[REQ] To DesireHD users with Custom (rooted) ROMs

Discussion in 'Android' started by CannonFoddr, Aug 4, 2011.

1. CannonFoddr
    OP

Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

United Kingdom
    OK.. first some background...
    I've got a DHD, that originally had Froyo on it - but I went ahead & did a OTA update the Gingerbread - then realize I lost my 'Visionary+' root

Because of this I then found out I have to downgrade, temp/perm root, S-off the phone - & despite the guide here - I never succeeded (the guide originally had 'Gingerbreak' as the program & not 'fre3vo')

I did find this guide which actually worked (although I didn't do the 'Titanium Backup' or 'Flash recovery with ClockworkMod' sections) - & I managed to downgrade, temp/perm root & by using this I 'S-off' (note: I didn't use ENG S-Off though) my phone...... the thing is, being a total newbie on rooting/custom ROMs etc, I didn't know that by doing a OTA update - I would block any 'Superuser' features

So that the situation I have now - a phone with s-off, but no 'root'/'superuser access' running the stock Gingerbread ROM for the DesireHD

I guess that I have to now re-downgrade again...(I DON'T think I'll have to temp/perm root it though - can some1 confirm this)... BUT I MIGHT have to use ENG S-Off( but I thought this is for a different 'radio' - whatever THAT is !!), then install a Custom ROM that has root/superuser access

The problem is - there's so many custom ROM's to choose from I haven't a clue to what so good about them

There's terms used on these ROMS I've got no idea about (what the HELL is 'V® I/O'/'Zipaligned'/'SLQB Memory Management'/'CIFS & CIFS Manager' etc), & do I REALLY need 'Sense 3' or the CPU 'sped up'...or any of the numerous apps (e.g 'Busybox' ??)
    All I want is root access so that I can install apps like 'adfree','droidwall' & 'screenshot' - I'm no fusses about anything else really