ROM Hack [request] Smash 4 Undub

Sliter

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
3,258
Trophies
0
Location
ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ
XP
1,682
Country
Brazil
Hello!
I Looked for but I didin't find anything so I'm asking for it, or someway I could do, then I would let it there for everyone's use (This remind when I tried for SSBMelee and Brawl but failed OTL if I could get a hand here too lol).
 

ubergeek77

Post editing world champ.
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2014
Messages
584
Trophies
0
XP
587
Country
United States
Have you seen smealum's regionthree demo? Linky.

As you can see, the Japanese version of Sm4sh runs in English if it detects an English system. I don't know if it changes the voices as well, though; perhaps you've tried that already. But if it does change the voices, it would means the files for both the Japanese and English voices are on the same cart. Hopefully it would be easier to make an undub in that case.

EDIT: I watchted through the end of the video, and the English announcer voice is definitely being used. Smealum didn't play through enough to hear any additional character voices, but I think it's pretty safe to assume those are from the English dub too.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sliter

Sliter

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
3,258
Trophies
0
Location
ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ
XP
1,682
Country
Brazil
Have you seen smealum's regionthree demo? Linky.

As you can see, the Japanese version of Sm4sh runs in English if it detects an English system. I don't know if it changes the voices as well, though; perhaps you've tried that already. But if it does change the voices, it would means the files for both the Japanese and English voices are on the same cart. Hopefully it would be easier to make an undub in that case.

I didn't tried because I don't have a retail smahs4 yet (and I plan to get a japanese one XD) but I think it would change the voices if, like if you let your system in spanish or french, it will change the game language and dubs .. so maybe the japanese sound are there but not acessible ...

Funny that in JP and US smash DX/melle there are folder for elgsh and japanese audio (even the characters with same voice I think..) but with the Iso explorer I found, I can't replace it because the size file isn't the same õ3o and I didin't find any other easy tool to help me here XD know anything?
 

ubergeek77

Post editing world champ.
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2014
Messages
584
Trophies
0
XP
587
Country
United States
Why not just play the Japanese version of the game? Sure, most of the text is in Japanese, but if you have played enough of the English version, it shouldn't be too much of a problem navigating through the menus.
Unless you want to be able to read the tips, trophies, etc.

Playing a Japanese copy is not a solution. As you can see from the video I linked above, the Japanese copy of Smash will only run in Japanese if it is on a Japanese system. If any other region is detected, it will run in English (assuming there are no other voice dubs to match additional regions outside of Japan). Because the game will automatically change the text and voice dubs depending on the system being used, simply using the Japanese game will accomplish nothing. The only solution is to create an undub by modifying the files within the game, which can perhaps then be used on the English "mode" of the Japanese game.
 
  • Like
Reactions: UraKn0x

LinkmstrYT

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Messages
1,732
Trophies
1
Location
You wanted to see where I live? You stalker...
XP
2,895
Country
United States
This will not help. As you can see from the video I linked above, the Japanese copy of Smash will only run in Japanese if it is on a Japanese system. Because it will change the text and voice files depending on the system being used, the only solution is to create an undub by modifying the files within the game.

But here's the thing: To play undubbed games, you need a Gateway (maybe MT-Card) to play modified roms.

Also, I assumed that OP had Gateway (or MT-Card) and just wanted to play Smash Bros. undubbed. So if OP doesn't have a Gateway, then they're kind of out of luck. Unless, they also plan on getting a Japanese 3DS.
 

Sliter

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
3,258
Trophies
0
Location
ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ
XP
1,682
Country
Brazil
Why not just play the Japanese version of the game? Sure, most of the text is in Japanese, but if you have played enough of the English version, it shouldn't be too much of a problem navigating through the menus.
Unless you want to be able to read the tips, trophies, etc.

actually the idea is playing in english/other languages texts and the original audio
Also I would like to make some tests like a fandub in another langauge later if possible õ3o
 

Sliter

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
3,258
Trophies
0
Location
ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ
XP
1,682
Country
Brazil
But here's the thing: To play undubbed games, you need a Gateway (maybe MT-Card) to play modified roms.

Also, I assumed that OP had Gateway (or MT-Card) and just wanted to play Smash Bros. undubbed. So if OP doesn't have a Gateway, then they're kind of out of luck. Unless, they also plan on getting a Japanese 3DS.

I have a gateway, it arrived today xD
and I plan to get a japanese n3DS but these are future plans ... I'm brokem right now lol
 

LinkmstrYT

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Messages
1,732
Trophies
1
Location
You wanted to see where I live? You stalker...
XP
2,895
Country
United States
actually the idea is playing in english/other languages texts and the original audio
Also I would like to make some tests like a fandub in another langauge later if possible õ3o

The next question is: Do you have a Gateway? You don't need to use smealum's regionthree method since Gateway is already region-free and can run modified roms (like undubs, fan-translations, etc.).

Well, then. You're kind of set. You just need to find a way to switch the audio files.
 

ubergeek77

Post editing world champ.
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2014
Messages
584
Trophies
0
XP
587
Country
United States
The next question is: Do you have a Gateway? You don't need to use smealum's regionthree method since Gateway is already region-free and can run modified roms (like undubs, fan-translations, etc.).

And surely you can agree that such a patch for Smash, which is what OP is requesting, does not currently exist.
 

Sliter

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
3,258
Trophies
0
Location
ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ
XP
1,682
Country
Brazil
oh well I made some discovery here but I still need acess to some thing and I'm really bad at this =A=
the region three boot japanese smash in english, I noticed the audio is of the english version ( the narrator says " free for all" instead of " Battle Royal" ) so maybe the US version have the japanese audio and text? if yes just need to rename it ...
I found one decripted rom of US version ... should nice do on the european one, then we can have undub with more menu languages xD
I can't decript a rom myself because my sistem is 9.2 and I'm afraid of downgrading :x

well, the music files are in ".nus3bank" format, even the bgm are like that, so if we can convert it in and back we can have custom music xD
the file where are the voices are named "dt", how to open it ?
I really don't know about coding so I can't do a program for it .. it should be easy for someone that know what are doing .3.

also, TCRF have alred dug this game and found unused content so how they did it? D: here the page have fun XD
https://tcrf.net/Super_Smash_Bros._for_Nintendo_3DS

I know it not really much usefull but is wat I could do =w=
 

LinkmstrYT

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Messages
1,732
Trophies
1
Location
You wanted to see where I live? You stalker...
XP
2,895
Country
United States
I can't decript a rom myself because my sistem is 9.2 and I'm afraid of downgrading :x

There's really nothing to be afraid of. I mean, there hasn't been a major incident where people failed to downgrade. You can always restore your 3DS's NAND back to 9.2 by holding the D-Pad button "Up" while choosing the Downgrade option on Gateway Menu. It'll bring you to the restore menu and you can restore your 3DS NAND back to 9.2.

I've done this like four times and had no problems, whatsoever. Although, your retail cart saves won't work anymore if you downgrade since they have the 6.X save encryption.

Also, do you need to downgrade to decrypt roms? I don't seem to recall that you need to be on 4.X to decrypt roms...
 

Sliter

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
3,258
Trophies
0
Location
ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ
XP
1,682
Country
Brazil
There's really nothing to be afraid of. I mean, there hasn't been a major incident where people failed to downgrade. You can always restore your 3DS's NAND back to 9.2 by holding the D-Pad button "Up" while choosing the Downgrade option on Gateway Menu. It'll bring you to the restore menu and you can restore your 3DS NAND back to 9.2.

I've done this like four times and had no problems, whatsoever. Although, your retail cart saves won't work anymore if you downgrade since they have the 6.X save encryption.

Also, do you need to downgrade to decrypt roms? I don't seem to recall that you need to be on 4.X to decrypt roms...

well my insecurity is about doing something cray between sysnand and emunand, I still leraning about these XD or lost some content or ger stuk someway... idk ..
and well the only place I found how o do xorpads ( if I uderstand right, it's the decripted rom ? XD) was in this .3ds to cia tutorial
http://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial-converting-3ds-to-cia-for-dummies.373722/
And there say to use the 3DS in 4.x
but the most importar part is seeing the files (or listening the audio lol) that I don't know how to XD
 

LinkmstrYT

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Messages
1,732
Trophies
1
Location
You wanted to see where I live? You stalker...
XP
2,895
Country
United States
well my insecurity is about doing something cray between sysnand and emunand, I still leraning about these XD or lost some content or ger stuk someway... idk ..
and well the only place I found how o do xorpads ( if I uderstand right, it's the decripted rom ? XD) was in this .3ds to cia tutorial
http://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial-converting-3ds-to-cia-for-dummies.373722/
And there say to use the 3DS in 4.x
but the most importar part is seeing the files (or listening the audio lol) that I don't know how to XD

That guide hasn't been updated since November 23, 2014... And Gateway 3.0 Ultra was released back in January 9, 2015. So yeah, I'm sure that guide now works for users with a 3DS on 5.X-9.2 and a Gateway.
 

Sliter

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
3,258
Trophies
0
Location
ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ
XP
1,682
Country
Brazil
That guide hasn't been updated since November 23, 2014... And Gateway 3.0 Ultra was released back in January 9, 2015. So yeah, I'm sure that guide now works for users with a 3DS on 5.X-9.2 and a Gateway.

nice! xD but I'm in 9.2 :v
btw I found this topic but I had forgot about it XD
https://gbatemp.net/threads/super-smash-bros-3ds-decryption.379370/
Someoe posted files to let you mess with the archives .... but how to use then?:v
edit: I found that about decript but not sure if legit
http://www.maxconsole.com/news/DS/3DS-ROM-Decrypter-ToolSet-Released-RKSID00000000000000002230.html
 

LinkmstrYT

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Messages
1,732
Trophies
1
Location
You wanted to see where I live? You stalker...
XP
2,895
Country
United States
nice! xD but I'm in 9.2 :v
I did say and I quote: "So yeah, I'm sure that guide now works for users with a 3DS on 5.X-9.2 and a Gateway." So yeah, you're fine.
btw I found this topic but I had forgot about it XD
https://gbatemp.net/threads/super-smash-bros-3ds-decryption.379370/
Someoe posted files to let you mess with the archives .... but how to use then?:v
edit: I found that about decript but not sure if legit
http://www.maxconsole.com/news/DS/3DS-ROM-Decrypter-ToolSet-Released-RKSID00000000000000002230.html
Well, I was never really interested in decrypting roms, so I can't help you there. Maxconsole is the"official" forums for Gateway support and other stuff.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3N1 @ K3N1: The "annoying" Jdbye