Should I update to Windows 7?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Jakob95, Dec 24, 2010.

Dec 24, 2010

Should I update to Windows 7? by Jakob95 at 4:09 PM (1,347 Views / 0 Likes) 29 replies

  1. Jakob95
    OP

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    I currently have XP on my computer. I already have a real Windows 7 disk that came with the computer but I decided to install XP instead for some reason. I was wondering will Windows 7 make my computer any slower and I should keep XP? I heard that new web browsers have hardware acceleration which only work with Windows 7, so I was wondering if I update will websites load up faster? Will flash work better? Will I be able to watch 720p YouTube videos on my computer without them buffering forever? Should I do the dam update?

    My computer specs are these:
    4GB of RAM, but on XP it says 2.7 for some reason.
    3.06GHz Dual-Core Processor E6600
    Integrated Intel Graphics card.
     


  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Websites will not load faster, that's due to network speed (not rendering speed).
    Youtube videos will not load faster, that's due to network speed (not rendering speed).
    Flash will not work better, it's rendering can already be done on XP.

    You should update to windows 7 because it's got more security features.

    EDIT: Though you should know you can't update from XP-7, you need to do a clean install, which wipes everything.
     
  3. Jakob95
    OP

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Oh that sucks. What do you mean for security features? Will there be a new cool features in Windows 7 that XP doesn't have?
     
  4. pikachu945

    Member pikachu945 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Country:
    Canada
    My computer specs are these:
    4GB of RAM, but on XP it says 2.7 for some reason.
    3.06GHz Dual-Core Processor E6600
    Integrated Intel Graphics card.
    [/quote]

    hmm is your XP 32bit?? or the Integrated Graphics is eating your ram lol
     
  5. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yh i thought the same, but i had a really old PC (windows Me i think) before this vista one, and as soon as i got it i noticed an immediate change in internet speed, games loaded a lot faster and youtube could actually load a 5 min clip in less than 7 minutes.
     
  6. Jakob95
    OP

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    My XP is 32bit. The Windows 7 disks are 64bit.
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    This. For technical reasons 32-bit OSes can't recognize a full 4GB of RAM (depending on certain factors it may show as 3.5GB or less), and integrated graphics take video RAM from system RAM (since it's not an actual graphics card so it doesn't have all that RAM of it's own). upgrading to 7 would free up more RAM, but maybe not the full 4 gigs.
     
  8. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds like a laptop you're using, I'd advise upgrading to Win 7.
    It's full of improvements over Vista/XP, better connection to wifi hotspots for one, better power management for another.
    You can optimise the OS by disabling services and processes you don't need, and perform all sorts of tweaks.
    With your current hardware I think you can run Win 7 comfortably, better than Vista would handle.
     
  9. Matthew

    Member Matthew GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    508
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you want to actually use the extra 1.3 GB of RAM and want up to date security then go for it.
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Actually Vista's "platform update" gave it a bunch of the new technologies 7 has...

    But still, you should go with 7 anyways over Vista at this point.
     
  11. Pyrmon

    Member Pyrmon Burnin' Monkey Love

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    You should install windows 7 65-bit as it will boost performance. Instead of 2.7GB of RAM, you will use the whole 4gb of your computer.
     
  12. pikachu945

    Member pikachu945 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Country:
    Canada
    If you are a heavy gamer get rid of the Integrated Graphics and buy a Dedicated Graphics Card to get the full 4gb of ram
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Laptop, not possible.
     
  14. pikachu945

    Member pikachu945 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Country:
    Canada
    oh lol I thought he had a Desktop
     
  15. Pyrmon

    Member Pyrmon Burnin' Monkey Love

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    My laptop as a dedicated graphics card...
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    That's not what I'm saying, I'm saying you can't upograde one using integrated to have a dedicated card.

    There's no slot, first off. Even if there is, there's no space.
     
  17. Jakob95
    OP

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    I don't play games on my computer.

    And its actually a desktop [​IMG]
     
  18. iSneeze

    Banned iSneeze Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Dubai
    Country:
    United Arab Emirates
    Definitely upgrade. Windows 7 is wayy more secure and has alot of neat features. And yes there's a chance (but not a guarantee) that your youtube videos will load faster since overall internet speeds depends on your available bandwidth and the performance of your computer. And the same applies to website loading speed. As for flash, I can't tell really. But seriously upgrade to windows seven, install TuneUp Utilities and a reasonable antivirus (Avira for example which is free), and you'll NEVER have to worry about your computer's performance decreasing over time.
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, I must be thinking of another thread then. If you buy an install a cheap graphics card (you can find one for $30 or so online) it'll free up the RAM your onboard is using... but it won't make much of a difference so you might not want to bother.

    Also, iSneeze, while a computer being slow in general will slow down the visual rendering of web pages, data streaming is network-dependant, so youtube stuff and downloads would not go faster (unless there's some unmentioned problem in his current OS).
     
  20. Kwartel

    Member Kwartel The fairest in all the land

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,298
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I think it looks better. It organizes better in the taskbar and it's more secure.
     

Share This Page