Sega Saturn mod chip randomly just stopped working...

Discussion in 'Other Consoles & Oldies' started by Schizoanalysis, Jul 13, 2009.

  1. Schizoanalysis
    OP

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    Hello all,

    My modded Sega Saturn has been sitting in the cupboard for a few years -- I recently pulled it out to give it a spin, but I found that the mod chip refused to boot copies (it has always worked in the past) -- curiouser and curiouser, hmmm --

    I am not panicking too much, as I do have a spare modded Saturn -- I am just wondering if anoyone knows how it could be fixed? Or would it be beyond recovery... I think it is kinda odd that it just stopped working -- with no outside interference...

    I cracked the console open and all wires were intact... no visible signs of soldering failures...

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Noitora

    Member Noitora ::

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,768
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    You can do the swap trick, google it.
     
  3. Schizoanalysis
    OP

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    No real need -- I have a spare modded Saturn (and swapping busts the CD drive) -- I'm just curious as to why the mod chip would suddenly stop --
     
  4. roguetrip

    Member roguetrip GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    Does it boot original copies? Maybe its been sitting long enough to need the lens cleaned up.
     
  5. Schizoanalysis
    OP

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    Yep, it boots origs. I took out the mod chip and the saturn is fully functional... funny... it is just the chip that seems to be the problem...
     
  6. Devante

    Member Devante Crescent fresh at best.

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Country:
    United States
    I had the same thing happen. The reason is those mod chips (I know which one you have) are prone to going bad.

    Just buy a new one and you'll be fine. They're cheap!
     
  7. Dr Eggman

    Member Dr Eggman I am THE Eggman.

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Eggmanland! (Toronto IRL)
    Country:
    Canada
    Could you tell me where's a good place to buy one?

    I tried to do the Model 1 mod, but it never worked. I might just buy a Model 2 and try it again. If anyone is willing to sell a Model 1 modchip, PM me.
     
  8. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  9. Schizoanalysis
    OP

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey there!

    His site looks cool, thanks for the heads up --

    His version of the mod chips looks like the really old one --

    [​IMG]

    I've fitted about 3 different types of SS mod chips in my time... and that looks like the first one I fitted... Mind you, the one that busted on me was the version that sticks directly in the ribbon cable slot... so maybe the earlier mod chip version with the 2 ribbon cable slots is the better version...
     
  10. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My Japanese Saturn is fitted with one of these and I've never had a problem with it. It's an updated version of the old chip. It works with a few more drives but is still based off the old design as it was so reliable.
     
  11. Dr Eggman

    Member Dr Eggman I am THE Eggman.

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Eggmanland! (Toronto IRL)
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks, i looked into it before actually,but shipping and the model is a problem. (i'm trying to mod a model 1, see my WTB thread)
     
  12. Schizoanalysis
    OP

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    Can you just buy a cheap round button Saturn instead?
    It might not be so expensive long run -- if you do manage to find an old Model 1 mod chip -- it might cost you more than 10-13GBP... All other SS mod chips I have seen for sale (but it has been a while since I have seen one) have been around US$60-70.
     

Share This Page