Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DoHxBoY

    DoHxBoY Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    Makes sense, thanks for the clarification :D I have a new card coming tomorrow so I'll try again then.
     
  2. Stephano

    Stephano pessimism = Realism
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,571
    Country:
    United States
    I just installed this on my other 3ds, however, all i am getting now is a black screen. It works fine on my other 3ds
     
  3. Ewin

    Ewin Pika pika!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    France
    Try to rename your .bin file of BOOTANIM9 to "arm9loaderhax_si' at the root of your sd card
     
    Wolfvak likes this.
  4. Madridi

    Madridi Card Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,506
    Country:
    Qatar
    Trying this for the first time since I was bricked for a long time now. Using the latest commit. It all works great with the exception of one thing: It's slow!

    I'm sure it's a problem on my end, because I tried the same super smash one from the video on the first post, in the video the speed is good and as expected, while it's just slow over here. So what am I doing wrong?

    Either way, cool program. Thanks :)
     
  5. 3than_H

    3than_H Monado Boy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    380
    Country:
    United States
    Speed up the gif with http://ezgif.com/speed and then make the anim again.
     
    Wolfvak likes this.
  6. Madridi

    Madridi Card Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,506
    Country:
    Qatar
    It's not mine though. I didn't make them. It's ones posted by other members. They are all slow though
     
  7. Docmudkipz

    Docmudkipz Novice
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United States
    Newest versions have a much improved timer. That smash one was running on 15 fps and was made when the only way to get an animation to run full blast was halving the framerate. It has absolutely nothing to do with your hardware. Though it has a chance to do with read speed of your SD. And by latest commit do you mean release or self compiled latest latest commit?
     
    Madridi likes this.
  8. 3than_H

    3than_H Monado Boy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    380
    Country:
    United States
  9. Madridi

    Madridi Card Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,506
    Country:
    Qatar
    Well that's the thing. I AM using the latest commit (yeah, commit, not release)

    Regardless of the fps, I'm getting a much slower boot video than the video in the first post. I thought it might read speed of SD, but I dont think it is. I tested it on 2 different brands, on 2 different 3DSs, and I'm getting the same output.

    If it's nothing adjustable from my side, then my assumption that the latest commit might have problems? I don't know, I'm out of ideas (Well, other than I'm running on O3DS..)
     
  10. Docmudkipz

    Docmudkipz Novice
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United States
    Its running natively at 15 fps which should be causing it to be slow. Most people seem to say that the Doom one runs the most smooth, so try that out before you jump to conclusions. And like I said, its not your hardware, I run an o3dsxl and have dont have much of any problem. Also, latest commits have a text based config instead of the old ones(Though that shouldnt matter in the case of the smash animation since it defaults to 15 fps anyway.)
     
    Madridi likes this.
  11. Madridi

    Madridi Card Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,506
    Country:
    Qatar
    Yeah but I'm saying that in the youtube video on the first page, it showing that it runs as I expected to, while I can see that it's slow on my hardware. That's what's confusing me as it would be running on the same fps on both consoles
    Btw I just noticed there are 2 smash ones in the first post. I'm not talking about the smash logo. I'm talking about cloud final smash.

    I'll try the doom one, you got a link? I dont see it on the anim sharing thread

    As for latest commits using a text based config, what does that mean for the old ones? Not recognizable anymore?
     
  12. Docmudkipz

    Docmudkipz Novice
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United States
    It was running as expected to in the video because that was when the calibration was complete ass and the only way for the payload to run an animation at full speed was by halving the framerate. Thus, the Smash animation is running at 15fps, however the source file was at 30 fps. This leads to the converted animation to be slower on newer builds. And the Doom one is in the OP. Should be "Konosuba and Doom by Docmudkipz". Unless the site fucked up the OP again.
    All that needs to be done with the new config is just changing it the old format to the new one.

    Edit: if you still cant find it https://puu.sh/p9ZpW/779716d37e.zip
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2016
    Madridi and Wolfvak like this.
  13. Madridi

    Madridi Card Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,506
    Country:
    Qatar
    Ah ok cool thanks for the explanation. That makes some sense to me.
    As for the new config, is there a guide somewhere telling us how to change old ones to new ones?

    I just tried doom. It's a tricky one, given that it's simplistic and I have nothing to compare it against.
    Obviously, it's much slower than the preview, but that's to be expected. Question is, how slow is what I'm expected to get? Any chance you took a video of it?

    Thanks again
     
  14. Wolfvak

    OP Wolfvak nyaa~
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    909
    Country:
    Uruguay
    I actually made a little something for release 0.7 but since it's been delayed to hell and back I decided to put it up on GitHub in case somebody finds it to be useful.
    https://github.com/wolfvak/cfg_convert, it's pretty easy to compile and it has small built-in instructions.
     
    Madridi likes this.
  15. Docmudkipz

    Docmudkipz Novice
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United States
    It should be around half to 2/3 speed if im estimating correctly. If you want a little more complicated animation to test try the Konosuba animation as well.
     
    Madridi likes this.
  16. Madridi

    Madridi Card Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,506
    Country:
    Qatar
    Cool! I'll be having fun with this :D Thanks!

    Ok that's exactly my estimation as well: Half to 2/3. Great, then now I know I'm using this thing correctly :P

    Thanks for all the help :)
     
    Docmudkipz and Wolfvak like this.
  17. Madridi

    Madridi Card Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,506
    Country:
    Qatar
    Just to report back on this. It worked great! after converting the config to txt, I was changed the 15 to 30 and it's now looking great :D

    One note though, when compiling under cmd, I had to use this command:
    gcc cfg_convert.c -o cfg_convert

    I don't suppose we'll get the ability to have sounds in any of these in the future?
     
  18. Wolfvak

    OP Wolfvak nyaa~
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    909
    Country:
    Uruguay
    Sorry but nope, unless someone reverses CSND or NDSP I don't think so. I definitely don't have the experience/patience/time to RE entire modules.

    That's in the README by the way.
     
    Madridi likes this.
  19. Madridi

    Madridi Card Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,506
    Country:
    Qatar
    Thanks for the explanation. No what I listed is different than the readme:
    gcc cfg_convert.c -o cfg_convert
    gcc cfg_convert -o cfg_convert

    See the difference :)
     
    Wolfvak likes this.
  20. ImInDaShAdOwZz

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    With the most recent Luma update I think that my bootup animation is slightly cut off, is it just me or is this happening with anyone else?

    Edit: Pretty sure it's being cut off, I checked the original gif I used for the animation and the animation seems to end a bit earlier. Does this have something to do with the latest Luma update? I saw in the notes that the boot times were more consistent and splash screens would last exactly 3 seconds, not sure if it would apply to BootAnim9 though. Also I'm not sure if it's a coincidence but I timed the animation and it did end at 3 seconds (give or take a few milliseconds)

    Edit: Just noticed that this is the 1000th comment/reply
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2016
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - animations, [RELEASE], BootAnim9

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.