Removing original disc channel from Wii Menu

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by swift22, Jul 15, 2010.

Jul 15, 2010
  1. swift22
    OP

    Newcomer swift22 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Romania
    Is that possible? If so, how?

    Thanks,

    Swift22
     
  2. dmonkey21

    Member dmonkey21 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    United States
    Idk if it's pozzible to completely remove it, but with priiloader you can enable a hack to move it, and put it out of sight on the last page of your channels

    I might be completely wrong as I don't know how people create preloader hacks, but I imagine one could be made to remove the disc channel... again this is all presumption based on the fact that other priiloader hacks can disable/alter major, important components of the system menu such as wifi, updates, and the backmenu.
     
  3. swift22
    OP

    Newcomer swift22 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Romania
    Just moving it out of sight is fine aswell. I'll check priiloader out, thanks.
     
  4. XLarge

    Member XLarge GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    239
    Country:
    Belgium
    why the f*ck would you want to do that
     
  5. demon33

    Member demon33 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    Canada
    lol
    ^^+1
     
  6. wilsoff

    Member wilsoff GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    292
    Country:
    United States
    I've thought about it. My laser is knackered, so I can't use the disc channel anymore - might as well be gone. Viva la USB!
     
  7. dn_angel000

    Member dn_angel000 Phantom User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Country:
    United States
    Then send it 2 Nintendo 2 get it fixed!! lol If u do that then make sure it's ur Wii that's getting sent back 2 u and not 1 that has the D3-2 drive in it!! lol
    Write down ur Wii's serieal # on a piece of paper just in case!! lol
     
  8. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    And be prepared to pay a hefty fine if you installed homebrew...cheaper and better to install your own drives.
     
  9. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    Nintendo do not charge extra if they find homebrew, they simply refuse to fix it and send it back.
     
  10. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,653
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    and probably with 4.3 on it as well if they decide to fix it. just buy a new drive, they are like $40 bucks on ebay, or screw it all and go all usb. thats what i plan to do, a disc hasn't gone in my drive for months. only did to try to get rb2 customs working.
     
  11. --=ZerO=--

    Member --=ZerO=-- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    271
    Country:
    Germany
    You have to send a form with the problem of your Wii, your adress, date of buy and serial to Nintendo
    and you will get back this form incl. the right Wii. I sent mine 2 months ago. Before, I made an unmod an initialized my Wii.
    After i got it back, i recovered my Nand with the help of bootmii... No problem.
     
  12. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    You sure about that? There have been several reports of $200 bills for them finding homebrew...were they all fake?
     
  13. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
  14. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Ah. Thanks for that. I wasn't aware those were all EU reports.

    I'm in the USA, but never had to send my wii in (it had very light use until USB loaders came out), so I don't know.
     
  15. dmonkey21

    Member dmonkey21 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    United States
    It's not that unreasonable to move the disc channel... With a softmodded Wii there is really no reason to keep the disc channel, especially if your laser isn't working. Even if your laser was working, you might want to get rid of the disc channel because you could simply use a geckoOS or NeoGamma forwarder instead...
     
  16. bwillb

    Member bwillb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    United States
    personally I've just set priiloader to load straight into CFGUSB when I turn the Wii on [​IMG] have all my usb games, access to disc load within the loader... and if I want to access wiiware games or emulators I just hit home and it takes me to the system menu where my disc channel is on the last page [​IMG]
     

Share This Page