Hacking Rehack?

BlueNoodle

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
64
Country
United States
I wanted to connect my wii to the internet but when opening the settings the menu stays black. I've tried using bootmii but the screen goes black and the drive bar flashes. I no longer have any of the software I previously had installed on my flash drive. Is there anyway I can unmod and remod my wii?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

beere

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 10, 2010
Messages
7
Trophies
0
XP
166
Country
Germany
boot into priiloader by holding reset at boot (hopefully installed before???) > then boot into hbchannel > start wadmanager > install clean 4.3 > new modding mith modern tools
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

BlueNoodle

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
64
Country
United States
boot into priiloader by holding reset at boot (hopefully installed before???) > then boot into hbchannel > start wadmanager > install clean 4.3 > new modding mith modern tools
I do have priiloader installed but when trying to load hbc from there I get the error "Error autobooting HBC. maybe title not installed?"
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
12,970
Trophies
3
Age
37
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
7,719
Country
Cyprus
Double check your priiloader hacks, there's one "joke" hack that will cause a blackscreen upon boot

Not being able to load the hbc just means that the version of priiloader you have installed is older than the version of the HBC, so it can't find the HBCs latest title ID. You can install a hbc forwarder dol as a file to get into the hbc or a different file to boot directly into another/specific homebrew
 
Last edited by XFlak,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

BlueNoodle

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
64
Country
United States
Double check your priiloader hacks, there's one "joke" hack that will cause a blackscreen upon boot

Not being able to load the hbc just means that the version of priiloader you have installed is older than the version of the HBC, so it can't find the HBCs latest title ID. You can install a hbc forwarder dol as a file to get into the hbc or a different file to boot directly into another/specific homebrew
I don't get blackscreen on boot, I get a black screen when trying to open the wii settings. And I think you just spoke in a different language..
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,223
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
11,762
Country
Norway
I wanted to connect my wii to the internet but when opening the settings the menu stays black. I've tried using bootmii but the screen goes black and the drive bar flashes. I no longer have any of the software I previously had installed on my flash drive. Is there anyway I can unmod and remod my wii?
You need the bootmii folder on SD. It should contain armboot.bin and ppcboot.elf. You can find them here: http://static.hackmii.com/bootmii_sd_files.zip
That should at least get Bootmii to load. From there you can launch HBC.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

BlueNoodle

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
64
Country
United States
You need the bootmii folder on SD. It should contain armboot.bin and ppcboot.elf. You can find them here: Download link :)
That should at least get Bootmii to load. From there you can launch HBC.
Am I able to do this with a flashdrive? Thats the way I remember doing it and I don't own an SD card.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,223
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
11,762
Country
Norway
Am I able to do this with a flashdrive? Thats the way I remember doing it and I don't own an SD card.
I doubt it. The bootmii file installed on the console is very basic, and needs those files to be able to do anything other than boot the system normally. So I doubt it would be able to load from USB when the Wii does not natively support USB drives.
How do you not have a single SD card? I have so many of them laying around, but they are mostly small ones (don't use them anymore), but even a tiny 32MB one would be enough to fit the Bootmii files. Don't have one sitting in an old digital camera somewhere?
Bootmii is also kinda picky with which SD cards it will recognize, so you may need to try multiple.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
12,970
Trophies
3
Age
37
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
7,719
Country
Cyprus
Use modmii to mod your wii from scratch as it were a virgin, it will overwrite your old mods, no need to "unhack" the old stuff first. Also no harm in repeating steps.

Here's a slight deviation from the traditional modmii steps just for your specific case because to your problem with the system menu settings. We want modmii to have you install a NEW system menu, so whatever firmware you are currently on, pick something different, modmii will recommend you stay on 4.1 or 4.2 or 4.3, but make sure you choose to one of the other options.

Also,make sure u reinstall priiloader immediately after "installing wads" as per your custom modmii guide. By reinstalling a system menu you're overwriting and effectively uninstalling priiloader. So If you abandon the hbc without re-installing it first it will be absent and leaving you without extra protection, albeit perhaps only temporarily. Basically I'm saying don't get eager and skip steps or go off to check something else midway through the instructions.
 

BlueNoodle

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
64
Country
United States
Use modmii to mod your wii from scratch as it were a virgin, it will overwrite your old mods, no need to "unhack" the old stuff first. Also no harm in repeating steps.

Here's a slight deviation from the traditional modmii steps just for your specific case because to your problem with the system menu settings. We want modmii to have you install a NEW system menu, so whatever firmware you are currently on, pick something different, modmii will recommend you stay on 4.1 or 4.2 or 4.3, but make sure you choose to one of the other options.

Also,make sure u reinstall priiloader immediately after "installing wads" as per your custom modmii guide. By reinstalling a system menu you're overwriting and effectively uninstalling priiloader. So If you abandon the hbc without re-installing it first it will be absent and leaving you without extra protection, albeit perhaps only temporarily. Basically I'm saying don't get eager and skip steps or go off to check something else midway through the instructions.
Well I can't access the wii system menu so how would I find out my MAC address to complete the bootmii setup?
 
Last edited by BlueNoodle,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
12,970
Trophies
3
Age
37
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
7,719
Country
Cyprus
In your guide at the bottom of that step, it should say "Note:..." and instructions on loading the hackmii installer using other means on previously hacked wii's (like launching it from your older version of the homebrew channel that u already have installed).

Another method that doesn't need the Mac address or wii system settings is to use a different exploit like smash stack. This requires super smash Brothers brawl.

Also, I just thought of this, but have you tried disconnecting all cards or other peripherals and hard drives from the wii and seeing if that makes a difference and allows you to access system settings? I doubt it, but worth a shot
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,223
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
11,762
Country
Norway
Well I can't access the wii system menu so how would I find out my MAC address to complete the bootmii setup?
You can do the steps from HBC with a USB drive. You don't have to use exploits since you already have HBC installed.
Note that some homebrew might not support loading external files from a USB drive.
 
Last edited by The Real Jdbye,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

BlueNoodle

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
64
Country
United States
In your guide at the bottom of that step, it should say "Note:..." and instructions on loading the hackmii installer using other means on previously hacked wii's (like launching it from your older version of the homebrew channel that u already have installed).

Another method that doesn't need the Mac address or wii system settings is to use a different exploit like smash stack. This requires super smash Brothers brawl.

Also, I just thought of this, but have you tried disconnecting all cards or other peripherals and hard drives from the wii and seeing if that makes a difference and allows you to access system settings? I doubt it, but worth a shot
I'm very confused on what I need to do. I finished the modmii installer and copied the files to my sd and my usb. What's next?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
12,970
Trophies
3
Age
37
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
7,719
Country
Cyprus
You have a custom modmii wizard html guide, right? Step 1 is to use an exploit to launch the hackmii installer. There is a "Note" at the bottom of that step that tells you to launch the installer from the HBC (homebrew channel) if you already have it installed

If you have more questions, upload/post your modmii html guide and let us know what step is confusing you

Edit: I'm assuming you have modmii running on your windows computer and have completed the modmii wizard? In order to finish the modmii wizard it may ask you for your Mac address, just put in any dummy address (even one of the examples on screen) in order to complete the wizard. When you get to that stage of the guide you will be using the old HBC instead of an exploit so the Mac address in your case is not important
 
Last edited by XFlak,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

BlueNoodle

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
64
Country
United States
You have a custom modmii wizard html guide, right? Step 1 is to use an exploit to launch the hackmii installer. There is a "Note" at the bottom of that step that tells you to launch the installer from the HBC (homebrew channel) if you already have it installed

If you have more questions, upload/post your modmii html guide and let us know what step is confusing you
I don't have an html guide...
(Edit: I lied)
 
Last edited by BlueNoodle,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

BlueNoodle

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
64
Country
United States
See my edit above

Have you downloaded modmii, then installed modmii, then started modmii on your PC, then completed the main modmii wizard?
I did the ModMii Wizard and picked no, I then copied the files to my SD and to my USB drives. What should I do on my wii once I have these?

Running the wizard again
 
Last edited by BlueNoodle,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
12,970
Trophies
3
Age
37
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
7,719
Country
Cyprus
See bolded section
Use modmii to mod your wii from scratch as if it were a virgin, it will overwrite your old mods, no need to "unhack" the old stuff first. Also no harm in repeating steps.

Here's a slight deviation from the traditional modmii steps just for your specific case because to your problem with the system menu settings. We want modmii to have you install a NEW system menu, so whatever firmware you are currently on, pick something different, modmii will recommend you stay on 4.1 or 4.2 or 4.3, but make sure you choose to one of the other options.

Also,make sure u reinstall priiloader immediately after "installing wads" as per your custom modmii guide. By reinstalling a system menu you're overwriting and effectively uninstalling priiloader. So If you abandon the hbc without re-installing it first it will be absent and leaving you without extra protection, albeit perhaps only temporarily. Basically I'm saying don't get eager and skip steps or go off to check something else midway through the instructions.

There are lots of questions, what do you mean you selected 'no'? Selected no in response to which question? It's impossible to help you without a clear picture of what you've done and where you're stuck. It is impossible to complete the modmii wizard and not have a custom modmii wizard html guide generated for you.

The first question is about whether this is the first time you're modding your wii. Answer YES
 
Last edited by XFlak,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3N1 @ K3N1: The "annoying" Jdbye