R4i Advance Revolution...

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Cuber, Jun 23, 2010.

Jun 23, 2010

R4i Advance Revolution... by Cuber at 5:22 PM (3,261 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Cuber
    OP

    Member Cuber GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A friend recently bought me an R4i Advance Revolution.. it's been great for older games but newer ones not so much..

    Is there much I can do with it to make it play newer games? I've tried things like other OS on it but it normally doesn't load unless I use the files from the site on the card.. www.r4i-advance.com

    Thanks for any help in advance..

    Here's a pic of the card if that helps.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. ByteMunch

    Member ByteMunch GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you try wood r4 for clones?
     
  3. Miser

    Banned Miser Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Country:
    South Africa
    Wood for clones doesn't work on any card, no point in trying it.

    You should get YSMenu working on it if it's an R4 or DSTT clone. There should be a tutorial here somewhere.
    Also, you can find patches or hex fixes for most AP protected games so if you're stuck with the original firmware, you might still be able to make the games work.

    Edit: Actually, here it's listed as an Acekard clone, so you might get AKAIO 1.5.1 MOD working on it. That's probably your best bet.
     
  4. Cuber
    OP

    Member Cuber GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm probably doing something wrong but when I try to load the AKMENU4.NDS file it just black screens..
     
  5. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    1.5.1 MOD has no guarantee to work on every acekard clone flashcart, if you cant get it working don't spend too much time on it..
    I wound up spending 2 1/2 days trying to get my (r4ids.com version) r4i-gold working with this and/or ysmenu because i found so much contradicting information during my quest to get something better than official firmware. Neither work for what I had. Though I did learn a lot about r4's/clones in the process.. I decided to get an Acekard to solve my problems with playing newer games on my XL, and it's been alright.
     
  6. Cuber
    OP

    Member Cuber GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got YSMenu to load and that can load games.. although I need to load it through an NDS file and new games still don't work.
     
  7. sliver123

    Member sliver123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    Zuid-Holland
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Try an newer version wood r4 or buy another. or if you need help just pm me.
     
  8. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    WoodR4 won't work because it's a fake R4.
    From the sound of it, it's an AceKard clone, so only AKAIO v1.5.1 Mod will work (for an AceKard/AKAIO/Wood type menu), but that's way outdated.


    You'd probably be better off buying a REAL AceKard2i or a 1:1 R4 Clone (If you don't have a DSi/XL and don't need more than 2GB MicroSD) from ShopTemp.
     

Share This Page