    Edit: I'll post pics and my motherboard when I get home in 6 hours or so.
    Anyway my question is I can't work out where I plug in the cable for my front USB and Audio ports... Also my USB 3.0 ports don't seem to work :unsure: (I only tried USB 2.0 devices).
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The motherboard manual?
     
  3. kevan
    OP

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    I hate manuals D: But I can't see any ports which fit anyway...

    Edit: I really should have checked the manual...
     
  4. Vulpes Abnocto

    Former Staff Vulpes Abnocto Drinks, Knows Things

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,600
    Country:
    United States
    You know what they say: When all else fails, RTFM.
     
    4 people like this.
  5. pgimps

    Newcomer pgimps Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    United States
    To get the USB3's to work you're going to need the drivers from the manufactures website, because Windows does not come with them. Or make sure you aren't plugging them into the TPM port.
     
  6. kevan
    OP

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    :unsure:

    Edit: Oh don't worry I get it now.
     
  7. LockeCole_101629

    Member LockeCole_101629 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    New Zealand
    the most obvious is did you plug your cable usb for front usb/audio to the port on motherboard?
    and .... yeah just read the manual.
     
  8. kevan
    OP

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    Thats the thing, I see the cable I think but I cant find a port.
     
  9. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,148
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ...so you haven't found it yet?

    USB 2 headers are always at the bottom or right sides of the MoBo. Look for black rectangular header guides with 4+5 pins, one missing in the top right corner.
    USB 3 headers are located at the same place and have long rectangular blue header guides with something like 20 pins (I forget how many). They're so blue it's hard to miss.

    However if for some reason you didn't get a series 6 or 7 motherboard (e.g. Z77 MoBo), there might not be a USB 3 header.

    The manual itself details exactly where to find these headers. All you have to do is find the cables and plug them in, taking care to put them in the right way round.
     
  10. LockeCole_101629

    Member LockeCole_101629 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    New Zealand
    this is just an example
    [​IMG]
     
  11. kevan
    OP

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    Dude dude dude... that pic above... that's it :D But I can't see that port anywhere :cry:
     
  12. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,148
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Pics help so much. Take some of your motherboard.

    If you can't find it, your motherboard may not support extra usb 3 ports.
     
  13. kevan
    OP

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah I found them :D it was in an unexpected place... Thanks ^_^
     
  14. ouch123

    Member ouch123 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    353
    Country:
    United States
    Out of curiosity, was it in the manual? If not, I should make note that the manufacturer of whatever MoBo you got (if you'll post it) makes bad manuals.
     
  15. kevan
    OP

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    I never actually checked the manual. I'll have a look for you but Gigabyte usually makes good Mobo's
     

Share This Page