NULL

Rough guess on 5.5.0 jailbreak?

Discussion in 'PS4 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Ty_, May 28, 2018.

1. Ty_
    OP

Ty_ GBAtemp Fan

May 22, 2018
    United Kingdom
    I'm really new to PS4 hacking and currently getting up to speed, but I'll try to keep the noob questions to a minimum.

My understanding is the time taken to go from the release of 5.0.5 firmware to exploit was about 4 months. My PS4 is currently on 5.5.0 so I've missed the boat with the latest jailbreak. I'm wondering how long the exploit for 5.5.0 will take to develop, though I understand it's "as long as it takes" so I'm just looking at educated guesses.

I'd assume because the latest exploit went from 4.x to 5.x it's a bigger, more complex step than going from 5.x to another 5.x (i.e 5.0 to 5.5), therefore a longer than usual development time. So would the 5.5 exploit be a shorter wait than this latest one, or is it effectively the same level of complexity?

2. _______

_______  

May 13, 2016
    Japan
    There's no such thing as 'usual development time' for exploits. If they were found and then patched by Sony, and if the devs happen to have time during that period, sure we got homebrew for that version.

Otherwise it could be forever. See how fast Switch homebrew has been going and how dead Xbox One homebrew has been? You got the idea. And stop asking. If you searched here you'd know this has been asked like 5 billion times already.

3. Axido

Axido GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Feb 12, 2014
    Germany
    Mathieulh states that he already has a kexploit in that firmware range, so... well... It could be anything between soon and never.

Hayato213 and Ty_ like this.
  4. mikey420

mikey420 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Dec 11, 2015
    United States