Running Back To The Future on iDevices

Discussion in 'General Tutorials' started by Fluto, Feb 19, 2011.

Feb 19, 2011
  1. Fluto
    OP

    Member Fluto A potato in disguise

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,273
    Location:
    The Moon
    Country:
    Australia
    What You Need:
    Jailbroken IDevice*
    iFile
    Diskaid/Ifunbox/SSH
    7-Zip (if you want it the easier way)
    Back to the Future. IPA (from your own sources)

    1. Extract the directory Payload/BackToTheFuture101.app from the .ipa, Using 7-zip to your desktop
    2. Copy BackToTheFuture101.app (folder) to Applications Folder on your iDevice, There is a shortcut in the root of the iDevice, using Diskaid/Ifunbox/SSH.
    3. On your iDevice, go on iFile, go to the Applications folder and find BackToTheFuture101.app (folder) and click the blue arrow.
    4. Under Access Permissions Change the Settings according to this:
    User - Read,Write,Execute
    Group - Write,Execute
    World - Write,Execute
    5. Go into BackToTheFuture101.app (folder) and change the following files BackToTheFuture101 and Pkginfo Permissions according to the same thing above.
    6. Re-spring
    7. the app should be there and Run it! (the first time its glitch but the next time it works)
    Congratulations !​

    Screen Shots:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!


    *- I Recommend you use an Iphone 4 or Ipod Touch 4 For quality reasons

    This was tested with an iPod touch 4
    Also the text looks very pixely and unreadable but everything else seems to work
    P.S First Tutorial [​IMG]
     
  2. alidsl

    Member alidsl I am now a lurker

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,823
    Location:
    Kanto - Pallet Town
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm confused, why do you need to do this? Is there not an ipa?
     
  3. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,185
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    its looks like absolute crap compared to the pc ver
     
  4. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    It's the iPad version running on the iPhone 4. Of course it'd look like crap with all that screen compression.
     
  5. metamaster

    Member metamaster GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Country:
    Canada
    Does this work with any iPad game?
     
  6. alidsl

    Member alidsl I am now a lurker

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,823
    Location:
    Kanto - Pallet Town
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it did that would be awesome
     
  7. bladepwnedyou

    Member bladepwnedyou GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Vermont
    Country:
    United States
    When are they releasing part 2? I thought it was suppose to be this month.
     
  8. geoflcl

    Member geoflcl Permanent GBAtemp Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,373
    Country:
    United States
    Neat! I imagine a lot of people will be glad to be able to play this on their iPhones and iPods (although screen size is a concern for me).

    I've seen a number of methods for getting iPad apps to run on other iDevices, and though they work like a charm, they all seem to want to display the game at a 480x320 resolution, even on Retina devices like the iPhone 4 and iPod Touch 4. That's the reason it looks so horrid in the screenshots. If one were able to find a way to make the apps run in the iPhone 4's native 960x640 resolution, I imagine the game would look much nicer.
     
  9. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,185
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    it came out on the 15th
     
  10. Fluto
    OP

    Member Fluto A potato in disguise

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,273
    Location:
    The Moon
    Country:
    Australia
    You can try because some apps dont work when is on the iphones/ipod touches
     
  11. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    How does it look if you use the 3 finger zoom function?
     
  12. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    How does it look if you use the 3 finger zoom function?
     
  13. alidsl

    Member alidsl I am now a lurker

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,823
    Location:
    Kanto - Pallet Town
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Im gonna try this with world of goo sometime, I'll let you guys know if it works
     
  14. alidsl

    Member alidsl I am now a lurker

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,823
    Location:
    Kanto - Pallet Town
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I tries it with world pf goo an the icon wont show up

    Ok i found a way to do it, copy all the files from wog.app and delete the ones inside of some shitty app. Them paste the world of goo files in. Then respring
     

Share This Page