Really need your advice on this!!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by melodical, Jul 16, 2009.

Jul 16, 2009
  1. melodical
    OP

    Member melodical GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

    I'm hoping to get some advice on whether i should buy a wii from this guy who said he is selling a so called faulty NTSC-U Wii as he has now bought a 2nd hand Pal console with NO cables, power supply, senseor bar or anthing else so he can play his uk games.

    I'm not sure how old the wii is but i presume its probaly more than a year. He tells me that the wii starts with no problems and goes into the wii menu. He then said as soon as you try and play a game the SCREEN GOES BLACK!!!!!

    He is selling it for £40 and I dont want to question him too much as I thiink he may put the price up.

    I have already asked him for the serial number at the bottom of the wii and the date but forgot to ask him if it has been softmodded in the past. I dont think so! I figured i could get the cables cheap somewhere by googling.

    Questions?

    1. Should I buy it? (bearing in mind i'll only have to spend about £20 on power,wires,sensor etc)

    2. Has anyone who HAS NOT SOFTMODDED ever had this problem?
    3. Has anyone who HAS SOFTMODDED ever had this problem?

    4. Could i fix it as it lets you into the main Wii menu.

    5. Is this a common problem?

    6. Could i still install boot mii (either as boot1 or boot2 - not sure yet) and launch homebrew channel & preloader 0.29

    7. Does anyone now of any other recent/relevant threads with a fix?

    Sorry i cannot provide any more information than and thanks in advance for your support!
     
  2. kLiNiKaL

    Member kLiNiKaL Dr. Greenthumb

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Los Ganjales
    Country:
    Jamaica
    go round and ask him to turn it on, if it boots and a actual game shows up in the drive, then the laser if still working and its probably a bargain i reckon dudes.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. vergilite

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its sounds like either a laser issue which you could replace or use usbloader or it could be a software problem but in anycase nothing that can't be fixed for well under the normal price of a second hand wii i say go for it

    p.s after you start the game and the screen goes black can you switch off the wii normaly or do you have to hold the power switch for a long time if so then its software as its froze
    p.s.s is it possible its just because he was trying to play his PAL wii games on a NTSC wii [​IMG] (that might explain it)
     
  4. melodical
    OP

    Member melodical GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for that.

    Could a wii be modded without the use of the dvd drive without getting it chipped or using something like flatmii. Isn't the dvd drive tied in to the wii functionality?

    Could i solve this with usbloader gx or neogamma6?

    As long as i can get to the wii menu im home free!! Am I right?
     
  5. melodical
    OP

    Member melodical GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    p.s after you start the game and the screen goes black can you switch off the wii normaly or do you have to hold the power switch for a long time if so then its software as its froze ?

    Not sure it he didn't say,

    p.s.s is it possible its just because he was trying to play his PAL wii games on a NTSC wii blink.gif (that might explain it)

    nah, he said he could play the ntsc games ok on an old and a new television before he got the prob.
     
  6. Lexip;

    Member Lexip; GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    All games?
     
  7. thebobinc

    Member thebobinc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    Montréal Québec 514 , Cacanada
    Country:
    Canada
    loll there is not event a question , i'm sure there is more in part that the 20 euro you gonna spend,

    go buy it!!!
     
  8. melodical
    OP

    Member melodical GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wish it was 20 Euro mate. Its £40 pounds which is about 65-70ish euro, i think!
     
  9. melodical
    OP

    Member melodical GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Anyone got any knowledge on the above?
     
  10. kLiNiKaL

    Member kLiNiKaL Dr. Greenthumb

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Los Ganjales
    Country:
    Jamaica
    you dont need the dvd drive whatsoever to use USB loader

    all you need is a working SD card.
     

Share This Page