SD Card Problem after installing CFW on my 3DS

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by CloudNguyen, Apr 16, 2017.

  1. CloudNguyen
    OP

    CloudNguyen Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    1
    Apr 16, 2017
    Gambia, The
    So I recently installed CFW on my 3DS ver. 11.1.0-34 .. now I'm facing the problem that even though nothing else is installed except for the CFW almost 90% (3.9gb) of my memory space is being used. Has this ever happened to anyone? Thank you for your help in advance ...
     
  2. TheCyberQuake

    TheCyberQuake Certified Geek

    Member
    3,316
    2,237
    Dec 2, 2014
    United States
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Probably nand backups made in the process of installing cfw is what is taking that space. You can put the nand dumps (probably in the files9 folder or the gm9out folder) in a safe place on your computer or the cloud and then delete them from sd. Though with cfw I would just get a larger sd anyway.
     
    Quantumcat and shroppy like this.
  3. Osmosis

    Osmosis Accidents Happen. Don't be one of them.

    Member
    783
    188
    Dec 20, 2014
    United States
    Please try to setup CFWs on 16gb minimum. Don't even try doing it with 128 or higher.

    You need the space.

    Then, if you want, just FAT32 your 128+ mSD and copy everything over.

    I tried setting up A9LH/Luma on my 128gb and it wouldn't format reidnand. Just... no.

    So I used a 32gb and it worked fine. Then once I was done, copied over to my FAT32 128gb mSD.

    But you need the space because once you're done, you gotta put games on.

    So 16gb min. 64gb recommended. 128+ if you like to hoard like me. And yes, 256gb mSD works if you do it right. I know. I've done it.

    But try to setup on 32gb. Best option.
     
  4. CloudNguyen
    OP

    CloudNguyen Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    1
    Apr 16, 2017
    Gambia, The
    So is it possible to format a new 32gb sd card to fat32 and copy&paste the files on the old sd card to the new one?
     
  5. Distrance

    Distrance 矢澤にこ

    Member
    1,146
    426
    Nov 23, 2008
    Finland
    Yes.
     
  6. CloudNguyen
    OP

    CloudNguyen Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    1
    Apr 16, 2017
    Gambia, The
    Whats the largest sd card size thats compatible?
     
  7. Distrance

    Distrance 矢澤にこ

    Member
    1,146
    426
    Nov 23, 2008
    Finland
    Not sure, but I know people use at least 128GB's. Honestly tho, I'd say an average user will never even will up that 128GB so any more than that would be simply stupid.

    If you do get a card as big as that though, make sure you use GUIFormat to format the whole partition as FAT32, and cluster size as 64kb.
     
  8. CloudNguyen
    OP

    CloudNguyen Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    1
    Apr 16, 2017
    Gambia, The
    Oh thats good cause i never planned on buying a sd card of that size . Do I need to use GUIFormat to format sd cards smaller than 128GB? And does it make any difference in the format process wether I use a standard sd card or a micro sd card?
     
  9. pixelmasher

    pixelmasher Gaming Gamer

    Member
    1,633
    671
    Dec 12, 2016
    United States
    Near N3DS
    Windows will format cards upto 32GB in size to FAT32. Anything larger will need something else. There's no difference between the standard SD and microSD for formatting other than the write protect tab on the SD card.
     
  10. CloudNguyen
    OP

    CloudNguyen Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    1
    Apr 16, 2017
    Gambia, The
    Oh i forgot to mention that I have a Mac .. does that make a significant difference?
     
  11. pixelmasher

    pixelmasher Gaming Gamer

    Member
    1,633
    671
    Dec 12, 2016
    United States
    Near N3DS
    It should probably be the same since 32GB thing is a limitation in the FAT32 standard. The write protect thing still applies as well. You can use EmuNAND9 or GodMode9 to format your card as well.
     
  12. AllenHirai

    AllenHirai Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    86
    4
    Apr 17, 2017
    United States
    It is 32 but 64gb and up u have to format to fat32 32 gb cards are already fat32 by default.
     
  13. CloudNguyen
    OP

    CloudNguyen Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    1
    Apr 16, 2017
    Gambia, The
    Thank you all for helping me out! I just went and bought myself a 32GB sd card and everything works fine.
     
    Distrance likes this.