Should I buy this snes?

MohammedQ8

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
955
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,949
Country
Kuwait
I bought everdrives last week but they didn’t arrive yet to me.

I dont have nes nor snes and I leared that their are different models of these consoles so is this snes a good model or bad one?
 

Attachments

  • DF51B546-AD17-4ECD-BA42-5E4316F9C1B5.png
    DF51B546-AD17-4ECD-BA42-5E4316F9C1B5.png
    6.7 MB · Views: 205
  • EAEB436C-1C17-4FFB-B96E-CE1293E3D705.png
    EAEB436C-1C17-4FFB-B96E-CE1293E3D705.png
    6.5 MB · Views: 192
  • 228C91AE-E95E-40F4-8151-E96B7BA05750.png
    228C91AE-E95E-40F4-8151-E96B7BA05750.png
    461.2 KB · Views: 190

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,212
Trophies
1
XP
13,892
Country
United States
I'm not too familiar with different snes models, but that doesn't really appear to have that yellow staining that the system is known for with age. I'm not really sure how much you're paying for it, but I got a retron 3 hd. it has hdmi, so I don't need to use composite like the normal retron 3, and it's not just like an emulator like the retron 5. I didn't realize it at first, but the retron 5 saves games to the console, so you have to export them to the cart. if something goes wrong and you didn't export the save, you're fucked. I haven't had the best of luck with retrons though, so if this one fails or breaks, I'm just going to get an snes, nes, and genesis, and swap them out. it won't matter much since I have a framemeister to upscale from 240p. it's what I use with the ps2 for psx games.
 

MohammedQ8

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
955
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,949
Country
Kuwait
I'm not too familiar with different snes models, but that doesn't really appear to have that yellow staining that the system is known for with age. I'm not really sure how much you're paying for it, but I got a retron 3 hd. it has hdmi, so I don't need to use composite like the normal retron 3, and it's not just like an emulator like the retron 5. I didn't realize it at first, but the retron 5 saves games to the console, so you have to export them to the cart. if something goes wrong and you didn't export the save, you're fucked. I haven't had the best of luck with retrons though, so if this one fails or breaks, I'm just going to get an snes, nes, and genesis, and swap them out. it won't matter much since I have a framemeister to upscale from 240p. it's what I use with the ps2 for psx games.
Yeah I could buy analog super nt from ebay but it is very expensive over there so I want to use original systems specially that I have crtv.

you should use crtv as well.
Framemister is very very expensive now cost almost 1000

I didn’t know about snes models until today hehe If I knew I would not have bought the everdrives hehe
 
Last edited by MohammedQ8,

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,212
Trophies
1
XP
13,892
Country
United States
I don't have room for a ctr. the only thing I don't like about any of the retrons is that the cartridges can be a pita to remove, possibly breaking off the teeth in the cartridge slot.
 

MohammedQ8

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
955
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,949
Country
Kuwait
I don't have room for a ctr. the only thing I don't like about any of the retrons is that the cartridges can be a pita to remove, possibly breaking off the teeth in the cartridge slot.
Yes I bought these flash carts to play on real systems to feel the real experience not to play on clones hehe.

I learned that the lastes revisions of snes has glitches too hehe 1chip.
 

VinsCool

Persona Secretiva Felineus
Global Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
14,332
Trophies
3
Location
Another World
Website
www.gbatemp.net
XP
20,734
Country
Canada
That snes appears to be in an incredibly good condition.

I have no idea what are the prices meant for in the 3rd screenshot so I hope it is not overpriced, because otherwise it would be a bad idea to get it, especially since yellowed units can be saved using hydrogen peroxide and uv light.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Memoir

MohammedQ8

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
955
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,949
Country
Kuwait
That snes appears to be in an incredibly good condition.

I have no idea what are the prices meant for in the 3rd screenshot so I hope it is not overpriced, because otherwise it would be a bad idea to get it, especially since yellowed units can be saved using hydrogen peroxide and uv light.
It should cost me this much which is not bad
 

Attachments

  • 34DC0659-1C63-410E-B944-E54BC57260EA.png
    34DC0659-1C63-410E-B944-E54BC57260EA.png
    668.2 KB · Views: 185

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,212
Trophies
1
XP
13,892
Country
United States
I'm not sure if the flash cart even works on the retron. I know that snes cartridges can be up to 3 pronged with the part that connects to the cartridge slot. they're for added graphical and sound capabilities I believe. I don't think the retron has that, so it can't play some games. the snes also has a separate chip for graphics, sound, and controller. the retron puts all of them in the same chip I believe. there's some heavy modding you can do on the retrons too. I once found a site where you could make it even better than the snes, as long as you can solder.
 

MohammedQ8

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
955
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,949
Country
Kuwait
I'm not sure if the flash cart even works on the retron. I know that snes cartridges can be up to 3 pronged with the part that connects to the cartridge slot. they're for added graphical and sound capabilities I believe. I don't think the retron has that, so it can't play some games. the snes also has a separate chip for graphics, sound, and controller. the retron puts all of them in the same chip I believe. there's some heavy modding you can do on the retrons too. I once found a site where you could make it even better than the snes, as long as you can solder.
I think thank the graphic chips are in the game cart themself

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Not too bad. It could be cheaper, but it's expected considering the console looks brand new.
You made me want to buy it asap hehe
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,212
Trophies
1
XP
13,892
Country
United States
not sure, I'm just repeating what I read. the retrons put everything in one chip, which is why some things aren't just like the snes.
 

MohammedQ8

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
955
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,949
Country
Kuwait
not sure, I'm just repeating what I read. the retrons put everything in one chip, which is why some things aren't just like the snes.
Retrons uses software emulators not real hardware I think.

but some snes games have special graphic chips inside them like the expansion ram for n64. Retron dont know what to do with these roms.

sd2snes has fpga emulates these special graphic chips to run the games.
 
Last edited by MohammedQ8,

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,212
Trophies
1
XP
13,892
Country
United States
actually, I think it's a hybrid of both. I read that thing about the chips being the cause of things not being exactly like the snes. there are ways to make it closer if not better by soldering. I think it was a retron 3 nonhd that I was looking at the board. the light piece when selecting a system, I remember that part well. the hd version doesn't have the same piece. the retron 5 might be totally software based. it acts like an emulator. the retron 3s don't have any emulator traits. you just power on the system, and it will load whatever system you have selected. there are no save states or anything like the retron 5. plus, the saves are saved on the cartridge. I only bought one to save space, but they're very cheaply made.​
 

MohammedQ8

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
955
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,949
Country
Kuwait
actually, I think it's a hybrid of both. I read that thing about the chips being the cause of things not being exactly like the snes. there are ways to make it closer if not better by soldering. I think it was a retron 3 nonhd that I was looking at the board. the light piece when selecting a system, I remember that part well. the hd version doesn't have the same piece. the retron 5 might be totally software based. it acts like an emulator. the retron 3s don't have any emulator traits. you just power on the system, and it will load whatever system you have selected. there are no save states or anything like the retron 5. plus, the saves are saved on the cartridge. I only bought one to save space, but they're very cheaply made.​
I dont like how they look hehe they look toy esh hehe
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,212
Trophies
1
XP
13,892
Country
United States
I think the board on the retron 3 at least is separated into three sections for each system, so the sound chip for the snes isn't used by the genesis. it's an okay system, but the controllers that come with it are horrible.
 

MohammedQ8

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
955
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,949
Country
Kuwait
I think the board on the retron 3 at least is separated into three sections for each system, so the sound chip for the snes isn't used by the genesis. it's an okay system, but the controllers that come with it are horrible.
They only great feature of it is that you can play your real games carts .... on emulation hehe this is what retron known for I think. Instead of downloading roma from the internet.
 
Last edited by MohammedQ8,

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,212
Trophies
1
XP
13,892
Country
United States
you can play real carts on either the nes or snes mini using an add on. I have both, but if I could everything would be real. I recently bought donkey kong country 3 for around $20. I'm using real controllers as well. I only have the retron to save room. I think it should be okay to use composite on those older systems since it's upconverted and upscaled. the framemeister does a nice job of it. it doesn't fill the screen, it just expands it to as large as possible without things looking fat.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MohammedQ8
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Only people with crazed sexual obsessions browse imgur and posts links from there