Hacking Question Restore clean sysNAND and preparing for emuEMMC

Darkrai27

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 21, 2018
Messages
58
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
318
Country
Spain
I have a clean NAND backup from when my switch was completely clean, I think that was 4.0.1, how can I verify it? Now I'm in 6.X, updated through ChoiDojour to add exFAT support. Any guide or thread of how to downgrade again and restore that backup properly? I suppose that my backup is partitioned, because in 4.0.1 switch only supported FAT32 for the sdcard.

Thanks
 

Trekker

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 27, 2018
Messages
45
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
182
Country
Denmark
If you have boot0/1 and either rawnand or SYS and USER, then you don't need to downgrade just restore your NAND.

However did you install AutoRCM before doing that NAND backup?
 

Darkrai27

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 21, 2018
Messages
58
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
318
Country
Spain
If you have boot0/1 and either rawnand or SYS and USER, then you don't need to downgrade just restore your NAND.

However did you install AutoRCM before doing that NAND backup?

I have BOOT0,BOOT1 and rawnand splited in 14 parts. And no, I installed AutoRCM after doing the backup

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Do you have boot0 and boot1 also? Did you turn on autoRCM? How many fuses are burnt?

Yes, I suppose that the same ones than when my NAND was clean, I've been always with autorcm after updating with choidojour, how can I chack it?
 

Kafluke

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
5,474
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
4,478
Country
United States
I have BOOT0,BOOT1 and rawnand splited in 14 parts. And no, I installed AutoRCM after doing the backup

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



Yes, I suppose that the same ones than when my NAND was clean, I've been always with autorcm after updating with choidojour, how can I chack it?
Launch hekate and select print fuses.
 

Shadow LAG

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 10, 2013
Messages
256
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
535
Country
United States
I had a rawnand backup without boot0/1 a few days ago and did exactly what you are wanting to do here.

Identified the version of my rawnand backup using this https://gbatemp.net/threads/firmware-version-inspector-get-fw-version-from-nand-dump.515308/

Performed a new backup of rawnand and boot0/1 in case I needed it.

Downgraded from 8.0.1 to the 4.0.1 using ChoiDojourNX and 4.0.1 update files + factory reset.

Restored 4.0.1 rawnand immediately since new boot0/1 4.0.1 binaries were generated.

Booted in once to sysnand for the first time since rawnand restore and performed update. Only problem is 8.1.0 does not support autoRCM now, so if you are wanting that hold off updating through nintendo servers.
 

Trekker

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 27, 2018
Messages
45
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
182
Country
Denmark
You can merge your rawnand parts with the "copy /b" command in CMD. You'll need a exfat formatted SD card though.
 
Last edited by Trekker,

Slim45

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2018
Messages
154
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
854
Country
United Kingdom
I had a rawnand backup without boot0/1 a few days ago and did exactly what you are wanting to do here.

Identified the version of my rawnand backup using this https://gbatemp.net/threads/firmware-version-inspector-get-fw-version-from-nand-dump.515308/

Performed a new backup of rawnand and boot0/1 in case I needed it.

Downgraded from 8.0.1 to the 4.0.1 using ChoiDojourNX and 4.0.1 update files + factory reset.

Restored 4.0.1 rawnand immediately since new boot0/1 4.0.1 binaries were generated.

Booted in once to sysnand for the first time since rawnand restore and performed update. Only problem is 8.1.0 does not support autoRCM now, so if you are wanting that hold off updating through nintendo servers.
wouldnt just restoring ure 4.1 rawnand boo0/1 do the trick?
 

Darkrai27

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 21, 2018
Messages
58
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
318
Country
Spain
You can merge your rawnand parts with the "copy /b" command in CMD. You'll need a exfat formatted SD card though.

But I need to merge the parts of the rawnand or hekate does it automatically??

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I had a rawnand backup without boot0/1 a few days ago and did exactly what you are wanting to do here.

Identified the version of my rawnand backup using this https://gbatemp.net/threads/firmware-version-inspector-get-fw-version-from-nand-dump.515308/

Performed a new backup of rawnand and boot0/1 in case I needed it.

Downgraded from 8.0.1 to the 4.0.1 using ChoiDojourNX and 4.0.1 update files + factory reset.

Restored 4.0.1 rawnand immediately since new boot0/1 4.0.1 binaries were generated.

Booted in once to sysnand for the first time since rawnand restore and performed update. Only problem is 8.1.0 does not support autoRCM now, so if you are wanting that hold off updating through nintendo servers.

Did you downgraded to 4.0.1 adding exFat support with ChoiDojour?? Or without exFat??
 

Trekker

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 27, 2018
Messages
45
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
182
Country
Denmark
But I need to merge the parts of the rawnand or hekate does it automatically??

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



Did you downgraded to 4.0.1 adding exFat support with ChoiDojour?? Or without exFat??

But why would you downgrade if you have Boot0/1 and rawnand?

You could try to restore with Rawnand parts, but i had trouble restoring USER parts so maybe you will have the same problem.
 
Last edited by Trekker,

Shadow LAG

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 10, 2013
Messages
256
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
535
Country
United States
But I need to merge the parts of the rawnand or hekate does it automatically??

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



Did you downgraded to 4.0.1 adding exFat support with ChoiDojour?? Or without exFat??

You can use your existing BOOT0/1 backup files if you have them and skip the downgrade process altogether by restoring them. I was simply stating how I performed the procedure with rawnand only. Figured that would be useful to you if you had autorcm installed prior to dumping as it can modify your boot files. Hekate should be able to do it automatically. Just remember to make a backup of your existing BOOT0/1 and rawnand

P.S. I use EXFAT firmware with FAT32 formatted SD card.
 
Last edited by Shadow LAG,
  • Like
Reactions: Darkrai27

yoshimashi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2016
Messages
136
Trophies
0
XP
238
Country
United States
Do you have boot0 and boot1 also? Did you turn on autoRCM? How many fuses are burnt?
Is there any way to know if autoRCM was on at the time of backup? I want to do what the thread starter is doing also.. But I can't remember if it was on autorcm or not. I was just following the instructions that was posted sdswitch or something like that so if it didn't mention autorcm before the backup then I wouldn't have clicked on it because I didn't know what autorcm was back then either.
 

Shadow LAG

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 10, 2013
Messages
256
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
535
Country
United States
Is there any way to know if autoRCM was on at the time of backup? I want to do what the thread starter is doing also.. But I can't remember if it was on autorcm or not. I was just following the instructions that was posted sdswitch or something like that so if it didn't mention autorcm before the backup then I wouldn't have clicked on it because I didn't know what autorcm was back then either.
Then just do what I did.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Darkrai27

Darkrai27

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 21, 2018
Messages
58
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
318
Country
Spain
You can use your existing BOOT0/1 backup files if you have them and skip the downgrade process altogether by restoring them. I was simply stating how I performed the procedure with rawnand only. Figured that would be useful to you if you had autorcm installed prior to dumping as it can modify your boot files. Hekate should be able to do it automatically. Just remember to make a backup of your existing BOOT0/1 and rawnand

P.S. I use EXFAT firmware with FAT32 formatted SD card.

Ok, Thanks!
 

Shadow LAG

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 10, 2013
Messages
256
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
535
Country
United States
I assume if too many fuses are already burnt it won't work?
Fuse count is ignored by bootloader payloads such as hekate or sxos. Won't matter for the downgrade / restore at all as long as BOOT0/1 are for the same firmware version as your NAND image.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Veho @ Veho:
    As part of some course or other.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I forgot to list Assembler, Pascal and Matlab scripting.
    Gift
  • phalk @ phalk:
    I know some pascal, c, php
    Gift
  • phalk @ phalk:
    and I'm a History teacher
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Went over the basics in all of them, never took it anywhere.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I do use bash for my job though. It's useful.
    Gift
  • phalk @ phalk:
    Assembler is something I always wanted to learn
    Gift
  • phalk @ phalk:
    but.... nah
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    No point really.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Even the simplest device these days runs some sort of high level language.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Veho all the IT stuff i've learned in school has been extremely basic... i knew most of it already
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it's better to learn on your own, it goes much faster than the snail pace they teach you at in school
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembly is actually great, gets you to run everything about 80% faster than C massaged code
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembler syntax is dead easy, but "how to put pieces together" logic requires to have in mind the original idea, and the CPU layout, and that's like double the work of C stuff. It's best to write C first, add some unit tests, then go assembly, then run the unit tests
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it can run faster than compiled code, but modern compilers are really good at optimization and you need to be even better at assembly to do a better job
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    with that all your assembler base will actually work
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    even on embedded systems, without a damned debugger
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    syntax is easy but the code is hard to read, you can't look at a piece of code and expect to understand it without looking at all the code around it to see how it all works together so it takes much longer to read the code, it takes longer to write it too because what might be 1 line of code in C might be 20 lines of assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the language is very simple to understand (because it's barely a language at all) understanding how all the instructions work together to form a whole is another matter, in general it's such a pain to work with that i would never recommend it unless you have a need for it. don't listen to this guy and learn assembly just because you want to make your code run faster, you are wasting your time, but if you run into a situation where your code isn't fast enough even after you enabled -Ofast and you NEED it to be faster, then you can consider assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Coto have you tried -Ofast btw? ;)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I have o fast before but I suspect we are talking different Os lol
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    @The Real Jdbye quite idiotic and frankly, bu
    llshit points as usual you make. Not only because you have no idea what you're talking about, but also because there is proof (both i've seen and maintained) in regards to C and hand-written assembler code, and the speed gain is simply over half the framerate.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    gbaemu4ds's C ARM and THUMB CPU emulator and GBARunner2's ARM and THUMB handcoded assembly. Just run Yoshi's Island GBA and compare it by yourself.
    Gift
    Coto @ Coto: gbaemu4ds's C ARM and THUMB CPU emulator and GBARunner2's ARM and THUMB handcoded assembly. Just...