R4 help

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by pokemonkickbutt, Mar 11, 2013.

Mar 11, 2013

R4 help by pokemonkickbutt at 11:51 PM (478 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. pokemonkickbutt
    OP

    Newcomer pokemonkickbutt Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    So i recently had to format my sd card im using for my r4 but my r4 had already been updated to the latest firmware.
    do i have to update again? and if i do i have to wait till a more recent patch to update since my system is close to the recent patch?
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If by "firmware" you mean ACTUAL firmware (the stuff you update on your cart that lets it run on DSi/3DS updates), then no, that's stored internally, not on the MicroSD.

    If instead you mean the software (Wood/AKAIO/YSmenu/Moonshell/Whatever), then yeah you'd need to put that back on for it to run.
     
  3. pokemonkickbutt
    OP

    Newcomer pokemonkickbutt Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    I meant the official updates but that makes me feel better but I'm also having issues with some games no loading with either staying on a black screen or going to white screen.I'm not sure what that is, I know for some games that i used to be able to load that happening and I'm not sure what to do about dragon quest 9 since i saw that was a common problem but i have no idea where to find a fix for that.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What exact model cart?
    What's the site printed on it?
     
  5. pokemonkickbutt
    OP

    Newcomer pokemonkickbutt Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    It's a r4 gold 3ds from r4ids.cn.
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Are you installing the latest version of Wood from that site? That's the software intended to load ROMs.
     
  7. pokemonkickbutt
    OP

    Newcomer pokemonkickbutt Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah i downloaded and copied it to the folder, that is all i have to do right?
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Assuming you extracted it right (the _rpg folder and such in the root), then yeah, it'll start right up.
     
  9. pokemonkickbutt
    OP

    Newcomer pokemonkickbutt Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah the r4 starts up fine it's just the games that are acting funny.
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  11. pokemonkickbutt
    OP

    Newcomer pokemonkickbutt Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Ohh i guess i needed to do a full swipe, i did the sd card format thing started working.Thanks for the help
     

Share This Page