Hacking rename program

jaywilson

OP
Trophies
Website
www.nes-media.com
XP
Country
I have alot of roms on my msd, and at the moment its really un organised because some roms are named different
example,
some like this,
2939 - Guitar Hero On Tour Decades (E)(DiPLODOCUS).nds

some like this,
diplodocus-korgds10.nds

some like this,
XMS-PHSE.NDS

Is there a program that could rename them to say,

2939 - Guitar Hero On Tour Decades (E)(DiPLODOCUS).nds

to

Guitar Hero On Tour Decades.nds
and the .savs aswell,

so there all organised,
as you can see im not good at explaining.

Vague Rant

Deceptively cute
Trophies
Website
vaguerant.tumblr.com
XP
Country
Renaming from the internal name would be silly, the internal names are horribly disorganised themselves; some in all caps, some with special characters to make them look fancier. Get something like OfflineList or NdsCRC and use one of the Advanscene dats (for OfflineList, you probably want the Collection dat, which includes stuff like kiosk demos and Club Nintendo exclusives) to do your renaming. You can even set them up to name ROMs based on whatever syntax you like. For example, in OfflineList, if you entered the following:
Code:
%e - %n %o(%g)
The name would come out like "2939 - Guitar Hero On Tour Decades (E)(DiPLODOCUS).nds". To name them the way you're after, you'd just enter this:
Code:
%n
Which will name your ROM "Guitar Hero On Tour Decades.nds". That might cause problems though if you have the same game from multiple regions for any reason; they'd both be trying to use the same filename.