1. cearp

    OP cearp 瓜老外
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,224
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    Does Swiss help at all with this, make any difference? Or is it still the best idea to have separate memory cards for Japanese games?
    I read some Japanese games don't like to display text if your console isn't Japanese, but Swiss can help with that - but I guess you'll still need a separate memory card right?

    I'm going to be modding a gamecube soon and I'm just planning stuff out at the moment.
    I want to do the region mod, it's pretty easy, and was thinking I could also have an internal memory card for each region, so when I set to Japan, the memory card for Japanese games is inserted, when the switch is on USA, it's a different memory card.
    All of that should be doable with just one DPTP switch.
    With that, there wouldn't be any chance of problems because each region has a separate memory card.
    But... that's only useful if your console isn't hacked, since if you have a modchip or gcloader, your console is region free anyway. And you can play USA games even if your switch is set to 'Japan'.

    Maybe this idea of mine is 15 years too late :D

    (PS - In my plan, there would also be a second switch, to turn off the internal memory cards and let the normal memory card in slot A be read)
     
    Last edited by cearp, Jan 13, 2020
  2. Lumstar

    Lumstar Princess
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,808
    Country:
    United States
    Making the region mod also change the inserted memory card should help.

    Yeah hacking complicates matters. Some things like modchips (or Freeloader) let foreign games play in the wrong region, causing glitches for some games.

    I'm not familiar with Swiss. But I think it can override the region.
    That'd be especially good for PAL users, a switch won't set PAL consoles to Japan.
     
    Last edited by Lumstar, Jan 13, 2020
    cearp likes this.
  3. Stwert

    Stwert GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    785
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Interesting question actually, I’ll have to run some tests but so far I’ve been using only one memory card for everything. Though I can’t recall off the top of my head if I’ve run any Japanese games as of yet, hence why I’d have to check. But certainly curious.
     
    cearp likes this.
  4. Lumstar

    Lumstar Princess
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,808
    Country:
    United States
    When playing Japanese games without changing region, they'll attempt to save onto a non-Japanese memory card. Some games may ignore this and save anyway (garbled text in the memory manager doesn't really matter). Other games will do bad stuff like erase the card!

    If an actual Japanese format memory card is inserted, the system won't be able to read its contents.
     
  5. Stwert

    Stwert GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    785
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    I knew in the dark days that there was incompatibility with them, I’d just rather hoped tools like Swiss would have finally gotten around this. I’d always just assumed it’d be something to do with Kanji/Kana and English interoperability, considering there’s no problem with USA/EU saves. But you know what they say about assumptions :D
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  6. eyeliner

    eyeliner Has an itch needing to be scratched.
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,046
    Country:
    Portugal
    Use multi mem cards. Most games destroy the info if the region of the saves is different:

    Yours truly learnt from experience. Not a pleasing one.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  7. cearp

    OP cearp 瓜老外
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,224
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    Ok, so, is it enough to have a JP formatted card in slot A and US in slot B?
    Or, is there a possibility of corruption of the 'other card' when the game loads and it tries to check both slots?
    There must be some games that this idea wouldn't play nicely with.
    This idea seems to easy I think... :)

    Any maybe too easy to pick the wrong memory card and corrupt stuff...
    That's the benefit of Dolphin, the mc regions are separate and it just works. Maybe nintendont too, but never used it.
     
    Last edited by cearp, Jan 15, 2020
  8. Lumstar

    Lumstar Princess
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,808
    Country:
    United States
    Well if you were to play USA/EU games on a Japanese system, they'd be trying to save to a Japanese memory card.
     
  9. Stwert

    Stwert GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    785
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Same happens regardless, well it does for my GC (PAL) If I want to save a JP game, I need to format as such. Then it would have to be reformatted to use the same card for PAL/US games.

    Fortunately I have plenty of memory cards. But, all I meant was that it’s a limitation which should surely be able to be circumvented with a hack. Not that I’ve had time to pour over the Swiss source code, to be fair, I doubt I’ll have time period and those guys are doing a bang up job without me getting involved. Hell up until yesterday’s good news I was on too much of a downer to concentrate on anything much regardless.
     
  10. Lumstar

    Lumstar Princess
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,808
    Country:
    United States
    It's simple enough to test. Get a blank memory card, save a JP game on a PAL/US console, then go the memory manager.
    If the game's saved data is visible in the PAL/US memory manager, that proves the memory card is not Japanese formatted.
     
  11. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo and his tropane alkaloids
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    6,960
    Country:
    Italy
    Yes, Swiss can force memory card region - you have to change the game's encoding option from Auto to ANSI (international), SJIS (Japanese), or off (spoof to firmware region, yes it can be not very intuitive)

    Of course the names of the foreign saves will not make sense in the firmware :)
     
    zfreeman, alexander1970 and Extrems like this.
  12. cearp

    OP cearp 瓜老外
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,224
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    huh so with swiss it solves everything (once set up per game), and let's us use just one memory card...? that sounds fantastic.
     
  13. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo and his tropane alkaloids
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    6,960
    Country:
    Italy
    I guess it's not 100% compatible, but that's the idea - and it gets the Japanese Animal Crossing games right so what else matters :)

    You could also set the default charset to ansi instead of auto!
     
    cearp and alexander1970 like this.
  14. Lumstar

    Lumstar Princess
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,808
    Country:
    United States
    The only problem with that is Nintendo's memory card manager. While in the memory manager, Swiss won't be running to spoof the region.

    Like I said the US firmware cannot read SJIS format memory cards.
     
  15. R0B0T0

    R0B0T0 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United States
    Do you mean setting the default to ANSI would handle both Japanese and US games properly?

    I guess using GCMM to manage memory cards would get around this?
     
  16. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo and his tropane alkaloids
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    6,960
    Country:
    Italy
    A memory card can be formatted for ansi or shift-jis filenames; as long as all titles you want to save on it implement the correct encoding (whether naturally or through this patch), they will access the memory card correctly!

    This of course doesn't mean the names will look right to a software designed for the other charset (the console's builtin file manager is no exception) - but it's not a huge deal, since it will still operate on them correctly and you can identify files anyway by icon, banner, and date :)
     
    zfreeman likes this.
  17. R0B0T0

    R0B0T0 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, I just installed a GCLoader into my cube and trying to figure out the best method to play both US & Japanese games without issues (which includes using a shared memory card if possible).

    The problem is that write support hasn't been added yet for the GCLoader, so I can't test the Swiss features right now to see how they work.
     
  18. Lumstar

    Lumstar Princess
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,808
    Country:
    United States
    Try setting the default to SJIS and use a shared memory card. I don't know if any US games have trouble saving in Japanese settings. One little quirk is the US version of Star Fox Adventures will display Japanese text, but that can be avoided with the European version.
     
    cearp likes this.
  19. R0B0T0

    R0B0T0 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, I’ll try that (once GCLoader gains write access). in fact I would prefer if everything was in Japanese, as I mostly play the Japanese versions of games. I was looking into doing a hard region mod, but not sure if that is unnecessary with my GCLoader/Swiss setup. I still have some US region games so those would need to work as well.

    (I’m coming from a Nintendont/Wii setup, where every game can have its own virtual memory card, so these issues are new to me.)
     
  20. Lumstar

    Lumstar Princess
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,808
    Country:
    United States
    A region switch transforms the entire console to Japanese. Down to all system menus and the default memory card format.
    Completely different from any other mod.

    If you're just curious, it's possible to temporarily change region without modification. Like by using a loose wire to bridge points on the board.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Separate, memory, needed