Regular GBATemp Lurker
OP
Trophies
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
Country
OK.. first some background...
I've got a DHD, that originally had Froyo on it - but I went ahead & did a OTA update the Gingerbread - then realize I lost my 'Visionary+' root

Because of this I then found out I have to downgrade, temp/perm root, S-off the phone - & despite the guide here - I never succeeded (the guide originally had 'Gingerbreak' as the program & not 'fre3vo')

I did find this guide which actually worked (although I didn't do the 'Titanium Backup' or 'Flash recovery with ClockworkMod' sections) - & I managed to downgrade, temp/perm root & by using this I 'S-off' (note: I didn't use ENG S-Off though) my phone...... the thing is, being a total newbie on rooting/custom ROMs etc, I didn't know that by doing a OTA update - I would block any 'Superuser' features

So that the situation I have now - a phone with s-off, but no 'root'/'superuser access' running the stock Gingerbread ROM for the DesireHD

I guess that I have to now re-downgrade again...(I DON'T think I'll have to temp/perm root it though - can some1 confirm this)... BUT I MIGHT have to use ENG S-Off( but I thought this is for a different 'radio' - whatever THAT is !!), then install a Custom ROM that has root/superuser access

The problem is - there's so many custom ROM's to choose from I haven't a clue to what so good about them

There's terms used on these ROMS I've got no idea about (what the HELL is 'V® I/O'/'Zipaligned'/'SLQB Memory Management'/'CIFS & CIFS Manager' etc), & do I REALLY need 'Sense 3' or the CPU 'sped up'...or any of the numerous apps (e.g 'Busybox' ??)
All I want is root access so that I can install apps like 'adfree','droidwall' & 'screenshot' - I'm no fusses about anything else really

Should I go for a 'customised stock ROM' like 'Gingerbread & Seraphic Custom' or go for a all singing/all dancing one like 'Android Revolution' or 'LeeDroid HD', or what about 'CyanogenMod' ?? - I just have no idea.....