Sd Cards

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by darthbane, Nov 28, 2008.

Nov 28, 2008

Sd Cards by darthbane at 7:05 PM (2,055 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. darthbane
    OP

    Newcomer darthbane Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Next to you
    Country:
    United States
    For some reason my Wii wont reconize my sd card.I have two.I have a 1gb Sandisk for Wii (the white color one) and I have a 2gb Patriot.I am trying to install the homebrew channel with the twight hack and Wii wont reconize both cards.Both of them work on my P C and are not defective.Does anybody know why? I heard I need to format my sd cards,but in what way?I have formated both and still no luck.My Wii firmware was 3.3U and nothing...So I updated to 3.4U (YES I KNOW) and it did reconize my sd card but then after awhile it didnt anymore.What is the best way,or what can you do so your Wii can reconize your sd card. Need help please [​IMG]
     


  2. ephumuris

    Newcomer ephumuris Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I did mine two days ago and i formatted my 1GB Micro SD with the FAT32 file system. Worked a treat.
     
  3. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Format it with FAT filesystem.. if thats not working maybe a faulty sd card slot? Especially if its 2 different cards
     
  4. ephumuris

    Newcomer ephumuris Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why FAT? I got told FAT32 and that worked for me. Or are either one as good? As long as it's not NTFS? lol.
     
  5. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, I just meant "A" fat filesystem. Fat 32 should be fine.
     
  6. Valgreen

    Member Valgreen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    Canada

    can you even format an sd card to ntfs? i didnt think you could..
     
  7. ephumuris

    Newcomer ephumuris Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Erm probably not but it was just an example. But what about the 8GB SD cards what do you format them to? As FAT32 can't handle files larger than like 4 GB can it?

    EDIT: I guess i'm trying to say maybe you can i'm just not sure [​IMG]
     
  8. gd6noob

    Newcomer gd6noob Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Canada
    open My Comuter, right click which ever driver your SD card is in, and format.
    Under filesystems, select FAT not FAT (more compatiblity) and format.. reput all the files back onto the card and it should work without a problem
     
  9. ephumuris

    Newcomer ephumuris Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So it should be FAT and not FAT? [​IMG]
     
  10. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    There are two main FAT filesystems.

    FAT16 (commonly called FAT) and FAT32.

    You have no reason to use FAT32 unless you are using something larger than 4GB.

    NTFS is (a horrible) filesystem made for the root partition of a Windows computer.
     
  11. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
  12. ephumuris

    Newcomer ephumuris Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah but it lets me manage large image files like my 360 backups. Something a FAT drive doesn't allow.
     
  13. darthbane
    OP

    Newcomer darthbane Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Next to you
    Country:
    United States
    Anybody lives in the Los angeles are that can help me with this..seriously
     
  14. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    ah if onlt the wii could read ext2 or ext3.... wait can it???
    i must now test this.
     
  15. gd6noob

    Newcomer gd6noob Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Canada
    haha i guess i didnt read over it.. shouldnt watch movie and surf the net at the same time

    FAT not FAT32!
     
  16. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    That would be one of my favorite Wii things to date.
     
  17. LunarGoddess

    Newcomer LunarGoddess Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Um, when I install the files onto my wii and am finished with everything,
    can I take out the sd card or do I have to leave it in for the homebrew channel and other stuff to work?
    Your answer is much appreciated.
     
  18. breakdaze

    Newcomer breakdaze Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United States
    As far as running homebrew apps from the Home Brew Channel, you can either send them to your Wii's IP address via the Wiiload method, which means using a program like wiiload or guisendelf to send and run a homebrew app (program.dol). This requires no SD card, just launch the HBC and wait for the network to initialize. Otherwise, put homebrew apps in the apps folder, each app to its own folder, name the apps boot.dol.

    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Homebrew_Channel
    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Wiiload
     
  19. GhostSonic

    Member GhostSonic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United States
    FAT32 still has a 4GB limit
     
  20. LunarGoddess

    Newcomer LunarGoddess Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you, Breakdaze.
     

Share This Page