R4 ds problem?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Coolguy26, Oct 12, 2009.

Oct 12, 2009

R4 ds problem? by Coolguy26 at 2:10 AM (799 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Coolguy26
    OP

    Newcomer Coolguy26 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so i've had my R4 ds for about a year now. It works ok like the games dont lag or anything but sometimes when im playing a game, it just stops or it becomes frozen.
    then i turn it off and i have to redo everything again. its not in a certain part of game, it just happens.

    Is there a way to fix this?

    I couldnt find a way to fix this.




    ive been using 1.18 firmware, is there a new one?
     
  2. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    First, which R4 are you using? Is it one of the originals or is it a clone? If you don't know the answer, it's almost certainly a clone.
    The real R4's haven't actually been made for many years. Anything you see at markets or online with the name "R4" in it is made by other companies, most of which don't offer proper support for their products.
    In the long run it may be best to buy a nice AceKard 2.1 off dealextreme for $14 or a M3i Zero off the same website, both of which have far better support than the majority of the makers of the R4 clones. Note however that the website takes ages to ship.
    Meanwhile, if you want to hang on to your R4, you may want to check out YSMenu, an unofficial firmware originally developed for the DSTT but which has been ported to the R4. It may fix your R4 problems and has support for the latest games without requiring patching. A quick, ten second Google search will give you a list of YSMenu installation tutorials.
    The reason that people have to use YSMenu is simply because there has been no new offical R4 firmware for years (if anyone suggests a new firmware number, it's a fake firmware produced by one of the companies that make the R4 clones) and so R4 users are left without proper support for new games.

    Good luck with fixing up your R4 and/or getting a new flashcart (if you decide to).
     
  3. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    Many years? Try around June last year. I think it's very likely he has a genuine R4.
     
  4. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Really? Last June? Boy, have I been out of the loop.
     
  5. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    Your connector pins might not be lining up properly anymore bro, try the paper trick.
     
  6. Bluelaserman

    Member Bluelaserman I shoot BLUE LASERS MAN!!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    The Land down under.
    Country:
    Australia
    Make sure the slot for the micro SD card is clean, I also had these problems before.
    Sometimes the MicroSD cards build up dust/ dirt on the end of the cards, so try to clean the microSD card also.
     

Share This Page