Rip Graphics from Henry Hatsworth?

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Knyaz Vladimir, Oct 7, 2010.

Oct 7, 2010
  1. Knyaz Vladimir
    OP

    Member Knyaz Vladimir 3DS Hacker

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Unconfirmed
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, I have a copy of the game and I'd like to rip the cutscene (and most other) graphics. How do I do so?
     
  2. PeregrinFig

    Member PeregrinFig A miserable little pile of secrets

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    I don't really see how you'd do this with a retail copy. I would say your best bet would be to run the game in an emulator and use screen capturing to rip graphics.
     
  3. rastsan

    Member rastsan 8 baller, Death Wizard

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    tahaxan, ct2, tiled once you dump your game for personal backup purposes.
     
  4. Knyaz Vladimir
    OP

    Member Knyaz Vladimir 3DS Hacker

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Unconfirmed
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, I have it as a ROM. First thing I did. =D Good choice for my Cyclo.

    Anyway, I'll take a look at those.
     
  5. Knyaz Vladimir
    OP

    Member Knyaz Vladimir 3DS Hacker

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Unconfirmed
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry for the double-post, but the files are in some sort of bin file. All of them. So... now what? Reverse engineer them, which is really hard? Crystaltile2 is a douche here, though.
     
  6. rastsan

    Member rastsan 8 baller, Death Wizard

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Actually no ct2 and tiled are still good bets
    Change the atttributes (width height and the bpp)
    The ds typically uses 4bpp 8bpp and nds1 bpp

    I'll take a look tomorrow and see what I can find for you, but Its there you just have to look.
     
  7. Knyaz Vladimir
    OP

    Member Knyaz Vladimir 3DS Hacker

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Unconfirmed
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, I'm trying to get the game's textures, but EVERYTHING is in a bin file. Wow... I'm getting nowhere, other than I got the bins.

    EDIT: Looked around for a bit in the bin file of Lance's portrait. Oh boy, I don't like this encoding method.
     
  8. rastsan

    Member rastsan 8 baller, Death Wizard

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    I am seeing images just need to correct that offset and off you go
    Gba8pp
    ObjH1234 or objV1324
    you may need to change the tile size to view right but alot is there just weind looking.
    Gba8bpp may not work for all the images.

    And this game has slight compression...so that migh be the problem too. that pac foldr uh jeez...
    Time to get yourself an emulator that lets you view the graphics in a seperate window get the size and other aspects form the emulator and possibly a crap load of screenshots.
     
  9. Knyaz Vladimir
    OP

    Member Knyaz Vladimir 3DS Hacker

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Unconfirmed
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah. Does DeSmuME have an option to take a screenshot every time a frame changes?
     
  10. rastsan

    Member rastsan 8 baller, Death Wizard

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    there are a couple that let you save it as an avi.
    I use ideas for that.
    As working from CT2 is just giving me headache...
    Maybe someone else will try and help. Sorry man.

    You should just use the avi capture plugin of Ideas though (Make sure you have plenty of hardrive space the avi gets huge fast)
     
  11. Knyaz Vladimir
    OP

    Member Knyaz Vladimir 3DS Hacker

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Unconfirmed
    Country:
    Canada
    Any results? I still ca't figure out the engineering.
     

Share This Page