SNES Game Copier Advice

Discussion in 'Other Consoles & Oldies' started by Midna, Jun 30, 2011.

Jun 30, 2011

SNES Game Copier Advice by Midna at 5:42 AM (4,303 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. Midna
    OP

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    I've acquired a Special partner Super Nintendo game copier.
    [​IMG]
    I've got it all working, I can back up games to the floppy and play them off internal flash. Sweetness.
    But then I went to investigate if I could put my own ROMs on the floppy and run them. For game mods, fan translations, etc. The copier has 4MB of memory, so I'm good there. The floppies, however, didn't. Every single one of my floppy disks is 2MB or lower. Too small for games like EarthBound or most Super Mario World mods. The picture of a floppy that appears on the screen says 2HD on it, which is the 2MB floppies. Do you think it couple possibly work if I went and found some 4MB MF2-ED floppies somewhere? Can you think of any other way? It says on the box "Build-in multi function external interface (Can connect to CDROM drive and Computer... *Optional) But I see no external port.

    Any of you fellows have experience with this?

    Edit: Erm, I copied a really big game onto floppies from the adapter its self, and it took 4 floppy disks. I suppose I have to split the files in my converter.
    Still, I picked up something awesome [​IMG]

    Double edit: I still don't the format of ROMs it takes from my converter. Anyone know, give me a shout.

    Tripple edit: I also don't know how to split them. Into sections of 4Mb, as the memory banks in the SP are, or the max my floppies can hold?
     


  2. MSaki

    Member MSaki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Destruction of this planet
    Country:
    United States
    that's a little disappointing really...old a 1.4 floppy drive? if it can run floppy then why not zip floppy? or even CD ROM if possible but to get back on topic.

    are you sure that the system doesn't have any hidden door or plug? also did it say internal or did it definitely say external. finally got more pics?



    ! i see a door to the left >_> whats under it? got a pic? !
     
  3. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    OH MAN. I am jelly. You wouldn't be interested in trading it or selling it, would you?

    If you need larger floppies, Micro Center sells em cheap online.
     
  4. Midna
    OP

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    It definitly says external, and there's no hidden door. That port is an expansion port that was designed to connect more memory banks. You can't actually get more so it doesn't do anything.

    Well I've got down what i need to do. I just need to try all teh SNES formats until one of them works for my copier, and split larger ROMs up so they'll fit on
     
  5. DigitalDeviant

    Member DigitalDeviant GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Solar Federation
    Country:
    United States
    If I recall bung also made these carts the one I have is for n64 though

    [​IMG]
    (stock photo)
     
  6. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I am looking for one of those too. [​IMG]

    Old school copier devices are fun.

    20 BUCKS?!!?! You lucky dog, you. [​IMG] I am SO JELLY you could spread me on toast right now.
     
  7. DigitalDeviant

    Member DigitalDeviant GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Solar Federation
    Country:
    United States
  8. Midna
    OP

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    There are a lot of them. That's why I'm having trouble figuring out the ROM conversion. They all used something different :S
     
  9. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    Too bad it's not even ensured for it to work. [​IMG] The guy doesn't know how to use it. I guess I'll pass on it lol.

    Besides, I have a SNES Powerpak; Plug and Play is SOOO much more simple. [​IMG] I love the thing to death! I love playing Star Ocean in English on real hardware. [​IMG]
     
  10. Midna
    OP

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    My copier, when new, did not ship with a power cable. They were sold seperately. It's a non-standard voltage, and grr, negative polarity. Not that it says that on the box or the unit. I had to find it on obscure forums. I ended up finding one that was really close to the rating, and positive polarity. Cut the cable, switched the wires to turn it negative. It worked, lol.

    Edit: $150 for a PowerPak, eh? I'll stick to my 4-floppies-per-game solution [​IMG]
     
  11. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    Hahaha, yeah. I had lots of money to spend lol that's when I got it. It was a while ago. [​IMG]

    Have fun playing Earthbound with all those piracy measures though. [​IMG]
     
  12. Supersonicmonk

    Member Supersonicmonk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Cymru
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, the one before Giygas was really mean.
     
  13. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    That's IF you could even get that far! [​IMG]
     
  14. Midna
    OP

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    I've been experimenting with the different ROM formats in uCon64, and it appears to be compliant with Game Doctor 3 formats. You don't need to know this, but I had to scour the internet so hard to find a hint suggesting this. I should just put it out in the open. Convert your .smc's to gd3 with uCon64 if you ever pick one of these up. And use the split file option if it's above 1MB.

    After acquiring the program, that would be, in the command line,

    ucon64.exe ROM.smc -gd3 -s

    First bit is the path to the executable, second is the path to the ROM, third is the file format, fifth is the split option for bigger ROMs.
     
  15. thaddius

    Member thaddius Charmander is not pleased.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,328
    Country:
    Canada
    I own a Super Disk Interceptor.
    [​IMG]
    Absolutely useless.
     
  16. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
  17. Midna
    OP

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    Super Magicoms are ancient.

    They're also the origin of the .smc format
     
  18. indask8

    Member indask8 New Member Forever

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Look at the Flag...
    Country:
    France
    I personally use Retrode/Super Powerpak/Super Everdrive combo for all my backup/playback needs.

    Yes that was expensive, but it was worth it.

    EDIT: for playing big roms on floppy, I think there are some software that can split them in files with .1 .2 .3 .4 extension or something like that, you might want to check zophar or website like that.

    EDIT2: You probably already know about it, but you should try ucon64 look at the snes part, there are many commands to split/fix roms for old copiers.
     
  19. Midna
    OP

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    Yup, got it all working, except for all those roms with anti piracy [​IMG]
     
  20. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a SNES Myth for sale/trade if anyone is interested. afaik it has similar compatibility to the other modern SNES carts.
     

Share This Page