root Android tethering with Nintendo 3DS

Discussion in 'Android' started by stanleyopar2000, Sep 16, 2012.

  1. stanleyopar2000
    OP

    Member stanleyopar2000 The Official GBATEMP Thread Killer. No Mercy.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,927
    Country:
    United States
    've had my phone modded with a leaked ICS AOSP on my HTC Thunderbolt. But since the netflix is broken, I want to watch my netflix on my 3DS. my Verizon phone has unlimited 4G so I would rather use that connection instead of sloth's Sprint's 3g connection. my problem is that....barnacle wifi tether doesn't even work.....while doing the connection test...the blue INTERNET logo doesn't even come up and then says COULD NOT CONNECT.

    now with the newest "wifi tether' from the Play Store..the connection test takes FOREVER to fail. but the during the "test" the grey internet "enabled" window in the corner turns into the blue INTERNET logo for the duration of the test...then it fails. and COULD NOT CONNECT with an error code 003-1101.

    Any advice or settings I need to apply?...I feel like I will have more luck if I try to get it working with Wifi Tether...since barnacle doesn't even respond to it.

    any channel or LAN settings I need to change?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,787
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    ICS has a built-in Wifi tether, try using that one.
     
  3. stanleyopar2000
    OP

    Member stanleyopar2000 The Official GBATEMP Thread Killer. No Mercy.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,927
    Country:
    United States
    hmmmm....that one shows up as a access point, on my computer...but can never connect properly...i'll give it a shot :)
     
  4. Memoir

    Member Memoir Undeserved

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,940
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Country:
    United States
    FoxFi. Worked for me when I had no internet for my 360...
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. The Milkman

    Member The Milkman GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471
    Location:
    Throwing milk at the bitches!
    Country:
    United States
    Look for a thether that emulates (I know its the wrong term, shut up.) a wi-fi connection instead of ad-hoc. 3DS cant accept a ad-hoc connection. Also, isnt Verizon giving you a page to purchase the tethering? Thats what I get anytime I use the 3DS browser to test the connection.
     
  6. stanleyopar2000
    OP

    Member stanleyopar2000 The Official GBATEMP Thread Killer. No Mercy.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,927
    Country:
    United States
    hmm....I'll give that a shot!..and...

    I'm rooted and have an AOSP'd ICS (leaked) thunderbolt. I think I explained how I was "tethering" before lol
     
  7. The Milkman

    Member The Milkman GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471
    Location:
    Throwing milk at the bitches!
    Country:
    United States
    I know, but im saying that using Wi-Fi tether (one of the few tethers with infrastructure, the wi-fi emulation, always gives me that, it works fine, I know it is since I wouldnt get the page if it wasnt working.
     
  8. stanleyopar2000
    OP

    Member stanleyopar2000 The Official GBATEMP Thread Killer. No Mercy.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,927
    Country:
    United States
    thanks!...it works with the built in settings tether even with WPA2 PSK security:D
     
  9. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,787
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    No problem. I remember having to use my phone to tether my 3DS and it worked then.
     
  10. slingblade1170

    Member slingblade1170 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    624
    Country:
    United States
    FoxFi works for my 3DS, PC & Xbox 360 and there is no root required. That will be your solution.
     
  11. ColeGingeyRamey

    Member ColeGingeyRamey GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    Iowa
    Country:
    United States
    I got Wifi hotspot & usb tether application to work GREAT! It's not free but apk's are all over for it...
     

Share This Page