R4 Upgrade Revolution

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by pedrospy, Aug 17, 2011.

Aug 17, 2011

R4 Upgrade Revolution by pedrospy at 6:13 PM (2,995 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. pedrospy
    OP

    Newcomer pedrospy Newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Brazil
    A friend give me a flashcard to "fix" for him, but I can't find the right firmware to try.

    Here's a photo:
    [​IMG]

    The card is labeled:
    R4
    Upgrade
    Revolution for DS
    (NDSL/NDS)

    Nothing is marked in the chip. Nor have any "sdhc" or "i" indicator anywhere.

    When turned on, it skips the DS firmware (jumps from the safety screen to the card firware) and gives only a black screen with a white "LOADING" in the center.

    PS: My friend is using a NDS Lite and a SanDisk 2GB MicroSD card.


    Does anyone know wich flashcard is this, wich firmware to use and/or clone of what card it is?
     
  2. amaro

    Member amaro GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    S.A.C. Loures - Lisboa
    Country:
    Portugal
    This 'R4i Upgrade' is yet another clone. It is a copy of the DSTT.
     
  3. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's not an R4i it's an R4.

    Have you tried the latest Wood?
     
  4. amaro

    Member amaro GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    S.A.C. Loures - Lisboa
    Country:
    Portugal
    R4 Upgrade - R4i Upgrade - R4-III all the same (DSTT).
     
  5. Kashif

    Newcomer Kashif Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    It might be an R4 Ultra. Try that out and see if it works
     
  6. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That would be good advice if it was a R4i-SDHC r4 cart but it isn't so it isn't.
     
  7. pedrospy
    OP

    Newcomer pedrospy Newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Brazil
    Thanks to everyone, but no luck. I tried the r4i-sdhc, r4 ultra, wood and some unknown others but none works. Its freezing in the loading.

    Is there any way to check if the microSD or the flashcard are broken? Im starting to think that they might be the problem.
     
  8. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The only real way to test the flashcart would be if you knew which kernel it used. As for the SD card just test it in another cart.
     
  9. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    Is everyone just ignoring @amaro's replies. He has told you it is a DSTT so why are you still trying wood??
     
  10. pedrospy
    OP

    Newcomer pedrospy Newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Brazil
    I did read and didn't ignored. I tried the r4i-sdhc and other dstt clones firware but none worked til now.

    I used the same microSD card in my flashcard and it works. I'm pretty sure that my friend's card is someway broken.
     
  11. matguitarist

    Member matguitarist GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi guys

    That's card is the cheapest one but work great with this Wood R4 1.36 this card doesn't support sdhc Work only with DS and DS lite not DSi
     
  12. pedrospy
    OP

    Newcomer pedrospy Newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hi, thanks for everybody [​IMG]

    My friend found the box of the card, it points to www.r4sdhc.com. Wich is a lie, since the box is a copy of it but the card not.

    I found out that the card is a R4v3 (i guess it is the same that R4-III). The others firmwares didnt work because the main file of the R4-III is called _r4__iii.dat instead of _ds_menu.dat or r4.tp like about every other card. But the R4-III firmware worked. And the Retrogamerfan YSMenu worked too (as a secundary firmware).

    So, problem solved.
    Thanks again [​IMG]
     

Share This Page