Safehax Black Screen

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by JehovasNES, Aug 12, 2017.

  1. JehovasNES
    OP

    JehovasNES Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Aug 12, 2017
    United States
    Ive installed luma on the 3ds im using at the moment so I dont know if that could be the issue?
    I follow the guide up to running udsploit and run safehax, but the safehax screen just turns black. I've tried removing the file safehaxpayload.bin but it doesnt load the luma config or anything related.
    Is the issue with luma, safehax, bs9 or just my 3ds? If it is any of these how would I fix it?
     
  2. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    558
    163
    May 27, 2011
    Canada
    What version fireware do you have? if you have luma and b9s then safehax wont be of any use anymore. Also 11.4 and 11.5 firms patched safehax aswell.
     
  3. JehovasNES
    OP

    JehovasNES Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Aug 12, 2017
    United States
    At the moment im running 11.3.0-36, at the moment I dont have b9s installed and im following 3ds.guide, i installed luma a long time ago and just took the sd card out of the system.
     
  4. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    558
    163
    May 27, 2011
    Canada
    If you already have luma on your 3ds you likely would have A9lh. Are you following https://3ds.guide/a9lh-to-b9s right now or just the get started page from that site?
     
  5. JehovasNES
    OP

    JehovasNES Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Aug 12, 2017
    United States
    The get started, the sd card I put in was a brand new one so I didnt know if I had to start brand new or not.
     
  6. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    558
    163
    May 27, 2011
    Canada
    No. The system itself will retain the cfw. There is just a few files you need to get from that site and place on your sd card to continue with the b9s process.
     
  7. JehovasNES
    OP

    JehovasNES Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Aug 12, 2017
    United States
    Okay thanks, let me try this again.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I tried to attempt it but I can't access the chainloader by holding start
     
  8. Greymane

    Greymane Lurking gbatemp pony

    Member
    408
    155
    Jul 7, 2015
    Netherlands
    In your closet, watching you clop
    Can you make a picture of the content if your SD card and post it?
     
  9. JehovasNES
    OP

    JehovasNES Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Aug 12, 2017
    United States
    Last edited by JehovasNES, Aug 12, 2017
  10. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤

    Member
    3,890
    2,618
    Jan 8, 2016
    United States
    Safehax requires an A9LH payload to be on the root of your pumpkin's SD. So, you should have kept the BIN. Also, what does your luma/payloads directory look like?
     
    Last edited by Joom, Aug 12, 2017
    lone_wolf323 likes this.
  11. Greymane

    Greymane Lurking gbatemp pony

    Member
    408
    155
    Jul 7, 2015
    Netherlands
    In your closet, watching you clop
    Both the otherapp and safehaxpayload need to be on the root to install B9S.
     
  12. JehovasNES
    OP

    JehovasNES Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Aug 12, 2017
    United States
    The file may as well be empty, its just the setup for the files. I ended up using my old sd card on my wii u so that idea went south kind of.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Im unable to access the start button menu so I cannot install b9 anyway. So should I attempt to try the baic setup again?
     
  13. Greymane

    Greymane Lurking gbatemp pony

    Member
    408
    155
    Jul 7, 2015
    Netherlands
    In your closet, watching you clop
    I would say yes to starting from the beginning of the guide to be sure.
     
  14. JehovasNES
    OP

    JehovasNES Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Aug 12, 2017
    United States
    Okay but what should I do if it gets stuck on safehax, could I just run the .3dsx of the boot9strap installer
     
  15. Greymane

    Greymane Lurking gbatemp pony

    Member
    408
    155
    Jul 7, 2015
    Netherlands
    In your closet, watching you clop
    While it can be done, i do recommend using safehax.
    When udsploit is done and you use safehax it can take a while before it goes from the black screen into the install.
     
  16. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    558
    163
    May 27, 2011
    Canada
    udsploit is ran before safehax which may be why yours is showing a black screen. Just follow 3ds.guide and everything should go ok for you
     
  17. JehovasNES
    OP

    JehovasNES Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Aug 12, 2017
    United States
    Before I did it I actually did run the udsploit everytime, thanks for the help.

    Okay ill have to do it tomorrow night or morning and try again. Thanks for all the help.
     
  18. JehovasNES
    OP

    JehovasNES Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Aug 12, 2017
    United States
    The black screen is still there after waiting for a long time, BUMP.