SNES HDTV troubles

Discussion in 'Other Consoles & Oldies' started by Clairjoe, Jan 19, 2013.

Jan 19, 2013

SNES HDTV troubles by Clairjoe at 4:31 AM (3,545 Views / 0 Likes) 65 replies

  1. Clairjoe
    OP

    Member Clairjoe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Elk Grove, California
    Country:
    United States
    I recently purchased a SNES from a friend and it works on every TV in my house, but the one that i mainly play all of my games on, Its a pain to play on any other room's TV because the rest of the family uses those. When i plug in my SNES to my TV it doesn't even read signal, The other HDTV in our house can play it fine, but for some reason this one cannot. Any way to fix this? i ordered a Composite to VGA adapter cable from amazon for $3 if using this will work then that would be great (my tv has a VGA port and channel).
    Any other ideas on how i can get this working?
     


  2. Chary

    Reporter Chary GBAtemp's #1 Naoto

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    3,098
    Location:
    Steins Gate World Line
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe the cable is busted. I had a problem like this with my N64 cables. (Which are the same for SNES) It might be a common problem
     
  3. deshayzilla

    Member deshayzilla GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    Can put a link to what you bought. Even though they makes these wires doesn't mean they actually will work. I don't know of any composite to vga converter that doesn't have a powerbox.
     
  4. geishroy

    Suspended geishroy Suspended

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    test another device in the same ports please like a crap dvd player or something to see if maybe the jacks are broken on the tv. sometimes they go out too.
     
  5. Clairjoe
    OP

    Member Clairjoe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Elk Grove, California
    Country:
    United States
    I am using my gamecube a/v cables and already tested and it works on this TV. and as for the VGA cable on amazon it said it works for pluging a game console into a computer/tv monitor (which i am doing) and people said it worked well for this purpose. only reason it had 2 stars was because everyone giving it low ratings and saying it doesn't work were trying to connect a TV to a computer and it does not work for that reason, which i am not using it for but everyone using it for game consoles gave it a 5 star review
     
  6. Clairjoe
    OP

    Member Clairjoe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Elk Grove, California
    Country:
    United States
    and my wii and Dreamcast are usually plugged into this TV and they work (360 and PS3 are HDMI)
     
  7. Clairjoe
    OP

    Member Clairjoe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Elk Grove, California
    Country:
    United States
  8. deshayzilla

    Member deshayzilla GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    Good luck. Let me know how that goes. I see that many of the negative reviews are saying that they couldn't connect their video games to their computer monitors.
     
  9. Clairjoe
    OP

    Member Clairjoe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Elk Grove, California
    Country:
    United States
    all of the negative reviews i saw said they couldn't connect a computer to a TV. the 5 star ratings all said they connected them perfectly to game consoles. if you think i should not purchace this then tell me because i can cancel the order tonight
     
  10. deshayzilla

    Member deshayzilla GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    I really don't think this is going to work for you. But hey you never know, it's only 3.48 with free shipping. Look at the one star reviews again, maybe they will help to change your mind.
     
  11. Clairjoe
    OP

    Member Clairjoe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Elk Grove, California
    Country:
    United States
    are there any ideas that i can do without spending lots of money? i have been looking around online and people are saying that some new HDTV's only take 480i at the lowest and the SNES is a 240i signal
    any way to fix this?
     
  12. RchUncleSkeleton

    Member RchUncleSkeleton Skeletron 9000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Try disconnecting everything but the SNES and see if it gets the signal.
     
  13. Clairjoe
    OP

    Member Clairjoe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Elk Grove, California
    Country:
    United States
    I already tried disconnecting everything :C
     
  14. deshayzilla

    Member deshayzilla GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    Try this this. It will definitely do the job.
     
  15. deshayzilla

    Member deshayzilla GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    This will also do the job as well. Here
     
  16. Clairjoe
    OP

    Member Clairjoe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Elk Grove, California
    Country:
    United States
    I will try those if the other doesn't work. (and when i get $30 which should be soon)
     
  17. RchUncleSkeleton

    Member RchUncleSkeleton Skeletron 9000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I've read that some TV's don't support any signal under 480i and as the snes is a 240p resolution it's very possible that your.tv doesn't support these lower resolutions. Given the fact that it works fine on other TV's in your house I'd guess this is the case. There may be a way of using it via one of those converter boxes mentioned but there's no guarantee.
     
  18. deshayzilla

    Member deshayzilla GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah those converter boxes upscale the resolution (picture will not be better) but it will work.
     
  19. Clairjoe
    OP

    Member Clairjoe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Elk Grove, California
    Country:
    United States
    I canceled my order for the $3 cable (it didn't look like it would do much after what you said and just looking at it) and i will probably try to order one of the two you suggested. which would you suggest out of the two (just wondering)
     
  20. J-Machine

    Member J-Machine Self proclaimed Pog champion

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    A concrete Igloo
    Country:
    Canada
    the problem here is that your hdtv is unable to pick up the 240i signal the snes gives off using composite. You don't need a vga converter, what you need is one of 3 options (from cheapest to most expensive:

    1. An upscaler. This will turn the signal to at least a 480i or higher. some force widescreen though so be careful
    2. Scart to component/vga. You will need to buy RGB style scart cable for the snes (you are looking for the japanese 21 pin variety especially) This will then go into a Scart splitter and then into a scart to whatever converter.
    3. Modify the console to natively give off component (This can be the cheapest method of the 3 if you can solder and have he parts lying around or someone is willing to do it for a fair price)

    the reason why 2 and 3 can work is because the snes can give off 480i if given the proper connections to output the signal. however RF - svideo tend to keep things at the weaker signal. If you are not a purist though Just get a softmodded wii and maybe one of these: http://www.retrousb.com/product_info.php?cPath=22&products_id=31
     
    deshayzilla likes this.

Share This Page