SD Card Problem

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by ShadowFyre, Sep 10, 2012.

Sep 10, 2012

SD Card Problem by ShadowFyre at 12:48 AM (1,359 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. ShadowFyre
    OP

    Member ShadowFyre GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    32GB Canon SD card supposed to have...Y'know, 32GB. Its showing 29.6MB instead. Help?
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    http://filetrip.net/nds-downloads/utilities/download-panasonic-sd-formatter-31-windows-f27344.html

    Run this on it, it should be able to format it to the correct size.
     
  3. ShadowFyre
    OP

    Member ShadowFyre GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    What settings do I use? I've been messing with it but nothing's happening, unfortunately.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Use the "format size adjustment" option.

    Also where did you get it? You didn't get the card from some chinese ebay seller, did you?
     
  5. ShadowFyre
    OP

    Member ShadowFyre GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    I did the format size adjustment option on all the settings and no luck. I'm...Fairly sure its not bootlegged? I just found it when rummaging through some stuff in our cabinets.
     
  6. tatripp

    Member tatripp GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Country:
    United States
    I think they are always smaller than they say. My 1 TB external hard drive only has 900 some GB on it.
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Well the OP said it's supposed to be 32GB but is less than 30MB, so unless that was a typo something's wrong with it.
     
  8. gifi4

    Member gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm pretty sure it was a typo.
    Windows reads memory capacity in bytes and not bits like intended by the HDD manufacturers (Did I get that right?) which then causes mark downs such as 1TB to 900GB. If I'm not mistaken, this doesn't happen with Mac/Linux (Again, I may be wrong).

    If it wasn't a typo then you're missing 31.971GB =/
     
  9. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
  10. gifi4

    Member gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
  11. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,148
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's possible that the flash partition (or actual flash cells) has collapsed/died, hense showing only a few MB as the drive capacity. Then again, in every case I've seen where this happened, it always said exactly 2MB.
     
  12. ShadowFyre
    OP

    Member ShadowFyre GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    It was definitely not a typo. http://imgur.com/IXl0N
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Run diskmgmt.msc in the start menu, screenshot the window (after resizing so all the entries in both panels can be seen).
     
  14. ShadowFyre
    OP

    Member ShadowFyre GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
  15. ShadowFyre
    OP

    Member ShadowFyre GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    OH MY GOD I AM SO STUPID ITS A 32MB SD CARD.
     
  16. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,148
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And with that, the thread is over.
     
    1 person likes this.
  17. gifi4

    Member gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    So, I was right then? A typo?
     
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The OP misread the card itself.

    So... an inverted typo?
     

Share This Page