Reformatting after a bad hack?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by pitweasel, Dec 30, 2012.

Dec 30, 2012
  1. pitweasel
    OP

    Newcomer pitweasel Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    This seems like an obvious question, but I can't find a clear answer.

    My Wii (version 3.3) has been soft modded for years. I recently had to make some changes to the external drive I was using, which meant converting it from WBFS to FAT. Well, my USB loader stopped working, so I made some changes there and to some of the other custom files, and now all I get with the USB loader is a code dump. I've lost track of every little random file that I've installed, so I'd really like to just start over.

    If I use the Wii's built in format option, will that just wipe out every change I've made to it and restore it back to the way it was when I bought it? I feel like a clean slate is my best option, but I want to be sure that I'll actually get one if I use that utility. Thanks!
     
  2. lukinoz

    Newcomer lukinoz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    No, this will only delete your Miis, saves ans downloaded channels. Just use modmii to update your softmod.
     
  3. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    And will set a different Wii meassage board number for your Wii.
     
  4. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland
  5. pitweasel
    OP

    Newcomer pitweasel Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Tried ModMii, but I'm stuck right from the start. I created a package and put the contents on a freshly format FAT32 SD card. When I launch HBC and use to to install HackMii - the very first step in the manual - it just disconnects my remote and freezes at the "this software must not be sold" screen. The "press 1 to continue" option never even appears.

    Any ideas? Thanks again!
     
  6. pitweasel
    OP

    Newcomer pitweasel Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Well played. For reference: I started doing this as a last minute hack job (no pun intended) the night before leaving on a four month tour. I came back from that a few weeks ago, and have only now decided to tackle this project again. I'd love to be able to remember what specific files I modded nearly five months ago now, but I just didn't place that high a priority on this project.
     

Share This Page