ROM .sav

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by lenatej, Sep 11, 2012.

Sep 11, 2012

ROM .sav by lenatej at 2:51 PM (1,375 Views / 0 Likes) 28 replies

  1. lenatej
    OP

    Newcomer lenatej Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hey,
    I've been trying to download a lot of games but they won't work. It always says something like it has to make a sav and when he's done it says this:
    the save data could not be accessed. Please turn the power off and reinsert the DS Game Card.
    Now what do i have to do?
    I did see that some people had the same problem and they sad to rename it .nds and .sav but that is already there by me. And something about having woods or not but what does that mean?
     


  2. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do the .nds and .sav files have EXACTLY the same filename? Is the .sav file for the exact version of the ROM you have?

    Have you tried this converter? - http://www.shunyweb.info/convert.php
     
  3. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    First things first... What type of flashcart are you using?
     
  4. lenatej
    OP

    Newcomer lenatej Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Netherlands
  5. Whipple

    Member Whipple GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    Second...
    What unit are you using your flashcart in? (DS/DSL/DSi/3DS)

    Have any games ever worked in that flashcart?
    Do you have free space available for the save file on your SD chip?
    Have you formatted your SD chip with a proper (i.e Panasonic) formatter?

    Give us a little more information to go on and we can try to help you out.
     
  6. lenatej
    OP

    Newcomer lenatej Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Netherlands
    in a NDSL
    yes i had a few games that worked ~one of them to just half.
    i have a lot of space left
    whats a formatter:$?

    btw sorry that i didnt give that much information i just dont really know what is important to tell
     
  7. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Which one of the many, many types of R4 are you using? They're not all the same. What does it say on the cart? Is there a website on the box?

    Are you using the official firmware (the one on the website) or an unofficial firmware? If so, which one and which version?
     
  8. lenatej
    OP

    Newcomer lenatej Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i honestly have no idea because i can't find the box :$
     
  9. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What about the cart? Does it just say R4? R4 SDHC? R4i? R4 Ultra? R4i SDHC Ultra? Or one of a thousand other variations on the same theme? It's going to be hard to get the games working properly unless we know exactly what type of R4 it is.
     
  10. Vulpes Abnocto

    Former Staff Vulpes Abnocto Drinks, Knows Things

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,600
    Country:
    United States
    I'll field that one.
    This is the formatting tool we recommend

    You should use this to format your microSD card. This prepares the file system properly. You can format your card with many different utilities, but we know that this one works very well.
    You should know that formatting WILL delete all information on your microSD card, so if you have any .sav files you want to keep, back them up before formatting.
     
  11. lenatej
    OP

    Newcomer lenatej Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i just says R4 revulution for DS (NDSL/NDS) on the little card stands SDC/2GB

    -how can i find out without the box :$?
     
  12. EyeZ

    Member EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Check to see what firmware/kernel you are using, you may be able to use Wood.
     
  13. lenatej
    OP

    Newcomer lenatej Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Netherlands
    and how do i find that out?


    `wauw i really know nothing about this stuff:$ thanks guys that your all trying to help me :)
     
  14. EyeZ

    Member EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Put the microSD in your card reader, you'll be able to see all the files and folders on there.

    EDIT: and plug it to your PC (just in case you didn't know)
     
  15. lenatej
    OP

    Newcomer lenatej Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yeah im able to see all my files and folders
     
  16. EyeZ

    Member EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    k, so what you got on there? list everything
     
  17. lenatej
    OP

    Newcomer lenatej Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Netherlands
    folders: moonshl and _system_
    and than just the games
     
  18. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It'd be easier to tell by the sticker. If there's no website printed at the bottom it's most likely an original R4 (1:1 clone).

    In which case you should download Wood R4, backup all your games, format the SD card (see previous posts) and 'install' Wood.
     
  19. EyeZ

    Member EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not quite what i meant, i would of liked it listed exactly what you had on there.

    Anyway, make a backup of your microSD contents and try this firmware to see if it works as i'm still not exactly sure what R4 you have.

    http://filetrip.net/nds-downloads/flashcart-files/download-wood-r4-151-f30587.html

    Put everything from the download onto your microSD
     
  20. lenatej
    OP

    Newcomer lenatej Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Netherlands
    oke ill try that
     

Share This Page