Homebrew [Release] TemperPCE for 3DS

Parallax2814

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 8, 2017
Messages
78
Trophies
0
XP
68
Country
Canada
Hi Parallax, would you be so kind as to upload a video of how badly the sound squealing?

Also, do let me know a little more:
- Are you using the latest version (v0.91)?
- Is the squealing something like a blip that happens many times per second?
- What is the SD card that you are using - a slow card may cause the emulator to read the CD audio too slowly to be generated... causing the emulator the stretch the sound (causing it too sound lower in frequency).
- Can you try to enable frame skipping (1 frames), and enable idle loop patching to see if it helps?

Hi Bubble2k16,

Here is the link for the video (please let me know if it doesn't work):

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-R6fhurU6-kQWtWZEt2QUYyOEU/view?usp=sharing

----

And to answer your questions:

1) Yes I am running v.91

2) It's a constant screeching noise that sounds like static.

3) The SD card I am using is a Sandisk Ultra 32GB microSDHC UHS-1 (Speed Class 10) rated for up to 80MB per second.

4) I had frameskip already enabled to max 1 frame. I tried playing around with the CPU core settings, idle loop patching and all the frame skip settings. None helped.

-----

This may or may not be important, but the game I'm running was originally archived as a .rar file. I unpacked the .rar (which contains 2 iso's and several wave files, along with a .cue and .toc file) into my folder where my other TG16 games are. When I start up the emulator, I select the cue file and results are as seen in the video.

Edit: Once I get past the animated intros, the game select/name select screen music is also staticky and screeching just like at startup. Once actually playing the game and controlling Richter, there is only sound effects and voices. There is no music playing whatsoever.

Edit 2: Also there is a graphical glitch when Richter is walking around. And when you get to the part in game after you are chased by that big bull, you can go down stairs to where some Merman enemies are. Richter turns all blue while in that particular area. Not sure if it's the emulator causing that or something wrong in the game files. I've attached a picture.

Edit 3: I just tried a different version of the original Japanese release and Richter is blue in the exact same spot as seen in the picture, and his sprite flickers when moving as in the other version I played. So I'm thinking it's not the game files, but the emulator causing the issue?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_5690.JPG
    IMG_5690.JPG
    1.3 MB · Views: 568
Last edited by Parallax2814,

arianadark

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2016
Messages
717
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
1,425
Country
United States
your using the wrong version of the game mine looks like this and doesnt have any sound issues like yours have, as for the graphical issue you have i have it too.
upload_2017-7-4_19-26-56.png
 
Last edited by arianadark,

Parallax2814

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 8, 2017
Messages
78
Trophies
0
XP
68
Country
Canada
your using the wrong version of the game mine looks like this and doesnt have any sound issues like yours have, as for the graphical issue you have i have it too. View attachment 92042

There are multiple versions of the game available on that iso site. I have a semi-translated version that works like your does, but the translation isn't 100% and it doesn't have sound issues either. (I also have the same version that you do too, but I like to be able to read and hear and actually understand what characters are saying.)

The 100% translation is stated as saying it's for both hardware use (burning to a cd and being put in a device) and emulation use (software emulation), so there shouldn't be any reason why TemperPCE can't read the files correctly unless there is a bug somewhere.

Oh and @bubble2k16, I am also on N3DS and I also get full speed, other than the staticky sound issues.
 
Last edited by Parallax2814,

bubble2k16

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2016
Messages
467
Trophies
0
XP
2,089
Country
Senegal
There are multiple versions of the game available on that iso site. I have a semi-translated version that works like your does, but the translation isn't 100% and it doesn't have sound issues either. (I also have the same version that you do too, but I like to be able to read and hear and actually understand what characters are saying.)

The 100% translation is stated as saying it's for both hardware use (burning to a cd and being put in a device) and emulation use (software emulation), so there shouldn't be any reason why TemperPCE can't read the files correctly unless there is a bug somewhere.

Oh and @bubble2k16, I am also on N3DS and I also get full speed, other than the staticky sound issues.

Thanks for uploading the video. Now I get a better idea of what the problem is. Yes, with that kind of squealing, it may be a bug with the handling of ISO/WAVs as @Vamosi has pointed out, or maybe the original source codes doesn't handle it. I'll get a look at it if I find some time... Meanwhile if the original author Exophase has some advice, I'd be happy to hear it.

The sprite flickering problem has been reported before. I have a semi-fix for it I think, but I'll publish it once it's a little more stable. As for the sprite of Richter turning white... it could be a result of using hardware acceleration to render sprites. I wouldn't know until I look into it. Hope I can squeeze out some time this or next week.
 
Last edited by bubble2k16,

piratesephiroth

I wish I could read
Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2013
Messages
3,459
Trophies
1
Age
101
XP
2,956
Country
Brazil
Since we're talking about Rondo of Blood, I come here to report that if we use the fast CPU core, the emulator freezes when the holy water bottle shatters after we throw it.

5vxIvP1.gif



SQNAxLo.png
 
Last edited by piratesephiroth,

ArugulaZ

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
674
Trophies
0
XP
1,066
Country
United States
It runs the 15-in-1 Collection (VIC-20 games) pretty slowly.
(You're the only one who cares.)
(Yeah, I know...)
Runs Bonk's Revenge like a charm on a New 3DS, though! Thanks for yet another great emulator! Too bad we don't have anyone on the Vita side of things making non-RetroArch emulators.
 
Last edited by ArugulaZ,

SaffronXL

The Grand Galactic Inquisitor
Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2016
Messages
346
Trophies
0
XP
994
Country
United States
Not sure if this has been reported, but all the PCE ROMS I've tried so far have pretty bad sound lag, I'd estimate about .2 seconds. It is very obvious on Devil's Crush, while Retroarch/Mednafen doesn't seem to have any sound lag at all. Everything else is working great, though, thank you!
 
Last edited by SaffronXL,

Asaki

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
275
Country
United States
Is there no support for ISO/MP3/CUE? I just get "Hmm... unable to load ROM."

There might be something wrong with the CUE file though, I'll have to mess with it later. I don't have a lot of SD space available for 1:1 BIN/CUE.
 
Last edited by Asaki,

bubble2k16

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2016
Messages
467
Trophies
0
XP
2,089
Country
Senegal
Since we're talking about Rondo of Blood, I come here to report that if we use the fast CPU core, the emulator freezes when the holy water bottle shatters after we throw it.

I see. It seems that the current version of the fast core has some instabilities. That, or something went wrong with the port. I suggest using the original core for now.

It runs the 15-in-1 Collection (VIC-20 games) pretty slowly.
(You're the only one who cares.)
(Yeah, I know...)
Runs Bonk's Revenge like a charm on a New 3DS, though! Thanks for yet another great emulator! Too bad we don't have anyone on the Vita side of things making non-RetroArch emulators.

Yea, I guess I won't spend too much time fixing it. And make sure you use the original core. :)

Not sure if this has been reported, but all the PCE ROMS I've tried so far have pretty bad sound lag, I'd estimate about .2 seconds. It is very obvious on Devil's Crush, while Retroarch/Mednafen doesn't seem to have any sound lag at all. Everything else is working great, though, thank you!

That's odd. It works ok for me. Did you put into sleep mode before the sound lag starts to appear? If there's bad lag, usually tapping the bottom screen and resuming again re-syncs the sound again. Do try it and see if it helps.

In a future add street fighter 2 6 button mode?.

Will try when I get the time... :)

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Releasing a v1.00b (beta version):

Some of the fixes:
1. Castlevania's flickering sprite problem.
2. Support for the 6 SGX games. (You must ensure that the SGX rom must have the "SGX" in the filename!)
 

Attachments

  • temperpce-v1.00b.zip
    1.3 MB · Views: 370

Shebby289

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jun 22, 2017
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
25
Country
Malaysia
Just wanted to thank you again for taking the time to push this release! Was actually waiting for the fix before continuing my playthrough of Rondo of Blood so seeing this was a great start to my day. :)
 

orochi115

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2013
Messages
157
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
192
Country
Switzerland
I'm very confused of various dumps of the CD-Rom system cards.
I made a list of crc32 checksums:
Code:
31cc5649 ./PC Engine CD-Rom System BIOS (1988)(NEC Home Electronics)(WD)/BIOS/PC Engine CD-Rom System BIOS (1988)(NEC Home Electronics)(WD) - [Syscard1].pce
31cc5649 ./mess/old/CD-ROM System Ver. 1.00 (J).pce

3f9f95a4 ./mame/hash/[cd] cd-rom system (japan) (v1.0).pce

36f26877 ./System_Card_Pack/System Card Pack/CD-ROM System V1.00 (J).pce
36f26877 ./PCE/PCE CD-ROM System/CD-ROM System V1.00.pce
36f26877 ./PC Engine CD-Rom System BIOS (1988)(NEC Home Electronics)(WD)/BIOS/PC Engine CD-Rom System BIOS (1988)(NEC Home Electronics)(WD) - [V1.00].pce
36f26877 ./PCE_System_Card_1/SYSCARD1.PCE

5c01c82b ./PCE/PCE CD-ROM System/CD-ROM System V2.00.pce
5c01c82b ./PC Engine CD-Rom System BIOS (1988)(NEC Home Electronics)(WD)/BIOS/PC Engine CD-Rom System BIOS (1988)(NEC Home Electronics)(WD) - [V2.00][Syscard2].pce
5c01c82b ./mess/old/CD-ROM System Ver. 2.00 (J).pce

52520bc6 ./mame/hash/[cd] cd-rom system (japan) (v2.0).pce

a0bcce2d ./mess/old/CD-ROM System Ver. 2.00 (U).pce

d634d931 ./System_Card_Pack/System Card Pack/CD-ROM System V2.01 (U).pce
d634d931 ./PCE/PCE CD-ROM System/CD-ROM System V2.01.pce
d634d931 ./PC Engine CD-Rom System BIOS (1988)(NEC Home Electronics)(WD)/BIOS/PC Engine CD-Rom System BIOS (1988)(NEC Home Electronics)(WD) - [V2.01].pce
d634d931 ./PCE_System_Card_2/syscard2.pce

283b74e0 ./mame/hash/[cd] cd-rom system (japan) (v2.1).pce

2668b70d ./System_Card_Pack/System Card Pack/CD-ROM System V2.10 (J).pce
2668b70d ./PCE/PCE CD-ROM System/CD-ROM System V2.10.pce
2668b70d ./PC Engine CD-Rom System BIOS (1988)(NEC Home Electronics)(WD)/BIOS/PC Engine CD-Rom System BIOS (1988)(NEC Home Electronics)(WD) - [V2.10].pce
2668b70d ./mess/old/CD-ROM System Ver. 2.10 (J).pce

cfc02772 ./mess/old/CD-ROM System Ver. 2.10 (J) (hacked to report V1).pce

64f78e3c ./System_Card_Pack/System Card Pack/Super CD-ROM2 System V3.00 (J).pce
64f78e3c ./PCE/PCE CD-ROM System/CD-ROM System V3.00.pce
64f78e3c ./PC Engine CD-Rom System BIOS (1988)(NEC Home Electronics)(WD)/BIOS/PC Engine CD-Rom System BIOS (1988)(NEC Home Electronics)(WD) - [V3.00].pce
64f78e3c ./System_Card_Pack/System Card Pack/syscard3.pce

2585c0b3 ./PC Engine CD-Rom System BIOS (1988)(NEC Home Electronics)(WD)/BIOS/PC Engine CD-Rom System BIOS (1988)(NEC Home Electronics)(WD) - [Syscard3].pce

6d9a73ef ./mame/hash/[cd] super cd-rom system (japan) (v3.0).pce

9759a20d ./System_Card_Pack/System Card Pack/Super CD-ROM2 System V3.01 (U).pce
9759a20d ./PCE/PCE CD-ROM System/CD-ROM System V3.01.pce
9759a20d ./PC Engine CD-Rom System BIOS (1988)(NEC Home Electronics)(WD)/BIOS/PC Engine CD-Rom System BIOS (1988)(NEC Home Electronics)(WD) - [V3.01].pce

51a12d90 ./System_Card_Pack/System Card Pack/Games Express CD Card 1993 (J).pce
51a12d90 ./[BIOS] Games Express CD Card (Japan)/[BIOS] Games Express CD Card (Japan).pce
51a12d90 ./mame/hash/[cd] games express cd card (japan).pce
I can figure out 51a12d90 is the right one for game_express.pce.
Could anyone tell me which ones are the best for syscard1.pce, syscard2.pce and syscard3.pce?
 
  • Like
Reactions: tatzelcow

Asaki

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
275
Country
United States
Is there no support for ISO/MP3/CUE? I just get "Hmm... unable to load ROM."

Messed around with the CUE file, even changed it to just load the ISO and no MP3s, but it's still not loading. Do I have the wrong BIOS files installed?

CUE looks like this, I don't see anything wrong with it:

Code:
FILE "Track01.mp3" MP3
  TRACK 01 AUDIO
    INDEX 01 00:00:00
FILE "Track02.iso" BINARY
  TRACK 02 MODE1/2048
    PREGAP 00:03:00
    INDEX 01 00:00:00
FILE "Track03.mp3" MP3
  TRACK 03 AUDIO
    PREGAP 00:02:00
    INDEX 01 00:00:00
etc...

Game is Ys I & II, BTW. I tried mounting a different BIN/CUE image in Daemon Tools and converting it to ISO/MP3/CUE myself using TurboRip, but that program just crashes with no error.

Maybe both images are bad, but Magic Engine runs them with no complaints.

If I change the CUE to just load the binary file, and no music, the BIOS will at least boot up, but when I press the start button it says "Loading..." and then reboots.

Code:
FILE "Track02.iso" BINARY
  TRACK 01 MODE1/2048
    INDEX 01 00:00:00

I'm going to try converting to PCM signed 16-bit mono 5500 hz WAV and seeing if that helps, unless there's a smaller format I can use.

Edit: If I rework the CUE file exactly like this (no quotation marks around the audio files), I get errors about the WAV files having a bad header:

Code:
FILE Track01.wav WAVE
  TRACK 01 AUDIO
    INDEX 01 00:00:00
FILE "Track02.iso" BINARY
  TRACK 02 MODE1/2048
    PREGAP 00:03:00
    INDEX 01 00:00:00
FILE Track03.wav WAVE
  TRACK 03 AUDIO
    PREGAP 00:02:00
    INDEX 01 00:00:00
etc...
 
Last edited by Asaki,

bubble2k16

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2016
Messages
467
Trophies
0
XP
2,089
Country
Senegal
Messed around with the CUE file, even changed it to just load the ISO and no MP3s, but it's still not loading. Do I have the wrong BIOS files installed?

CUE looks like this, I don't see anything wrong with it...

Some emulators support MP3 tracks, but the original Temper doesn't.

So your best bet is to use the original CD rips in ISO/CUE file format. The CUE file will look something like that:

Code:
FILE "AKUMAJOU_DRACULA_X_-_CHI_NO_RINNE_(NTSC-J)_[KMCD3005].ISO" BINARY
  TRACK 01 AUDIO
    INDEX 01 00:00:00
  TRACK 02 MODE1/2352
    PREGAP 00:03:00
    INDEX 01 00:48:65
  TRACK 03 AUDIO
    PREGAP 00:02:00
    INDEX 01 03:04:14
  TRACK 04 AUDIO
    INDEX 00 04:48:48
    INDEX 01 04:50:48
  TRACK 05 AUDIO
    INDEX 00 05:51:67
    INDEX 01 05:53:67
  TRACK 06 AUDIO
    INDEX 00 07:28:09

Edit: I should add that the CD should be ripped into a single .ISO file for the best result, rather than individual ISO/WAV files.
 
Last edited by bubble2k16,

SleepyDomino

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
268
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,521
Country
United States
I've looked into Temper before trying this, and it had support for ISO/OGG/CUE. Not on 3DS though, at least from my attempts to convert them. Then again, I haven't tried again when the new versions showed up, but I see little point in that if ISO/CUE (or BIN/CUE) is considered better than using WAV anyway.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: @WG481, We have a deep gay love for each other we're both in the closet about that's why