R4 v1.23, laggy menu?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by ov312104c1, Jul 19, 2009.

Jul 19, 2009

R4 v1.23, laggy menu? by ov312104c1 at 12:23 AM (1,488 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. ov312104c1
    OP

    Newcomer ov312104c1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    So when I saw on the front page, I saw that the R4i team's latest Kernal supported the old R4 users like me, I quickly deleted my YSMenu (yeah, stupid I know) becuase I missed having 4 pictures for my themes [​IMG].

    One major thing I noticed about my R4, is that when I'm scrolling my list of games, it feels so laggy. Like say I go from Game 1 and press down to Game 2, it takes half a second for it to respond on the top screen.

    Also, when I'm in the cheat selection menu, when I press Left or Right on the D-Pad, it won't scroll down like half a page [​IMG] Some of my games e.g. Megaman SF 3, has a few cheats that I would like to choose at the bottom of the list, and I don't want to scroll through every other cheat one by one until I reach it.

    Help? [​IMG]
     
  2. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Because it's not official firmware and is shitty. I put it on mine and it sucks terribly and definately could tell it wasn't official. Go to 1.18 or YSMenu.
     
  3. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry, you'll have to use YsMenu again.
     
  4. ov312104c1
    OP

    Newcomer ov312104c1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    But did you gaiz have the same problem(s) I did too?

    I can't go back to 1.18 [​IMG] Won't support my Mega Man Star Force 3. White Screen of death ya know.

    Sigh. YSMenu. I wish I could have more themes with you [​IMG]
     
  5. TheDestroyer

    Member TheDestroyer GBAtemp's Official Keyblade Masterâ„¢

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    My Destroyed Village
    Country:
    United States
    I did tried the new kernel and has the same problem too..
    so i come back on using 1.18 lol It's hella laggy.. and im not used to it..
     
  6. ov312104c1
    OP

    Newcomer ov312104c1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Ah I see. Thanks!
     
  7. SilentSinr

    Newcomer SilentSinr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    yup the menus lag...and its crashed on me twice so far...probably going back to 1.18 also
     
  8. Quick-zeno

    Member Quick-zeno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Canada
    It works okay for me, quiet frankly i don't give a shit if is aint official anymore.
     
  9. Big Kong Boss

    Member Big Kong Boss GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    379
    Location:
    U.S.
    Country:
    Korea, South
    I never saw a problem with v1.18. Ever. Others had problems with game compatibility with 3000+ games. I had no problem at all, I didn't know wtf was going on. Games worked perfectly -.-
    (W/O YSmenu)
     
  10. DjSim1

    Newcomer DjSim1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Milano, Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    I have another problem..
    I have put this firmware on my R4DS, but GTA still doesn't work.
    Boots and ago white screen..
     
  11. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    maybe you people need to reformat your msd cards using the panasonic formatter. i did just before dropping on the v1.23, and before testing for the news post. i have no problems with normal usage. i'm not cheating or doing anything fancy. i'm just playing roms and homebrew. its not laggy, it isn't slow, and i have no issues with it. with that said i'm using an old 1gb msd, perhaps the firmware has sdhc issues.

    instead of bitching about it, like most of you seem to like to do, try running tests. your results will weigh more than your opinions.

    people should also remember that this firmware is not even based on the r4 firmware. it might look the same but it comes from a known opensource firmware. they heavily modded that firmware and ported it to work on the r4i/r4ds kits. stop trying to compare it to the original, you can't because its not one in the same. its a completely new firmware for a very old and outdated unsupported flash linker. frankly i'm ecstatic that it is compiled and finding fun in enjoying an old kit i had left to rot.

    -another world
     
  12. lledyr

    Newcomer lledyr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    i've only tried 1.22 on mine(2 times actually) just to test out some cheats that werent working
    and both times i wasnt satisfied and went back to 1.18
     

Share This Page