semi-bricked please help!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by wertyer, Apr 26, 2009.

Apr 26, 2009

semi-bricked please help! by wertyer at 7:36 PM (954 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. wertyer
    OP

    Newcomer wertyer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    I recently updated to 4.0 (but with hbc and cios, so everything still worked). I just tryed installing softmii 2.9.5 but i had a lot i problems. FIrst I installed cioscorp, but then when i went to the disk channel to load a game it said I needed to update, so then I installed a clean 4.0 with the softmii firmware downgrader and preloader. Then it still happened, so I turned off wii connect 24 and did the update (it took like 2 seconds). Then after that I tryed loading a game from the disk channel and it gave me the an eject disk error, so then I installed cioscorp again and when I turned on my wii it said the system files are corrupt. Luckily I installed preloader, so can someone tell me what I need to do to fix this. I was going to use the softmii firmware downgrader, but then I realized that would remove preloader and I want to be SURE that what I do will fix my wii.
    Edit/Delete Message
     
  2. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I think you have to reinstall preloader. Just do NOT do something dumb like uninstalling IOS60.
     
  3. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Had this problem myself a while ago and installing a sysmenu wad (for your region/firmware) solved this for me. Can you still boot to HBC and run Wad manager?
     
  4. wiiv1.5owners3

    Member wiiv1.5owners3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    United States
    install you regions system wad then update to 4.0 downgrade to 3.2 install starfall cioscorp and stay clear of preloader its CRAP and very risky i semi bricked my wii twice.......preloader gets currupt then you FUBAR but starfall you can get zelda to run and install system wads from wad manager good luck...
     
  5. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Your getting that message because you have preloader installed which runs off of ios60.When you install the new cioscorp your replacing ios60 which messes preloader up.

    So after running cioscorp install preloader again and it fixes it.


    There was another identical post similar to this one on the front page right now.It fixed his wii just fine.
     
  6. wertyer
    OP

    Newcomer wertyer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    OK thanks for the help Il try that now
     
  7. Servdogg

    Member Servdogg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United States
    don't listen to the fool that says preloader is CRAP. Preloader is great software and with the right hacks on you can completely eliminate the risk of accidental updates on off region games and also recover from most bricks. Someone who semi-bricks their wii twice using it should probably not be giving any advice on this board.
     

Share This Page