R4 updating help

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Sehjenkai, Sep 22, 2008.

Sep 22, 2008

R4 updating help by Sehjenkai at 8:06 PM (1,551 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. Sehjenkai
    OP

    Newcomer Sehjenkai Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    ok so i just downloaded the update now how do i install it?I'm a new user for the R4 and don't know what to do
     
  2. mad567

    Member mad567 D. Gregar

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    505
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    Greece
    R4 is an old day flashcard...............................

    BTW
    U just exract the files in

    the root of ur micro sd [​IMG]
     
  3. Sehjenkai
    OP

    Newcomer Sehjenkai Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    i already extracted them into its own folder do i just copy paste into the card?
     
  4. mad567

    Member mad567 D. Gregar

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    505
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    Greece
    copy paste simple [​IMG]
     
  5. Sehjenkai
    OP

    Newcomer Sehjenkai Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    shit it won't work now D: i just did that and now all it says is loading >.
     
  6. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you copy the files from inside the English folder or th folder itself? And are you sure you're using the right firmware for the right clone?
     
  7. Sehjenkai
    OP

    Newcomer Sehjenkai Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i did it right from the folder... and its kernel 1.18?
     
  8. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    From the official R4 site?
     
  9. Sehjenkai
    OP

    Newcomer Sehjenkai Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    r4ds.cn?
     
  10. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If that's where you grabbed it then that's why it's not working. The original R4 used an encrypted firmware and the clones us an unencrypted version. You'll have to use the firmware for your particular clone.
     
  11. Sehjenkai
    OP

    Newcomer Sehjenkai Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    so i basically replace the new files with teh files that came on teh little cD?
     
  12. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, but that might be an older version of the firmware. You'll need to visit the website listed on your box, I can't remember which one you said it was but that's where you'll need to grab it from.
     
  13. Sehjenkai
    OP

    Newcomer Sehjenkai Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    man its a good thing i'm getting an edge and giving my brother this clone card, by the way can it use 8gb sandisk SDs?
     
  14. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The EDGE definitely can. I use one packed full of videos with no problem.
     
  15. Sehjenkai
    OP

    Newcomer Sehjenkai Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    ok cool and does it come with a 2GB card like the R4?
     
  16. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Flashcarts coming with MicroSD are a seller thing so it'll depend on the retailer you buy it from.
     

Share This Page