1. Joeyramone82

    OP Joeyramone82 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sega megadrive flashback 2018 update hi I'm now on my 3rd one 1st froze up after 10mins and 2nd had no pic on TV just sound after update is the 2018 eu update know for this as 1st updated fine then after a few days started to freeze after 10 mins so took back to shop got a new one updated it and then no pic so on 3rd one now and wanted to know if it's because it a newer model to my 1st as got my 1st in Dec 2018 many thanks
     
  2. MB79

    MB79 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi.
    On your 3rd system have you done any update yet or is it still out the box new?
    There have been some of us who have had it freeze after about 10 mins but normally we have been unlucky enough not to be able to return it due to other mods.
    Mine was purchases around November/December last year and only started freezing last month.
    @rrifonas would be good to get involved in this as a lot of the recent updates have come from work done by him.
    Just thinking you could be a good test to leave it be and play it as stock for a little while and see if freezing occurs. If it doesn't and then doing an update from here causes the freezing to start, then maybe the view that it is a hardware issue might not be so??
     
  3. Joeyramone82

    OP Joeyramone82 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks buddy 1st was fine when updated for about a weeks then got the freezing issues then 2nd one today got no pic out put to tv after update just sound only want the sd slot unlocked to play roms off sd lol many thanks

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    A week lol

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    A week
    Would need the eu update as im in uk many thanks
     
  4. Joeyramone82

    OP Joeyramone82 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  5. rrifonas

    rrifonas GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    United States
    @MB79 is right. I would keep the console without any update for some time.
    My console also freezes after 10 minutes, even with the original firmware. Anyways, it would be a good test to keep the console with the original firmware for a while, and see if it will freeze.

    If you just want to unlock the SD Card you can try using the first update released by WD_GASTER2.
     
  6. Joeyramone82

    OP Joeyramone82 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks do you hsve a link to the eu update please many thanks
     
  7. rrifonas

    rrifonas GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    United States
    This post has the original links in the quote. As the update only changes ahe 'data' partition, it should be the same for the US and EU version.

    My system is the US version, but the EU version is exactly the same except for the emulator partition.
     
  8. Joeyramone82

    OP Joeyramone82 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for ur help buddy how do you run mega cd games as iv put the bios in the game folder under Mega_cd_e then all the roms folder theres 4 files a cue ccd sub img but still can get to run am i doing something wrong many thanks
     
  9. MB79

    MB79 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    To get Sega CD (which is the same as Mega CD if I remember correctly) working you need all three bios in the folder and named as above. If you don't have all three it doesn't work - I know this as I made the same mistake!!
    Worth having a read of the other two threads on here for the 2018 version as most the answers are on them, including about changing the Rom names in .cue file as game folder on SD card can not have spaces in name - hopefully that sounds helpful rather than rude.
     
  10. Joeyramone82

    OP Joeyramone82 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks buddy ill have a mess about see if i can suss it out lol many thanks
     
  11. BobSega

    BobSega Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Poland
    Hi, i have sega mega drive flashback and i have problem with update. I bought pure new console, i did everything as instruction said, step by step ..but when i put SD CARD 2 GB to slot and switch concole on nothing change..any upgrading info, any info in menu about sd card. Do you know how can i resolve this problem?
     
  12. broie

    broie Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Were you trying to put on the custom firmware in the other thread? I had this problem yesterday and I used the Genesis one instead of the mega drive version and that worked.
     
  13. BobSega

    BobSega Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Poland
    Do you have any link to this custom firmware? I just used the one from atgames website. i would be very happy to get from you some help :)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - megadrive, flashback, update