Hacking sky3ds - Help, what am I doing wrong?

GBATemp11

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
104
Country
Hi there,

Recently picked up a sky3ds cart and whilst familiar with flashcards etc I'm struggling to get this one working.

Kit and software:-

3DS XL running 9.2.0-20E
Sky3DS blue button from 3DSCardUK.com
Sandisk 2Gb MicroSD card
DiskWriter v202b1
Template 0630a

Card formats fine and I can write various games to it with disk writer however once the card/cart are in the 3DS and powered up nothing comes up (game logo on menu).

I've tried the whole holding the blue button down for a few seconds before rebooting and everytime I do reboot the blue LED does come on for approx 3 secs but still nothing comes up.

So far tried various games using disk writer 202 and 106, and with different template files.

Any ideas as its now driving me crazy?

Thanks.
 

cb9

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
32
Country
Power on your 3ds, hold the red/blue button down, insert into 3DS Slot, the game icon wont display. Pull out sky3ds and insert into 3DS again, the LED light will flash fast, the game icon still doesn’t display. Pull out sky3ds and insert to 3DS again, LED light will flash and turn off in a few seconds, this means the first game has been read from MicroSD card, it should work now.
 

Sonansune

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
3,730
Trophies
1
XP
2,061
Country
Canada
you need intialize sky card.....like the upper friend said

if you are 9.2, you should try ninjahax

much better than original way
 

GBATemp11

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
104
Country
Hmm no joy, each time the cart is inserted the LED does light for a few seconds but no flashing.

Only other thing I can think of is trying a different microSD and not sure if I have a spare at home, most annoying.
 

DSpider

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2015
Messages
561
Trophies
0
XP
1,154
Country
Romania
The 3DS is region locked.

You need EUR ROMS if your console is EUR (i.e. bough in the UK). That's why the games don't show up on the homescreen. Duh.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Quantumcat

DSpider

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2015
Messages
561
Trophies
0
XP
1,154
Country
Romania
If you're running 9.2.0 then you can use a Cubic Ninja EUR ROM to install Ninjhax and run Pasta CFW.

Then you can install CIA eShop games, and if you install a Cubic Ninja CIA you can use that to boot NTR CFW for region-free gaming.

Use the forum's search function.
 

evolutionvi

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
140
Country
Canada
Sorry but can I piggy back off your thread?

Doesn't the Sky3DS bypass region locks?

I'm considering getting one so I can play Japanese games on my NA 3DS XL
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,055
Country
Australia
Sorry but can I piggy back off your thread?

Doesn't the Sky3DS bypass region locks?

I'm considering getting one so I can play Japanese games on my NA 3DS XL
You can use Region Three or Region Four to play out-of-region roms. Use the search function to find instructions. It involves a cubic ninja rom for the region of your 3DS.

If you have 9.2 or less you can use a CFW to play any region CIA files (you will need a real copy of cubic ninja).
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2015
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
21
Country
United States
Hi there,

Recently picked up a sky3ds cart and whilst familiar with flashcards etc I'm struggling to get this one working.

Kit and software:-

3DS XL running 9.2.0-20E
Sky3DS blue button from 3DSCardUK.com
Sandisk 2Gb MicroSD card
DiskWriter v202b1
Template 0630a

Card formats fine and I can write various games to it with disk writer however once the card/cart are in the 3DS and powered up nothing comes up (game logo on menu).

I've tried the whole holding the blue button down for a few seconds before rebooting and everytime I do reboot the blue LED does come on for approx 3 secs but still nothing comes up.

So far tried various games using disk writer 202 and 106, and with different template files.

Any ideas as its now driving me crazy?
 
Last edited by Homebrew Designer Geek,

Dax_Fame

Annoying Member
Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2015
Messages
426
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Mom's house
XP
762
Country
United States
I wonder what "motally" means. Maybe a hybrid of "morally" and "totally"?
I asked myself the same exact question :D
Hey, I think you may have stumbled onto the wrong forum.

I hate to burst your bubble, but that's what about 90% of the posting on here is about. "Backup" is just a euphemism.
Sky and GW are not for piracy! They are JUST backup launchers!
yeah, no, blatant piracy :rofl2:
 

andrew weeks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2015
Messages
123
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
81
Country
i didnt know they made 2gb cards lol, try another, like a 8, 16 or 32gb
9-8 years ago 2gb micro sdcards were like OMG thats huge, i remember having mine for R4 (the original, not sdhc). I am feeling quite old T.T

Well as for the thread. I think the minimum size for sky3DS is 4gb
 
  • Like
Reactions: Deleted-355425
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: https://youtu.be/QZekHeJKC3I