r4i sdhc question from r4-sdhc.com

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Squirps, Oct 5, 2009.

Oct 5, 2009
  1. Squirps
    OP

    Member Squirps Official Squirps of GBATemp.net™

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    The corner in that dark alley.
    Country:
    United States
    hi i was wondering if there was a way to change the picture id and name of the r4i sdhc card so it says a nintendo game like mario kart on the dsi menu so my old kind of r4i sdhc card without 1.4 support will work....if anyone knows how to do this please respond!!!! thank you!!!!
     
  2. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Fresh™

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    It isn't just a picture issue, it's a hardware issue within the card that needs to be changed to bypass 1.4. You can't do it. You'll need to buy a new flash cart, or use the one you have on a DS phat or lite.
     
  3. Squirps
    OP

    Member Squirps Official Squirps of GBATemp.net™

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    The corner in that dark alley.
    Country:
    United States
    ok, but does anyone know if the new card has an upgradable bootloader so i can even consider getting a new card? also, if it's a hardware issue, then why is the picture and name of every 1.4 compatible card changed to a nintendo licensed game? thirdly, does anyone have any news from the website r4i-sdhc.com (made a mistake on title) about when they will release their update for their old cards??? thanks to everyone who will (hopefully) answer my questions and to injected11 for answering my first question.
     
  4. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Fresh™

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    1) Don't buy anything that says R4. Get an Acekard 2i or M3i Zero. They're better, have upgradable bootloaders, and are usually cheaper.

    2) I'm not sure on the specifics, but the 1.4 passing cards use those game icons so that if Nintendo tries to block that card, they would have to block the real game that the icon was from.

    3) They don't plan to make old cards pass 1.4. I've emailed asking if they were going to continue supporting it with firmware to play new games, and they said yes. I then asked WHEN, and they don't respond.
     
  5. outgum

    Member outgum Pokemanz Master

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Not sure what you mean....
    if your looking for updated firmware
    Go to www.r4i-sdhc.com, and get r4i V1.11b
    THats what im using and it works
     
  6. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Fresh™

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    He has an old pre-1.4 R4i SDHC. That firmware WILL NOT WORK ON IT. This is at least the 5th thread where you've said the same exact thing, and every one of those times you were directing them to something that won't help at all. You were closer this time, as the card is made by the same company as the firmware, but only 1.09b will work on his. For the love of god, stop blindly posting wrong answers to boost your post count.
     
  7. Squirps
    OP

    Member Squirps Official Squirps of GBATemp.net™

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    The corner in that dark alley.
    Country:
    United States
    ok, seriously, even i know you can't use 1.11b on my card cuz it'll probably brick it----but this question is to anyone who knows the answer--- does the new r4i-sdhc card have an upgradeable bootloader? i really want to know!!!!!
     
  8. Squirps
    OP

    Member Squirps Official Squirps of GBATemp.net™

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    The corner in that dark alley.
    Country:
    United States
    ok, seriously, even i know you can't use 1.11b on my card cuz it'll probably brick it----but this question is to anyone who knows the answer--- does the new r4i-sdhc card have an upgradeable bootloader? i really want to know!!!!!

    Edit: my bad i hit the post button twice when it didn't post....
     
  9. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Fresh™

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    Their website says nothing about the bootloader being upgradable, so I would assume not. That seems like a feature they'd highlight or at least mention since the 1.4 block put everyone on high alert. You're really just better off buying another brand of card, one that doesn't have "R4" anywhere in the name.
     

Share This Page