Random Computer Restarts

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by alo123, Sep 13, 2010.

Sep 13, 2010

Random Computer Restarts by alo123 at 5:00 PM (1,843 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. alo123
    OP

    Member alo123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    When I am on the internet my computer randomly restarts showing a blue
    screen and an error messege. I have been trying to fix this for 3 days now
    but I can't hopefully someone here can help me

    This is the error messege

    DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
    Stop: 0x000000D1(0x430A0D30,0x00000002,0xF81DBF4C)
    e1000225.sys Address F81DBF4C base at F81DB000, Date Stamp 3dd422a

    Sometimes it says Stop 0000007e idntdi.sys or IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
    Stop 0000000a
     
  2. scrtmstr

    Member scrtmstr GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    the Netherregions!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Does this only happen when you're on the internet or also with other programs?
    Have you tried reinstalling windows?
     
  3. alo123
    OP

    Member alo123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    Only on the internet and I have not tried it I lost the installation cd
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Don't reinstall.

    C:\Windows\Minidump\

    Find the most recent file there, upload it to mediafire.com, and link us.
     
  5. alo123
    OP

    Member alo123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    I do not see a folder named minidump in the windows folder
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Gargh.

    Find e1000225.sys and put it up on mediafire.com for us.
     
  7. scrtmstr

    Member scrtmstr GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    the Netherregions!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    just type C:\Windows\Minidump\ in the search bar.
     
  8. alo123
    OP

    Member alo123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    The reason there was no minidump folder was because the setting to write debugging
    information was none I changed it to small memory dump and now there is a minidumps
    folder

    here is the minidump
    http://www.mediafire.com/?hc9k8vzllv46fa5
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The download's not working for me now, I'll try again later.
     
  10. alo123
    OP

    Member alo123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
  11. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,663
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Either a malfunctioning driver, or a RAM stick gone bad.

    The 2nd case is easy to test, just grab memtest+, burn it to an ISO or place it on a floppy, and run it in the boot phase.

    EDIT:

    Nevermind, "e1000225.sys" reminds me of a virus. Try using ComboFix and paste the log here.
     
  12. alo123
    OP

    Member alo123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    Here is the combofix log

    ComboFix log
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    That dump reports...

    9/13/2010 3:43:20 PM
    IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
    0x1000000a
    0x5939700d
    0x00000002
    0x00000001
    0x804e2ebd

    idmtdi.sys
    tcpip.sys
    aswTdi.SYS
    One of those three files could be it for that dump...

    But the fact that you're seeing multiple types of errors with different "roots" means it's either some type of infection as raulpica said... or perhaps a memory error. If it turns out to not be an infection, follow the guide in the spoiler.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  14. alo123
    OP

    Member alo123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    Would burning it on a dvd+r work because I do not have any
    blank cds

    Edit: Forgot my computer can not read dvd+r

    Also how can I tell if my computer is infected because I ran malwarebytes
    and avast but they do not find anything
     
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    We have a sticky on infections. I suggest following the "advanced removal" route.
     
  16. alo123
    OP

    Member alo123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    I uninstalled avast and installed a new antivirus program and I have not had
    any random crashes I think it might have been avast causing the problems
     
  17. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,663
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Well, nice to know. The ComboFix log is pretty cluttered, but there doesn't seem to be anything harmful in there.

    Switch either to AntiVir or Microsoft Security Essential.

    Personally, I've never liked Avast.
     
  18. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    AVG, Avast and earlier versions of McAffee. In the past I've dealt with viruses specifically designed to hijack all three AV programs. Of course, in those days there were viruses for Norton and several other AV programs, but they weren't so easy to execute. Because of that, I've always found AVG especially to be a joke in the AV world.

    There is no better AV solution than a knowledged person's wits (and uncommon sense - the number of MSN STIs I've seen spread around... and I've even seen 2 more people infected with them only last week!)
     

Share This Page