SaveMiiFrii question ....

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by AdamBrunt, Nov 28, 2008.

Nov 28, 2008

SaveMiiFrii question .... by AdamBrunt at 9:24 AM (6,762 Views / 0 Likes) 51 replies

  1. AdamBrunt
    OP

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    Hi all,

    Now I have finally got hold of a triwing screwdriver (no thanks to the ebay seller who still hasn't sent me the one I paid for nearly a week ago !!!) I will be hopefully unbricking my Wii this evening and thought I'd be proactive and make sure I get the order right.

    As I understand it, the order is:

    1) Hold down all 4 directions on the GC controller d-pad
    2) Power up the Wii
    3) 3.2E, in my case, should appear in the bottom right hand corner. (Is this immediate or a few seconds ?)
    4) Insert the autobooting WADManager DVD
    5) In WADManager delete the WAD that caused the brick (will the be WADs be named so that's it obvious which one I need to delete even if I didn't use WADManager to install it)
    6) Restart the Wii

    Does that sound right ?

    Regards,

    Adam Brunt
     


  2. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey

    Did you crack it open? [​IMG]
     
  3. AdamBrunt
    OP

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    Didn't crack it open - after waiting all week for it to arrive in the post, a colleague at work mentioned he had one I could borrow lol

    Should there not be a DVD in the Wii when I power it on ?

    Re the wads ... got that, I was thinking that uninstalling WADs was a case of WADManager 'scanning' for installed WADs rather than just reading them off the SD card.
     
  4. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    It doesn't matter for the autoboot cases I guess, you can put the disc after getting into recovery menu... well it doesn't matter... try both, it should be easy...

    And nopez it's title deleter doing sort of that... with anytitle deleter you should know the title id of the installed channel so you don't have to keep the channel wad...
     
  5. Josie

    Newcomer Josie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Italy
    the wadmanager doesn't give you a list of the installed wads. just put the wad that caused the brick on the sd (but i suppose it's already there since u installed it) and uninstall it pressing "-" in wadmanger while selecting that wad.

    the savemiifrii procedure is right, i've done the same thing. my dvd was in the drive since the moment i turned on the wii.
     
  6. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    It's worth noting that this only works in the 4th gamecube controller port.


    EDIT: Also, if you are on 3.2 and just have a banner brick... you shouldn't need recovery menu. Just autoboot wad manager from the 'Press A' screen.
     
  7. AdamBrunt
    OP

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    Foolishly, I used Starfall to remove the "health and safety screen" which is why, it would seem - though I potentially only have a banner brick - I need to use the recovery menu.

    If I unbrick this evening, and presumably, starfall is still installed ... the first thing I'll do is put the "health and safety screen" back on [​IMG]
     
  8. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    i my self never been able to get the savemefrii method to work so i just press y as i have starfall installed.
    do you really have to open the wii for the savemefrii method to work?
     
  9. nanika

    Member nanika 文鎮じゃダメ!まぁ、こんな文字小さしすぎてどうせ読めないっしょ。

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    249
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, you have to open up a Gamecube controller or find a 3rd Party one that lets you push all the buttons at once somewhere though.
     
  10. Hellfenix

    Member Hellfenix GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    204
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    No, you have to open the gamecube controller to remove the protection that stops you from pressing all four arrows on the DPAD at the same time.

    Also, if you have starfall just hold Y on your gamecube controller and you'll be in recovery mode right away, no need for SaveMiiFrii
     
  11. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    i know about the starfall press y thing(I've done it) i was just curious.
     
  12. AdamBrunt
    OP

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    That is the slight concern for me.

    I am sure I installed those 2 starfall patches and yet holding Y on the controller didn't work for me.
     
  13. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    it's the opposite for me the y button works but holding down all 4 directional buttons doesn't probably cuz my controller is a low end generic one.
    also doesn't the GCpad have to be in port 4 in order for savemefrii to work?
     
  14. AdamBrunt
    OP

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    Right need some help now ....

    I have opened the GC controller so that the PCB is visible. Where the D-PAD was are 4 circles each with a line in (2 going across and 2 going up and down). I have plugged the controller into port 4 (the one nearest the back of the Wii)

    I press all 4 circles at once and power up the Wii. The Wii doesn't show anything in the bottom right, just carries on as normal ... the white "wii" channels on black background come up with a diagonal wipe effect and then I see the "system files corrupt" message [​IMG]

    Is it possible to have installed patches on Starfall such that the rescue menu doesn't work ?
     
  15. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Dont think so, as they mentioned make sure its plugged into slot 4.
     
  16. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    1. Are you sure you are using the plastic membrane that makes the actual touches to the four directional keys?
    2. Not everytime it succeeds, you need to keep a steady hand and it's better if there is someone around that can help powering on the wii so you can use both hands...

    It should not be related to starfall actually but if starfall replaces the gc button press combination it may be related too... someone with starfall patches should test the trick with four directional buttons then we can find out...

    By the way, if it was because starfall then you should have been able to press y on the 1st gc controller and launch into recovery menu from day 1 you bricked..
     
  17. AdamBrunt
    OP

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    thanks for the help guys.

    1) Do you need to power up from red light or orange light ?

    2) I wasn't at first, but am now, using the d-pad from the controller to press all the buttons. I have turned it upside down (so the knob in the middle is showing) and think I have it touching all four circles. Does it have to touch certain places on each circle ?
     
  18. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Transition should be from red to green

    Just align the circles, there is no catch other than that...

    And let me test 4 directional button press test on my starfall patched wii...
     
  19. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Tested 4 directional button trick on my starfall patched wii on 4th controller, it works... and also y button from first controller too...
    So it's not related to starfall in any way..

    Just keep trying...
     
  20. AdamBrunt
    OP

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    thanks will do.

    I assume the y button method does require one of the starfall patches to have been installed ?
     

Share This Page