R4/M3

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by sammliekk, Apr 6, 2010.

Apr 6, 2010

R4/M3 by sammliekk at 2:34 PM (892 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. sammliekk
    OP

    Newcomer sammliekk Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I recently downloaded the latest R4 firmware and patched it so it worked on my M3 simply. my M3 now has the R4 firmware installed on it and i was wondering wether i would have to change the cheat file in use on the M3/R4.
    When i had M3 firmware i used to use the cheat.dat/usrcheat.dat files.
    i am just wondering wether i will need to change the cheat file i am using now that i have R4 firmware?
     
  2. House Spider

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
  3. bitonio6

    Member bitonio6 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,801
    Country:
    Switzerland
    And why you dont use YSMENU?
     
  4. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    R4 DS and M3 Simply are the exact same cards made at the exact same time at the exact same factory by the exact same people.
    The only difference, beyond the label, is a broken trace (the circuit in the PCB) which serves as a toggle for accepting R4 or M3 firmware which, as you know, can easily be adapted from one to the other.

    That said... You will be MUCH better off if you get YSMenu and build it as a Firmware Replacement for the M3.
    Since it uses the DSTT's files for compatibility, there are many games that will work on it without issue that will either not work or have problems on the R4/M3 Simply.
     

Share This Page