Removing iphone info for AT&T?

Discussion in 'iPhone, iPod & iPad' started by Gagarin, Aug 12, 2011.

Aug 12, 2011

Removing iphone info for AT&T? by Gagarin at 3:48 AM (2,460 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Gagarin
    OP

    Member Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I was enjoying my iphone until I got a text message from AT&T (becouse you have a smart phone, it requires data plan). I bought it from Craigslist and I didn't need a data plan for it (I used Wi-fi).
    So is there any Cydia app to hide my iphone from carrier?
     
  2. Dangy

    Member Dangy Twisting Your Mind & Smashing Your Dreams

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,391
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, that's bullshit. If you're not using their 3G, why should you have to pay?
     
  3. Gagarin
    OP

    Member Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Actually that what it says in an agreement. I don't know how they found out that I have iphone.
     
  4. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,912
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    There used to be a way to disguise your iPhone as another kind of phone, but it's so outdated that it wouldn't work these days. It used to be that you could get an iPhone from somewhere else and AT&T wouldn't notice. I'm hearing more and more about peoples' iPhones being noticed. I have a friend who bought an iPhone from somewhere else, but his friend's girlfriend (who worked at AT&T) snooped around in his account and saw this. She tacked on the data plan and got rewarded for it. There seems to be a major incentive to find iPhones without data plans. This is why I have an iPod Touch.
     
  5. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't know much about US tariffs and policies... But can't you switch provider?
     
  6. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Not here. Legally, the GSM iPhone should only be on AT&T. Software and hardware hacks however allow it to be used on T-Mobile. I would just terminate the service if you're not using their 3G or EDGE.
     
  7. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    verizon does the same thing
    they wont activate any smart phone unless you purchase a data plan along with it
     
  8. 0ddity

    Member 0ddity GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Can't you just remove the SIM?
     
  9. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    then you cant use it as a phone anymore...
    I dont think it will even boot
     
  10. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    If the device has been activated on a network previously, then it will work fine without a SIM card (obviously excluding cellular calls or data). There are also workarounds for arbitrarily activating the device without ever having a SIM card.
     
  11. Jotokun

    Member Jotokun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunetly, AT&T's policy is that if you have a recognized smartphone, you have a data plan. Its complete crap, but except for T-Mobile all the other carriers do the same so they can get away with it. They detected you based on your phone's IMEI number, which is a unique number assigned to each cell phone made. When a phone company wants to get a certain model phone on a carrier, part of the agreement is that they give every IMEI number for that model to the carrier so they can detect what phones a user may be using. This is why some people can get away with importing certian Android phones and use them in the US without data plans.

    IF and ONLY IF you have an iPhone 2G AND are willing to downgrade to iOS 2.X, there is a hack to change your IMEI number, although its of grey area legality. If you take this route, make sure you change it to the IMEI of a dumbphone that IS NOT and WILL NOT EVER AGAIN be in service or YOU WILL get caught. Otherwise, your only hope for running without a data plan is to unlock it and get service with T-Mobile. Doing so will make you loose 3G capability, but if your not using any data that shouldnt matter.
     
  12. dsrules

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,298
    Country:
    @Gagarin, how long have you been using the iPhone before they send you the message?

    I've been using one (got it from a friend) for 2 weeks and still no message from AT&T. Hope I'm safe [​IMG]
     
  13. Gagarin
    OP

    Member Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I got it for a year, and I got the message two month ago [​IMG]
     

Share This Page