Snes emulation through Gba slot ??

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by |HeLL|, Aug 4, 2009.

Aug 4, 2009
  1. |HeLL|
    OP

    Newcomer |HeLL| Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    i have this question since two weeks ago .... i know that NDS cant emulate snes ( or emulate crappy games )....
    its possible to run snes emulation using the slot 2 ( GBA ) ...
     
  2. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Nintendo DS can emulate Snes... SnemulDS its a Snes emulator...
     
  3. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    SNES on the DS is a lot better than SNES on Slot-2 (i.e. GBA) due to there being the right amount of buttons compared to the GBA where they had to improvise to do the X and Y buttons. SNEmulDS is the best emulator on DS. It runs most games quite well (Mario World etc.) although cannot run the 3D games such as Starfox. It hasn't been updated since some time last year though.

    You may be thinking of NES on the DS. I think that the GBA NES emulators are more reliable and have a higher compatibility than NesDS
     
  4. flash332

    Newcomer flash332 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Brazil
    I use SnemulDS but the games I try to play doesn't run well enough, too many graphical glitches.
    But I recently bought a EZ-Flash V 3-in-1 to play GBA games, will snemulds work better with the ram expansion?

    Off:
    Can anyone give me the link to download the DS Opera Browser?

    Thanks.
     
  5. naglaro00

    Member naglaro00 Mildly disturbed

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Pulse
    Country:
    Philippines
    No.
     
  6. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    I'm afraid that SNEmulDS is a far from complete emulator and unfortunately it seems to have been abandoned. It does not work any better with the RAM expansion as the RAM expansion just allows it to run ROMs >4mb better as it does not have to stream it.


    The DS Opera Browser is a commercial ROM and we are not allowed to give out links to such files on the forum (even if we do discuss hacking them and cheating on them etc. a lot) Just search it wherever it is you usually get your DS ROMs
     
  7. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Umm... I think he may have been talking about ds slot-2 carts. You know, the older generation. Not slot-1.
    And (if this IS what you wanted) there is actually an emulator for the snes that can ONLY run from slot-2. Pity I can't remember the name...
     
  8. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    @OP: You tried google yet?
     
  9. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    SnezziDS. It works pretty well, though sound isn't the greatest. It's a decent alternative to SNEmulDS, though I'd try it only when you can't get SNEmulDS to play a game correctly.
     
  10. flash332

    Newcomer flash332 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Brazil
    Ok, sorry, I actually tought it was kind of a homebrew.

    But when I searched for it, I just found the DSi Opera browser, which is included when you buy the DSi, right?
    Anyway, if I download the DSi opera browser, will it work with the DSL?

    Thanks.
     
  11. fgghjjkll

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,038
    Country:
    Australia
    why not play snes on a PC?
     
  12. agentgamma

    Member agentgamma I dont know what to put here

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Antarctica
    DSi programs only work on DSi.
     
  13. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
     
  14. emupaul

    Member emupaul GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    space
    Country:
    United States
    why simple, more options and mobile game play, some people don't want to lug around a laptop even though net-books are now available..not quite pocket size.

    that question you asked was moot anyway. next.

    Ds is very handy and so is the dingoo especially for kids, and people like me even though I do not personally own a ds or dsi or any handheld for that matter. However that will soon change...
     
  15. shinnyuuya

    Member shinnyuuya GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Town of Rainstorm
    Country:
    Indonesia
    a netbook/notebook can play snes with bigger screen. but in addition, u have to carry a bigger item (the netbook/notebook itself of course), and u have to wait for some time to play it.

    a DS/DSl/DSi can play snes on smaller screen. but u only have to carry a smaller item (the DS itself of course), and u don't have to wait for a long time to play it.
     

Share This Page