Hacking Saves Lost After Renaming to 3DZ

Andim

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
143
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
221
Country
Well, it's right there in the title. When i renamed my home-dumped ROMs to .3DZ, they shot me the 'ol message about needing to format save data. Why? Is there any way I can possibly keep my original saves? If there is, please tell me. I have them all backed up and I don't want to lose them.
 

Scarlet

Soy Consoomer
Editorial Team
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
4,542
Trophies
2
Location
Middleish North-Right
XP
11,510
Country
United Kingdom
Saves are associated with the header - or thereby lack of. .3ds files have no header, and so your save is associated with that lack of header.

You might be able to extract it with SaveDataFiler but it's not something I've personally done so you'll need to look into that yourself.
 

BullyWiiPlaza

Nintendo Hacking <3
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2014
Messages
1,932
Trophies
0
XP
2,446
Country
Germany
You can use SaveDataFiler to extract both savegames and then copy the necessary data from the original over to the new one to continue with the .3dz rom.

I did this for Pokémon and the "main" file only holds all basic save related stuff.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Andim

Andim

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
143
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
221
Country
You can use SaveDataFiler to extract both savegames and then copy the necessary data from the original over to the new one to continue with the .3dz rom.

Do you have any more detailed information on how to "copy the necessary data"? For the record, this is a personal backup copy. I have the game, if that helps.
 

BullyWiiPlaza

Nintendo Hacking <3
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2014
Messages
1,932
Trophies
0
XP
2,446
Country
Germany
Do you have any more detailed information on how to "copy the necessary data"? For the record, this is a personal backup copy. I have the game, if that helps.

Yes. You save the game with .3ds and use SaveDataFiler to extract the save game. Now you save the game with .3dz and do the same thing.

On the computer, you now copy over the necessary data from the first folder aka your original save to the new save.
Then on the 3DS you install the new save game and hope it'll have all your original data when you use the .3dz rom because you replaced it.

This works for Pokémon at least like I said before.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Andim

Andim

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
143
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
221
Country
Well uh
Tried savedatafiler, all it gave me was a message saying my ctr card save is "broken user sava data".
This is probably the part where I give up and restart Monster Hunter.
 

Shinitai

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
86
Trophies
0
XP
170
Country
Uruguay
Savedatafiler should work. You should have it installed as a cia.

First, remove the header from your rom and change it back to .3ds. Then put the save that you want to convert in the 3DS big SD card with the following name "000400000FF40A00.sav" (that's the id of savedatafiler).

Boot into emunand, press select and choose the game but don't start it. Instead, start savedatafiler. Highlight CTR-Card (make sure it doesn't say "broken" next to it) and press Y, then A.

Close savedatafiler, remove the red GW card. Put the micro SD back in your PC, and put the header back in your ROM, and change it back to .3dz.

Again in emunand, press select and choose the game but again don't start it. Start savedatafiler. Go to the SD tab. In there you'll see a list of all the saves you've decrypted, which should be only one unless you've done this before. Highlight it, hold L and press A.

Once that's done, turn off your 3DS, and put the big SD card in your PC. The file 000400000FF40A00.sav will now be your new save. Give it the right name for your game and you should be done.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Hkari and Andim

YourHero

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2010
Messages
1,025
Trophies
0
XP
502
Country
United States
Rename the save to match save data filer ID and then go in and import the save to the gateway with the wanted game mounted.

Not 100% on this method, but I believe it works.
 

Andim

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
143
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
221
Country
Right, so basically all of this was done so I could get online with MH4U, which I have running now on a jp region 3ds. Unfortunately, an additional problem remained. The system would not allow me to use any online features, complaining in Japanese that I had not accepted the EULA (error code 003-0399). And I could not accept the EULA either, because it was out of region.

But I fixed it. If anyone else has this problem, the solution is to download config.cia or config.su from *somewhere*, and set the EULA value to ff.ff. Hope this might be helpful to someone possibly.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: :rofl2: