Sites hijacking CTRL+Click and SHIFT+Click.

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Rydian, Mar 25, 2013.

Mar 25, 2013
  1. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    CTRL+Click opens a link in a new tab, SHIFT+Click opens a link in a new window.

    At least, they should, but sites can use fancy shit to make the shortcuts not work. While Firefox does have controls to combat other annoying trickery (Javascript options to stop sites from disabling/replacing context menus and the like), there's no obvious option for this (and no, this is not a Firefox issue, it started on Chrome before Firefox updated to allow this too).

    While I could probably find the section of code that's doing it and blacklist it, this is becoming far too common, it's not just one or two sites anymore (so a personal blacklist is ineffective), and it's often causing me to lose form and session data with no warning.

    As this bad design practice is becoming far too common, I need a fix.
     


  2. Wombo Combo

    Member Wombo Combo That Ain't Falco

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    722
    Country:
    United States
  3. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I'm looking for something to block this functionality specifically, not this functionality plus eight thousand others.
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,748
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Afraid I have no solution or even useful contribution to the thread and I am posting mainly so I do not miss replies. I had met the block context menu stuff before but I have yet to encounter this myself* other than in the form of sites using javascript only navigation and other such stupidities which have no real workaround short of rewriting their site for them. Granted I do run the quad threat of ghostery, noscript, requestpolicy and adblock in paranoid and then some mode.

    *I did read a fairly informative thread on the subject though. The main problem as I see it is the people looking to do it are clueless as to web design as you surmised and that probably means obfuscation by incompetence.
     
    yuyuyup likes this.
  5. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Try CTRL+Clicking a "reply" button on a post on GBAtemp for a quick example. While the "reply" button IS a link, it also has what I can only assume is dark witchcraft from the 1600's attached to it, which makes it ignore the modifier and do what the JS tells it to do instead.
     
    Celice likes this.
  6. Arras

    Member Arras ★02

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5,717
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Not really a solution, but clicking middle mouse button or mouse wheel on a link does the same thing and is not blocked (at least not on the Temp).
     
  7. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Oh yeah it does, and on other sites as well. I stopped middle-clicking links ages ago (thus not knowing), since I sometimes end up scrolling up or down immediately beforehand, which could land the click elsewhere.
     
    Ammako likes this.
  8. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    Here is an autohotkey script you may find useful. You can double right click in order to middle click. You can change it to double left click but then you lose being able to highlight stuff with the mouse. Scrolling won't be a bother anymore.


    Code:
    RButton::
    if clicks > 0
      clicks++
    else
    {
      clicks := 1
      SetTimer, ClickWait, 175
    }
    return
     
    ClickWait:
    SetTimer, ClickWait, off
    if clicks = 1
    {
      Click, Right
    }
    else
    {
      Click, Middle
    }
    clicks := 0
    return
     
  9. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,460
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    That's why I prefer mice with clearly defined steps on the scroll wheel (preferrably as loud as possible :ha: ), that require some serious effort to scroll in the first place. Never had a problem with the middle click :P


    Some sites also add random stuff to the text you copy using CTRL+C (usually just the "read more at [website URL]" at the end but sometimes they just disable copying altogether or replace the text you copied with stuff). I understand why they do this, but I really don't like it.
     
  10. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    This is a hell of an annoyance too, but I don't think there'd be any way to stop it globally without killing other useful functions like auto-copy of URLs for uploaded images/files and such. I don't see this too often anymore, thankfully.
     
  11. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,748
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you do not like to live dangerously then instead of middle click you can right click and use the context menu (no need to swap fingers either as a second right click on the context menu works).

    I am quite curious about this keyboard shortcut blocking though so I shall have to read further.

    As for adding extra stuff.... I had seen the text made invisible and copied when you were not paying attention concept and invisible image/hard to select stuff before but through active measures is new to me.
     
  12. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I just right-click and then open in a new tab when I need to, the issue is when I go to a new site, often to fill in some forms, and I'm not aware that they do this, and lose my progress when it happens.

    Yeah the whole "overlay an invisible image so you can't right-click and save-as" is yet more modern bullshit easily defeated by some HTTP logging and/or simply snagging a right-click on the base before the overlay comes in (or just viewing the source and CTRL+F-ing).
     
  13. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,748
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Right click- view page info -> Media works similarly for most of what I needed and firebug did the rest for me.

    As for the forms I thought there were a few addons to save/recover forms ( https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/lazarus-form-recovery/ being the first halfway nice result of a search), I agree it is a roundabout half solution with a potential security risk to a problem that should not exist buy hey.
     
    Rydian likes this.
  14. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Bump. This is getting more and more annoying as more sites implement popular libraries that use it.
     
  15. PityOnU

    Member PityOnU GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    905
    Country:
    United States

    Use IE10. It's a good browser. Really.

    I use it and have never encountered this. Probably because I have the global option set to always open links in a new tab. I'm not aware that either Firefox or Chrome has this option.
     
  16. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    I know this isn't the answer you are looking for, but you could always get a mouse on which middle click is a separate button from the scroll wheel.
    This is what I mean

    (This particular model is pretty tiny, so it probably wouldn't be a good option if you have larger hands. I don't know if there are other mice like that, though.)
    The button with the magnifier on it is actually the middle click for some reason, at least for me.
     
  17. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,829
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I've never encountered this problem before, I use Google Chrome with Gentoo Linux myself, if that helps.

    Sorry what? Sir, please do yourself a favor and download a better web browser, I can reassure you any "new" features they added to IE were most likely stolen from another Web browser.
     
  18. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Just tried it and yeah it works fine in IE, but I'm not changing over. Being unable to mess with the page until it finishes loading scripts and stuff like that annoys me too much.
     
  19. Walker D

    Member Walker D I have a hat

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,309
    Location:
    My home
    Country:
    Brazil
    You're using Firefox or Palemoon?

    the main dev of the Palemoon project is very receptive, and a thread on this subject on their forums could generate a fix on the next update... ..who knows
     
  20. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Firefox, never tried Palemoon. Did a quick read and the concept of it definitely appeals to my sense of use... I shall give it a try to see if it shows the issue (and is usable), and if so I will try that.
     

Share This Page