Hacking SNEEK v2

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,194
Country
Antarctica
You can change the region of your NAND dump really easily I've found by using ARC 4.1 mod from da_letter_a on your emulated NAND. Just use it to change to the region you want, and then install a WAD of the same region system menu using something like ShowMiiWads. I have a 4.2K wii right now because of it. Cool stuff.
 

carbonyle

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
360
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Switzerland
Website
Visit site
XP
116
Country
Swaziland
Hopefully I've the whole thing precompiled
wink.gif
(since...)
 

wilsoff

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2008
Messages
292
Trophies
0
XP
183
Country
United States
I have a nand dump from another Wii. It was a brand new 4.0U Wii, I installed HBC, DVDX and BootmiiIOS.

I used bootmii to create the nand.bin and showmiiwads to extract it into the file structure. This nand dump loads fine with SNEEK. However, when I launch the HBC it shows me the scam warning screen and then loads HBC. However, the cursor is giving me the bird and it doesn't show any of the apps on my SD card. I assume this means that HBC thinks it has been tampered with (I guess because it's from a different Wii).

Is there any way to over come this, how would I reinstall HBC to the SD-NAND?

Thanks.
 

ChokeD

The Contributor
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2009
Messages
968
Trophies
0
XP
168
Country
United States
Why not use showmiiwads ??? Just uninstall it or delete it with showmiiwads and reinstall it. maybe ?

boot2.bin where are you ?
 

giantpune

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2009
Messages
2,860
Trophies
0
XP
213
Country
United States
ok. heres a little skinny on getting this up and going. this assumes that you have devkitARM & python or the WIIDEV environment already set up.

first grab the 0000000e.app module from IOS60 v6147 and put it in the same folder as the sneek source code.
sneek1.png

then open a cmd window and point it to that folder and put this in it...

Code:
cd es && make && cd ../fs && make &&cd ../mini-tree-mod && make && cp ./armboot.bin .././armboot.bin && cd ../ && ELFIns\elfins.exe es\esmodule.elf 0000000e.app step1.bin && ELFIns\elfins.exe fs\iosmodule.elf step1.bin step2.bin && boot2me\Boot2Me.exe step2.bin boot2.bin && rm ./step1.bin && rm ./step2.bin
sneek2.png

this should leave you with a armboot.bin and a boot2.bin. put the boot2.bin on your sd root and the armboot.bin in the bootmii folder in the sd card. if you got the precompiled elf files from the google code page, you can skip the first part of this command but just make sure the path you enter for the args to the exe files match whatever you named the elf files.

also, i had to make 2 changes to the make to have it use my compiler. change starlet.mk to have this at the top
Code:
export WIIDEV=$(DEVKITARM)
ifeq ($(strip $(WIIDEV)),)
$(error "Set WIIDEV in your environment.")
endif

PREFIX = $(WIIDEV)/bin/arm-eabi-
it has 1 line added and the PREFIX line is now different. if you don't have python, it will throw an error, but crediar says that isn't important, so you can remove that from the makefile i guess.
 

wilsoff

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2008
Messages
292
Trophies
0
XP
183
Country
United States
daxtsu said:
You can change the region of your NAND dump really easily I've found by using ARC 4.1 mod from da_letter_a on your emulated NAND. Just use it to change to the region you want, and then install a WAD of the same region system menu using something like ShowMiiWads. I have a 4.2K wii right now because of it. Cool stuff.
How did you run ARC? From a channel on the Wii? Or is this a PC side operation?

QUOTE(daxtsu @ Jan 28 2010, 02:46 PM) Of course it won't show apps on your SD card; it doesn't exist when sneek is running, remember?
smile.gif
It's working in giantpune's video. That must be through USB gecko, rather than through the SD card then. Shame.
 

ChokeD

The Contributor
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2009
Messages
968
Trophies
0
XP
168
Country
United States
Seems people that can't compile this on their own are S.O.L because of the ninty code contained in the build EH ???
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,194
Country
Antarctica
Just for kicks I decided to try the Format System Memory option in the System Menu and apparently it "bricks" the emulated NAND. So..don't do it.
tongue.gif


System updates, on the other hand, work fine.
tongue.gif
 

diazao

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
86
Trophies
1
Age
33
Location
RJ
Website
twitter.com
XP
446
Country
Brazil
giantpune said:
ok. heres a little skinny on getting this up and going. this assumes that you have devkitARM & python or the WIIDEV environment already set up.

first grab the 0000000e.app module from IOS60 v6147 and put it in the same folder as the sneek source code.
sneek1.png

then open a cmd window and point it to that folder and put this in it...

Code:
cd es && make && cd ../fs && make &&cd ../mini-tree-mod && make && cp ./armboot.bin .././armboot.bin && cd ../ && ELFIns\elfins.exe es\esmodule.elf 0000000e.app step1.bin && ELFIns\elfins.exe fs\iosmodule.elf step1.bin step2.bin && boot2me\Boot2Me.exe step2.bin boot2.bin && rm ./step1.bin && rm ./step2.bin
sneek2.png

this should leave you with a armboot.bin and a boot2.bin. put the boot2.bin on your sd root and the armboot.bin in the bootmii folder in the sd card. if you got the precompiled elf files from the google code page, you can skip the first part of this command but just make sure the path you enter for the args to the exe files match whatever you named the elf files.

also, i had to make 2 changes to the make to have it use my compiler. change starlet.mk to have this at the top
Code:
export WIIDEV=$(DEVKITARM)
ifeq ($(strip $(WIIDEV)),)
$(error "Set WIIDEV in your environment.")
endif

PREFIX = $(WIIDEV)/bin/arm-eabi-
it has 1 line added and the PREFIX line is now different. if you don't have python, it will throw an error, but crediar says that isn't important, so you can remove that from the makefile i guess.
errorcc.jpg
That's all...
cry.gif

Tried Programmers Notepad with "mini-tree-mod" and "the file cannot be found". I do have devkitPPC, devkitARM and phyton.
The armboot.bin is the only missing thing... :s
 

T-Error

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
159
Trophies
0
XP
365
Country
Germany
could somebody please tell me if I only need Devkit to compile the esmodule.elf, fsmodule.elf or do I need it in general? and another stupid question: where can I get the key.bin which is necessary for NUS-downloader? the keys.bin generated by bootmii isnt correct even if renamed to key.bin
 

diazao

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
86
Trophies
1
Age
33
Location
RJ
Website
twitter.com
XP
446
Country
Brazil
T-Error said:
could somebody please tell me if I only need Devkit to compile the esmodule.elf, fsmodule.elf or do I need it in general? and another stupid question: where can I get the key.bin which is necessary for NUS-downloader? the keys.bin generated by bootmii isnt correct even if renamed to key.bin
*cough*wiiscrubber*cough*
 

T-Error

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
159
Trophies
0
XP
365
Country
Germany
sorry *cough* thats why i said stupid question. and i think by "wiiscrubber" you're thinking of scrubbing IOS60 from a game, right? but i want to know where i can get the key.bin.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Jayro, I don't see whats so special about the DS ML, its just a DS lite in a phat shell. At least the phat model had louder speakers, whereas the lite has a much better screen.
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    They probably said "Hey, why not we combine the two together and make a 'new' DS to sell".
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's a DS Lite in a slightly bigger DS Lite shell.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's not a Nintendo / iQue official product, it's a 3rd party custom.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Nothing special about it other than it's more comfortable than the Lite
    for people with beefy hands.
    +1
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    I have yaoi anime hands, very lorge but slender.
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    I'm Slenderman.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I have hands.
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    imagine not having hands, cringe
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    ESPECIALLY for things I do to myself :sad:.. :tpi::rofl2: Or others :shy::blush::evil:
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @SylverReZ if you could find a v5 DS ML you would have the best of both worlds since the v5 units had the same backlight brightness levels as the DS Lite unlockable with flashme
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but that's a long shot
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i think only the red mario kart edition phat was v5
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    A woman with no arms and no legs was sitting on a beach. A man comes along and the woman says, "I've never been hugged before." So the man feels bad and hugs her. She says "Well i've also never been kissed before." So he gives her a kiss on the cheek. She says "Well I've also never been fucked before." So the man picks her up, and throws her in the ocean and says "Now you're fucked."
    +2
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    lmao
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    anyways, we need to re-normalize physical media

    if i didn't want my games to be permanent, then i'd rent them
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Agreed, that why I try to buy all my games on disc, Xbox anyways. Switch games (which I pirate tbh) don't matter much, I stay offline 24/7 anyways.
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    I don't pirate them, I Use Them :mellow:. Like I do @BigOnYa 's couch :tpi::evil::rofl2:
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    @BakerMan - you can still "own" digital media, arguably easier and better than physical since you can make copies and backups, as much as you like.

    The issue is DRM
  • cearp @ cearp:
    You can buy drm free games / music / ebooks, and if you keep backups of your data (like documents and family photos etc), then you shouldn't lose the game. but with a disk, your toddler could put it in the toaster and there goes your $60

    :rofl2:
  • cearp @ cearp:
    still, I agree physical media is nice to have. just pointing out the issue is drm
  • rqkaiju2 @ rqkaiju2:
    i like physical media because it actually feels like you own it. thats why i plan on burning music to cds
  • cearp @ cearp:
    It's nice to not have to have a lot of physical things though, saves space
    +1
    cearp @ cearp: It's nice to not have to have a lot of physical things though, saves space +1