1. Sasori

    OP Sasori GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,255
    Country:
    United States
    I have a N3DS XL from Katsukity layjng around gathering dust, and would like to donate it to the cause if anyone is interested in pursuing this project

    I've yet to see anyone mention this in the past and I can presume this is only due to the high cost of these units

    I can of course provide their software and driver's as well
     
    Acyl3n, Spade013 and Spadezilla like this.
  2. Gymnast544

    Gymnast544 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 29, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I'm very very new to this scene, and hence just created an account on gbatemp (I've been on the ds subreddit for a few months), and not super good with electronics, but I've been recently looking into a bit on modding DS lites and possibly creating a capture card for it. For some background, I do a lot more with robotics and designing/programming robots, not electronics. Due my newness, I wouldn't want to receive this due to me not being able to commit time, but if you were able to take good photos of the capture card, I could possibly see what chips are on it and what connections are made, and be able to create some sort of datasheet on it.
     
  3. Spade013

    Spade013 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I do not know much about the ins and outs of programming this, but the main chip is a Xilinx Spartan 3a FPGA (XC3S50A). This is going off the images on the Merki sales page for the capture cards.

    I realize this thread is old, but I'm looking for information on the 3ds capture boards and this came up in my search.
     
    Last edited by Spade013, Mar 16, 2020
  4. davidvkimball

    davidvkimball Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, this has nothing to do with this, but I am *desperate* for your help.

    In your download on this page, you mentioned that if you don't install the drivers first, it's a pain in the butt to uninstall the default MS ones.

    Well I did that... do you have any idea how to uninstall the default MS ones??

    I'd love your help - thank you in advance!
     
  5. Sasori

    OP Sasori GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,255
    Country:
    United States
    The only way I've found is to reinstall windows or use another computer

    I never really figured out how to fix it a better way and their support team was never much help either. Sorry if that wasn’t the answer you where hoping for
     
    davidvkimball likes this.
  6. lemonmaster

    lemonmaster Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Just came across this old thread it seems. I'd love to have a go at it some time if you still have it, i'm really bored stuck inside all day where i've gotten to point of homebrewing my consoles to poking around inside them and looking at their code. :ha:

    Let me know if anything.
     
  7. davidvkimball

    davidvkimball Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you very much for getting back to me! If that's the case that's really a shame because I literally just reinstalled Windows on my PC. I feel like an absolute moron. Shoot! Hope I can find a solution that doesn't require me to reinstall again.
     
  8. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer
    Reporter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    30,956
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    While I could probably sit there and pick through filter lists ( https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/wi...m/filters-used-with-the-video-capture-devices ), drivers (the hardware list will tell you) and whatnot have you tried a virtual machine? https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads and make sure to grab the extension pack.

    You can usually pass through USB straight through to them and ignore the host. Might not be ideal but get one set up and then clone it. Even if somehow updates itself then who cares. You could also go the other way and try Linux; its Cheese program is pretty good stuff (I use it for a few legacy items) and if the card pretends to be a normal webcam of some form then yeah.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Engineering, Reverse, Capture