r4?????

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by RAIDEN!, Feb 22, 2009.

Feb 22, 2009

r4????? by RAIDEN! at 7:49 PM (1,242 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. RAIDEN!
    OP

    Member RAIDEN! GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    some were in the world
    Country:
    United States
  2. lyzard

    Newcomer lyzard Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Turkey
    You can't be sure.

    Don't buy it, Acekard is the best. go for it
     
  3. Joey Ravn

    Member Joey Ravn F*** you, Nintendo!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,337
    Country:
    Spain
    My two cents:

    - Don't buy an R4. It doesn't matter which one, don't buy it. If it's an original one, it's outdated and won't get any updates. If it's a clone, it's a clone... why would you buy a clone of a dead card?

    - If you want a flashcart for the DSi, wait till it's released in the West. Right now there's no way to know whether the DSi flashcarts on the market will work with the Western consoles. I'd say you wait for some weeks until someone confirms they work properly.
     
  4. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    at this point, people honestly shouldn't bother with these guys

    let them buy their clone. let them get their DS's fried.

    just put an announcement thread with an all caps title along the lines of:
    R4 IS DEAD! DO NOT BUY ONE! WE WARNED YOU!

    or something that gets the message across, and wash your hands of these idiots

    ------

    and joey, love the avatar and sig. i'm a huge batfan and can't wait for the battle for the cowl.

    although i rather like the picture of batman standing over his grave at the end of RIP better. that'd be a cooler avatar.
     
  5. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    Has anyone's DS actually fried before? or is it just a myth. and how exactly does it fry?
     
  6. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As a loyal R4 user of old I would strongly advise against buying one these days. Sure, I still use mine (it's the only card I have) but if it broke tomorrow I would definitely buy a different card.

    The current favourites seem to be CycloDS if you have the money and Acekard2 if you don't. Get one of those instead.
     
  7. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    I always recommentd Cyclo Ds. mainly for the wii DS connection, but hey, i still use my R4.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    W00T 300 posts!
     
  8. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Read this to hear one mans tale about bricking (and fixing it again with a soldering iron) his DS.
     
  9. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    So hold on, it just bricks? huh.
     
  10. Smuff

    Member Smuff Fossilized Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    By the sea
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    AMEN !
    Had my R4 a couple of years now, never let me down yet. To be honest there's not that many great new DS games that don't work on it that I actually want. All the old ones I like to play on my hols still work and thats about the only time I ever use it now.

    BUT as soon as something I really want comes along and doesn't work I'm ditching the R4.
     
  11. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Apparently the cheaper components in some fake cards don't regulate power as reliably as the original R4 and can cause some kind of spike which blows fuses in the DS. You'd have to get an expert to explain it properly.
     
  12. RAIDEN!
    OP

    Member RAIDEN! GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    some were in the world
    Country:
    United States
    yea the r4 was an opinion because its $10 but like you guys said its obsolete and will not recive any more updates so my best option is the acekard 2i [​IMG] lolol
     
  13. gk.7

    Member gk.7 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    Mexico
    Well... considering that there hasnt been firmware updates since april... i wouldnt buy it for new games. I own 1 and works great... but agan... you know...
     
  14. Nathan-NL

    Member Nathan-NL GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands

Share This Page