Hacking sky3ds versus Gateway

lordofthereef

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
879
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Boston, MA
XP
332
Country
United States
Hello folks!

To start, I have read reviews on the sky3ds (I have a gateway) and couldn't really find the answers to some questions. I am looking for a second flashcart and was thinking maybe sky3ds was a better option.

1.) "new" 3DS support? I know gateway has plans, but unsure if this is the same with sky
2.) Standard DS support? I didn't see anything about this with sky. Of course gateway allows this
3.) Unblockable? I know sky is good up to the latest firmware. Is this because an exploit was found or is it somehow unblockable? gateway is is only up to 9.2
4.) Regionfree? I know this is a big NO right now (for sky, while gateway supports it)... any idea if there are plans to change thi?
 

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,612
Trophies
1
XP
7,762
Country
Tuvalu
sky3ds works with n3ds.
ds game support? gw doesn't really support it, they send you a ds mode flashcard, but that's not really gw's work. sky3ds doesn't send you a ds mode flashcard, i don't think that7s a negative though.
gw is blocked. sky3ds is not blocked yet but i'm sure it will be soon.
sky3ds does not let you play games from other regions, but you can use 'regionthree' if you are on old3ds. - sky3ds can't really support region free because it is not a 3ds software hack, it is basically pretending to be a real card, and real cards are subject to region lock.
 

Bu2d85

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2014
Messages
1,039
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
1,068
Country
United States
Sky3DS works with the region free hack. It just does not show the game on the system menu. You have to put the out of region game between two games from your region so you can find it. It is just a blank square. After that run region free and the game boots.
 
  • Like
Reactions: cvskid and Margen67

romanaOne

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2014
Messages
413
Trophies
0
Age
48
Location
where the potential goes to zero
XP
849
Country
United States
ds game support? gw doesn't really support it, they send you a ds mode flashcard, but that's not really gw's work.

Whose work is the DS mode card? Did they just peel off an original R4-something sticker and put theirs on? (I say "original" dripping italic sarcasm
because I have no idea what happened with R4: are the 4 bazillion types all fakes nowadays?)

I'm sure it's no Supercard DStwo in there! ;)
 

Ra1d

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
1,361
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
2,127
Country
Canada
1.) "new" 3DS support? I know gateway has plans, but unsure if this is the same with sky

Sky3DS works on N3DS.

2.) Standard DS support? I didn't see anything about this with sky. Of course gateway allows this

Sky3DS doesn't support DS games, QQ3DS (Sky3DS clone), does. You can play DS games with Gateway's 2nd card.

3.) Unblockable? I know sky is good up to the latest firmware. Is this because an exploit was found or is it somehow unblockable? gateway is is only up to 9.2

Does it matter ?So Gateway is blocked, but thanks to emunand it's future proof, if you're asking about Sky3DS, no one knows, we'll see when it gets blocked if they can unblock it.

4.) Regionfree? I know this is a big NO right now (for sky, while gateway supports it)... any idea if there are plans to change thi?

Like others pointed out, Sky3DS acts like a real cartridge, it's not an exploit so region free is less likely to come.

If you absolutely need a card with regionfree, then Gateway is the way to go, because smea's "reagionthree" is a pain to use with Sky3DS, on top of being complicated to install(and ironically Gateway's edited Launcher is needed, as well as going to gateway's site), it causes freezes, and sometimes I had to restart my 3DS twice just to get it working.
 

lordofthereef

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
879
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Boston, MA
XP
332
Country
United States
Sky3DS works on N3DS.



Sky3DS doesn't support DS games, QQ3DS (Sky3DS clone), does. You can play DS games with Gateway's 2nd card.



Does it matter ?So Gateway is blocked, but thanks to emunand it's future proof, if you're asking about Sky3DS, no one knows, we'll see when it gets blocked if they can unblock it.



Like others pointed out, Sky3DS acts like a real cartridge, it's not an exploit so region free is less likely to come.

If you absolutely need a card with regionfree, then Gateway is the way to go, because smea's "reagionthree" is a pain to use with Sky3DS, on top of being complicated to install(and ironically Gateway's edited Launcher is needed, as well as going to gateway's site), it causes freezes, and sometimes I had to restart my 3DS twice just to get it working.

Thanks for the response.

I was asking about whether it is lockable since it does, indeed matter. If I ca update my firmware indefinitely, without worry, it is the hands down better card.

Anyway, based on the explanations I have gotten, it still seems like the better card. Shame it's $90! I need something fro my n3ds Japanese import. Sadly they aren;t releasing this in the US, which is why region free was also important.
 

guitarheroknight

1.6180339887
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
2,818
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Grand Line
XP
4,026
Country
Norway
Sky3DS works on N3DS.



Sky3DS doesn't support DS games, QQ3DS (Sky3DS clone), does. You can play DS games with Gateway's 2nd card.



Does it matter ?So Gateway is blocked, but thanks to emunand it's future proof, if you're asking about Sky3DS, no one knows, we'll see when it gets blocked if they can unblock it.



Like others pointed out, Sky3DS acts like a real cartridge, it's not an exploit so region free is less likely to come.

If you absolutely need a card with regionfree, then Gateway is the way to go, because smea's "reagionthree" is a pain to use with Sky3DS, on top of being complicated to install(and ironically Gateway's edited Launcher is needed, as well as going to gateway's site), it causes freezes, and sometimes I had to restart my 3DS twice just to get it working.

This.

The only thing Sky3DS has over GW at this moment is its N3DS functionality. If youre eager to play your "backups" on a N3DS then buy a Sky3DS since it does the job quite well with most games :gba:

Edit: theres also a 90% chance regionthree is gonna get blocked in the next update if youre into that.
 

Ra1d

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
1,361
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
2,127
Country
Canada
I was asking about whether it is lockable since it does, indeed matter. If I ca update my firmware indefinitely, without worry, it is the hands down better card.


That, no one can guarantee you though, and I don't think there will ever exist a card that will be 100% latest FW compatible, because most cards rely on exploits(which are really hard to find), which are getting patched very easily.

Sky3DS doesn't rely on exploit, but is also tricking the system, which is also patchable/blockable.
 

satel

Luigi's Big Brother
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2004
Messages
2,170
Trophies
0
XP
1,885
Country
Laos
This.

The only thing Sky3DS has over GW at this moment is its N3DS functionality. If youre eager to play your "backups" on a N3DS then buy a Sky3DS since it does the job quite well with most games :gba:

Edit: theres also a 90% chance regionthree is gonna get blocked in the next update if youre into that.


lol never expected this one,you of all people talking positively about SKY3DS. :rofl2:
 
  • Like
Reactions: Thomas12345

Multiboy2k

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2014
Messages
140
Trophies
0
Location
Las Vegas
XP
214
Country
United States
  • Like
Reactions: Thomas12345

zergslayer69

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2008
Messages
353
Trophies
0
Age
112
Website
Visit site
XP
836
Country
United States
So I haveover 30 games on my gateway. What's the max game limit on qq or sky per memory card? Also, once you've loaded games into it, can you delete and move games around? Or is it one shot copy and out of luck?
 

vincecartercrazy

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 19, 2011
Messages
52
Trophies
0
XP
165
Country
United States
So I haveover 30 games on my gateway. What's the max game limit on qq or sky per memory card? Also, once you've loaded games into it, can you delete and move games around? Or is it one shot copy and out of luck?

No max game limit on QQ3DS or Blue Button Sky3ds. Just pop out the micro sd and you can edit files.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Thomas12345

guitarheroknight

1.6180339887
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
2,818
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Grand Line
XP
4,026
Country
Norway
lol never expected this one,you of all people talking positively about SKY3DS. :rofl2:
I said it many times before, I don't have anything against the product it's the company that bothers me. I'm always trying to be objective when it comes to this kind of things so if the guy can't wait for GW then he should buy an alternative. ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Nurio

zergslayer69

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2008
Messages
353
Trophies
0
Age
112
Website
Visit site
XP
836
Country
United States
No max game limit on QQ3DS or Blue Button Sky3ds. Just pop out the micro sd and you can edit files.

If I understand correctly, just treat the sky or qq like a gateway? Just load all the games onto it?

And is there a sky or qq thread? It's mostly gateway here. I don't want to end up asking a ton of general questions in this thread.
 

lordofthereef

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
879
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Boston, MA
XP
332
Country
United States
That, no one can guarantee you though, and I don't think there will ever exist a card that will be 100% latest FW compatible, because most cards rely on exploits(which are really hard to find), which are getting patched very easily.

Sky3DS doesn't rely on exploit, but is also tricking the system, which is also patchable/blockable.

I wasn't looking for guarantees, just likelihood. I wasn;t aware what sort of exploit, if any, was being employed with this card. It was mentioned that it loads up like a normal game, which is how NDS carts that worked "indefinitely" did the trick. I used to be all about the scene back in the NDS days and those cards worked forever, so long as you didn;t upgrade hardware. Was just trying to guage how likely that would be.

It seems that, since it is already working on 9.5 (without any official mention of this) that this card is a much safer bet, though Gateway has the more advanced options. Already have a gateway, thinking of giving sky a shot.
 

apoptygma

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
704
Trophies
0
XP
612
Country
I was just thinking the ultimate troll move right now on this forum would be to start a thread called 'gateway vs. sky3DS' you changed the title a little but still. well played.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lordofthereef

lordofthereef

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
879
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Boston, MA
XP
332
Country
United States
My intention wasn't to troll. Honest! :blink:

I just recently became aware of the sky3ds and the reviews here were a bit vague. I have a habit of getting trigger happy and ordering things I don't need. I just want to be sure I am buying what I expect to be buying. I basically wanted another cart anyway so my wife and I can both play imports together.
 

shinyquagsire23

SALT/Sm4sh Leak Guy
Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2012
Messages
1,970
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Las Vegas
XP
3,638
Country
United States
I said it many times before, I don't have anything against the product it's the company that bothers me. I'm always trying to be objective when it comes to this kind of things so if the guy can't wait for GW then he should buy an alternative. ;)

This is the case with me as well. Gateway isn't a perfect fix for everyone. For those who have the know-how to do things, it's great. Gives you a lot of power. But for people who really, really just want to pirate and do so easily, sky3DS is nice in that aspect. If you want more than piracy though (or have no interest in piracy), then it's quite useless as a solution.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Years gone by so quick