Run R4-SDHC firmware on DSTT

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by mechagouki, May 3, 2010.

May 3, 2010
  1. mechagouki
    OP

    Member mechagouki Kill 'em all...

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    I have a (I think) genuine DSTT and I was wondering if it will run the R4-SDHC firmware? I believe the R4-SDHC is a clone of the DSTT, but I don't want to just put the firmware on there and hope for the best, I just want to be rid of the game menu lag and I don't really like Ysmenu.
     
  2. Pliskron

    Banned Pliskron Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Are you good at coding? Unless you are it's not going to work. The best you can do right now on the DSTT is YSmenu + the latest dat files. That will get you almost all the new games. We can only hope that someone ports wood r4 at some point.
     
  3. mechagouki
    OP

    Member mechagouki Kill 'em all...

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    LOL, no, I couldn't code my way out of a paper bag. I'll leave that to people who have a basic grasp of mathematics. I don't need the DSTT for the latest games - I have an R4i 1.4 that has played everything I've tried so far - no problems (1.20b firmware). I got the DSTT cheap to use in my Phat and I just hate the sticky little pause as you scroll through your files. I know YSmenu fixes this, but let's be honest, it's a little dull. I like my flashy skins and stuff - I'm basically just being somewhat superficial and finicky.
     
  4. laxman0220

    Member laxman0220 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I know the dstt firmware can run on the r4-sdhc, but the r4-sdhc firmware won't run on dstt.
     
  5. fathawg

    Newcomer fathawg Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    put your roms in the root of your card instead of a folder. menu runs faster that way
     
  6. topix

    Newcomer topix Newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Germany
    If u use 2gb card class 6 instead of 4gb there is no pause while scolling. i think 2gb cards can carry enough games
     
  7. Halo-101

    Member Halo-101 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Australia,QLD
    Country:
    United States
    incorrect there is a way to run it by using yoshiflips converted firmware

    http://www.mediafire.com/?wmhfkrzzoyk

    post from yoshiflip - yoshiflip only findable on romulation:

    Hello

    I can now convert firmware files to firmwares that can be run from NDS files.

    Current:
    R4 SDHC 1.34 Patched - Made by YoshiFlip (No issues)
    R4i SDHC Upgrade - Made by R4i SDHC Upgrade team (MAY HAVE ISSUES)

    I do NOT convert:
    - AKAIO
    - YSMenu / DSTT

    If you want an kernel converted:
    - Give me a link to the site
    or
    - Give me a link to the kernel

    The converting can take a while
     
  8. nuno

    Newcomer nuno Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Does this work on the Dstti? If so, do you have to rename them or do anything special?
     
  9. Ace

    Member Ace GBATemp's Patrick Bateman

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,035
    Location:
    Manhattan
    Country:
    Sweden
    I don't wanna advertise, really, but just use TTYSAuto, it comes with some pretty neat skins already and the YSSkinSelector, and it works okay. It's how I got the cart running for a friend, since I doubted if it was a genuine cart or not.
     
  10. raiderscrusade

    Member raiderscrusade GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Australia
    Pretty interesting to run R4 SDHC firmware on a DSTT.

    If you run the R4 SDHC firmware, that means you could run a "clone" version of Wood R4 from that, wouldn't it?

    And if that is possible..... enjoy?

    Wish he could port AKAIO or something, but there is rules that no one is allowed to. Unfortunate, really.
     
  11. *_TheHolyCow_*

    Newcomer *_TheHolyCow_* Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Hello everyone! First of all im new to GBATemp here so excuse my stupidity around here... So anyways one quick question. So im using the firmware converter so i could use r4 skins on the ttds. But the thing is idk how to put my wanted skins onto the firmware. Where exactly do i have to put it? plz help [​IMG]
     
  12. greenwizard

    Newcomer greenwizard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Guatemala
    Check this thread http://gbatemp.net/t281853-wood-on-r4i-gol...7556&#entry,

    Basically the r4i gold is a clone of DTTS,

    I had not problems with lag using this. But is no fancy
     
  13. bitonio6

    Member bitonio6 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,801
    Country:
    Switzerland
    What is the point of that???

    R4i-sdhc use DSTT fix and sometime with moonshell...

    So, if you use the DSTT kernel with the Fix
    you will have better than any r4i-sdhc kernel!!!
     
  14. Detetive10

    Newcomer Detetive10 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Brazil
    Why do you want it ???

    In my opinion Wood4TT is better and it loads the Acekard RPG menu, that is one of the best !!!
     

Share This Page