Sims 3 (Mac) Graphics

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Freekthinker1, May 27, 2009.

May 27, 2009

Sims 3 (Mac) Graphics by Freekthinker1 at 9:06 PM (1,723 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Freekthinker1
    OP

    Newcomer Freekthinker1 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Running this on a new Mac and my graphics suck. I took snap shots of game play while running all the graphics settings on HIGH !


    http://img57618.pictiger.com/images/18144805/z/
    http://img57618.pictiger.com/images/18144806/z/
    http://img57618.pictiger.com/images/18144807/z/


    Can anyone help who is also having graphic problems for Mac or PC ?



    My Specs
    Hardware Overview:

    Model Name: MacBook
    Model Identifier: MacBook4.1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 3 MB
    Memory: 2 GB
    Bus Speed: 800 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: MB41.00C1.B00
    SMC Version (system): 1.31f0

    Graphics Display - Intel GMA X3100:
     
  2. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    well, because your running on a mac, you have a choice of like 5 different video cards, your is pretty weak. Your rig is just underpowered.
     
  3. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Graphics Display - Intel GMA X3100 [​IMG]

    There's your problem

    Get a real PC....
     
  4. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    this.
     
  5. Mr.Seiko

    Member Mr.Seiko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    PEI
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, the GMA x3100 is definitely the issue.

    Some of the Upgrades would offer better Video options, like the nVidia GeForce
     
  6. Foxle

    Member Foxle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, as a fellow Mac user, this isn't a "Macs Suck" argument, this is a "Macbooks don't have good graphics cards in them" argument. The Macbook only has a small integrated graphics card in it, which can barely do any 3D graphics. To play games on a mac, you would want one with a dedicated graphics card, such as the Macbook Pro or the iMac. The latest revision of Macbooks have a new Nvidia integrated chip which might be able to handle a game or two, but for the most part you're going to want to upgrade to a machine with some dedicated graphics.

    ...which means to play The Sims 3 you'll need a new computer. Sorry. Macbooks have non-upgradeable graphics cards.
     
  7. Freekthinker1
    OP

    Newcomer Freekthinker1 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Can those even be upgraded for macs ? If the video card is the problem for this game I'm almost willing to invest for a quick fix [​IMG]
     
  8. Freekthinker1
    OP

    Newcomer Freekthinker1 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    The new Aluminum mac notebook has Nvida and a few of the bulky mac pros do also.
    I don't know how much it's worth to upgrade I'm more of a console gamer. The sims series and the movies are really the only games I use on my macbook.
     
  9. Freekthinker1
    OP

    Newcomer Freekthinker1 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    EA did really market the sims 3 as being an all around PC/Mac game though. It is some what disappointing since they stated repeated that it would work "smoothly" on even old computers, yet on a 6 month old macbook the graphics are choppy !
     
  10. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,179
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    well I shouldnt have a problem with this game at all

    anyway there is no quick fix, you cant change it, its integrated into the mac motherboard
    the only fix is either buying a PC with a powerful graphics card (or a decent one)
    or buying the most expensive mac book pro out
     

Share This Page